We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome B&B near the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Chalfonte

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalfonte
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
70 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Awesome B&B near the beach”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A huge property for a B&B and a very lively place. Great place to stay when in Cape May. 2 blocks from the beach and walking distance to the square with many bars, restaurants close by. The Chalfonte, a historic building, has many rooms and though small, are very pretty. The lobby is a wonderful place to spend time with a a bar in the premises along with a huge restaurant. The rooms had central air conditioning and wifi which unfortunately wasnt working while we were there. However, the staff was very helpful and we had a nice stay. Those looking for parking, please note there is parking on the road outside the hotel but its on first come first serve.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALLIGATOR9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    49
    24
    23
    26
See reviews for
60
71
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Chicken dinner was a hoax. Over priced, small portions. A thigh and leg for 36 dollars.
My wife had the prime rib special.
It was like jerky, tough an terrible.
French onion soup was basically water and onions, no melted cheese.
All sides were so, so. We couldn't eat the corn on the cob because it was mush.
There was no manager on duty on a Saturday night to address the matter.
Service was terrible. We waited forever to be seated and between courses. From start to finish it was over two hours and we did not get desert.
Over priced, terrible service, poor quality, small portions and terrible food preparations !

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joehav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape May hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is a Historic Hotel of America so definitely expect an old-world experience and southern charm. The building itself is old but very beautiful and the two rooms we had were spacious and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and the prices were not bad considering it was Labor Day weekend. Please note that the hotel does not have TVs in the rooms, which for us was a good thing since we wanted to unplug, but others may not like this. Also, it does not have a pool which is a little disappointing. Another negative is that the hotel does not have its own parking lot and street parking can be a bit difficult to find. The restaurant is a bit of a let down, I would recommend going to other local eateries for your meals. The meal plan seemed like a good deal ($30 for breakfast and dinner), but since the food is not that great it wasn't much of a bargain. On another note, we got two free beach chairs and one beach umbrella per room for staying at this hotel which was a savings of almost $40 per day. The hotel is a short walk from the beach and near many other amenities.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monica830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Chalfonte has landmark status, so you won't find televisions and telephones in your room. Recently the owner did bring the hotel more up-to-date with air conditioning and Wi-Fi in each room, but the hotel will still remind you of the Victorian era, and they have tried to keep it that way as much as possible. It works, because I have been enjoying the Chalfonte every August for the past 20 years, as have many other yearly visitors. Why only 4 stars? The food in the dining room is heavy, yet Southern style and delicious, and even if you are on the meal plan you pay $2 for coffee and the dessert is also extra.

Room Tip: Seaside rooms are updated and have a/c, land side rooms are plain and Victorian, but still very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I staye dat this hotel for the first time in a few years this weekend, and I must say everything was as authentic and unassuming as ever, with additions of fast wifi networks and wonderfully subtle air conditioning. The staff is well trained and emits southern hospitality, and since a lot of the staff lives on site, I feel like I left a group of new friends behind. Thank you Chalfonte!2

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnGuilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The price was fair for this property that is 2 easy walking blocks from beach and about 6 blocks from main downtown area. We loved that the kids could not watch TV in the room and the beach chair and umbrella set us for us on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

After calling many hotels, we finally found available rooms at The Chalfonte. It is a very nice place - definitely clean, definitely quiet and the staff is absolutely lovely - friendly and accommodating in every way.

My only 'criticisms' (and I feel guilty for even bringing these up because everyone is SO nice here) is that it is a bare bones operation. Just bed, bath, ceiling fan and air conditioning that does not have individual controls. The first night was freezing, but then they turned off the AC due to the coolish temps outside. It is perfectly comfortable without the AC so we are much happier now with the temperature.

It would be nice if they could add little touches like kleenex box in the room, a floor rug, a hair dryer.....even a TV would be nice, but we already knew they had no TVs (except for a big one downstairs that no one seemed to be watching).

For us - CLEAN and QUIET are very high on our priority list so overall, we were very happy with your selection.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#28 of 37 in Cape May
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#26 of 37 in Cape May
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#22 of 37 in Cape May
25 reviews
0.4 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
650 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalfonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalfonte

Property: The Chalfonte
Address: 301 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2430
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape May
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chalfonte 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1876, The Historic Chalfonte Hotel is recognized as the oldest continuously operating hotel in Cape May, America's Original Seaside Resort. Situated just two blocks from the beach, The Chalfonte offers a unique seashore experience defined by warm, Southern-style hospitality and simplistic traditions. We cater to every budget with spacious suites, guest rooms with premium and European style baths, and traditional rooms with shared baths down the hall. Guest rooms feature crisp linens and cool seaside colors, and are free of televisions, telephones, and clock radios. Our nationally acclaimed Magnolia Room restaurant serves Southern-style fare with lovingly prepared family recipes and our King Edward Bar is famous for its classic cocktails and casual ambiance. Our guests continuously return from around the world to enjoy this very special destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chalfonte Hotel Cape May
Chalfonte Cape May
Chalfonte Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing