We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value!”
Review of The Chalfonte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chalfonte
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The price was fair for this property that is 2 easy walking blocks from beach and about 6 blocks from main downtown area. We loved that the kids could not watch TV in the room and the beach chair and umbrella set us for us on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Creags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 205 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

After calling many hotels, we finally found available rooms at The Chalfonte. It is a very nice place - definitely clean, definitely quiet and the staff is absolutely lovely - friendly and accommodating in every way.

My only 'criticisms' (and I feel guilty for even bringing these up because everyone is SO nice here) is that it is a bare bones operation. Just bed, bath, ceiling fan and air conditioning that does not have individual controls. The first night was freezing, but then they turned off the AC due to the coolish temps outside. It is perfectly comfortable without the AC so we are much happier now with the temperature.

It would be nice if they could add little touches like kleenex box in the room, a floor rug, a hair dryer.....even a TV would be nice, but we already knew they had no TVs (except for a big one downstairs that no one seemed to be watching).

For us - CLEAN and QUIET are very high on our priority list so overall, we were very happy with your selection.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Like Cape May itself, the Chalfonte is authentic early 20th century charm. No air conditioning- but a shuttered door allows cross breeze. I only needed a single room for one night and the Chalfonte was the only place I could find one during this peak summer season. The room was small but clean and sufficient. It had a shared bathroom on the hall which did not prove to be a problem. The breakfast was wonderful with everything home made and delicious. There was a cool watercolor show hanging. I had a great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have been spending several days here every summer for many years. Before the current owners purchased the Chalfonte, however, we seriously considered finding another hotel in this lovely beach town due to the lack of amenities. The hotel has kept its old fashioned charm, but now has much improved the level of comfort it offers. Air conditioning is the best. Additionally, the food is very good this year which was not always the case in the past and you can enjoy it while listening to the clip-clp of horses hooves as the tourist carriages go by. We love the laid back beach town atmosphere, the friendly staff and fellow guests and the restful front porch. There was a wonderful brass orchestral group last night on this porch and neighbors joined us on the front lawn. A perfect vacation.

Room Tip: We like room 79. Warning.. . . there are no elevators and this room is on the top floor (3rd).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I spent a lovely three nights at the Chalfonte. I found the hotel to be charming and old-world like! I loved the large porch. It was wonderful to sit out there and just read and watch the world go by. The lobby and downstairs rooms are beautiful and fun to explore. Our room was small but served its purpose. When we first got there, it was hot but we opened the window and the AC did circulate. It was very comfortable! Our room was kept clean each day. I agree with another comment... You need to ask about the hotel's amenities. There is an ice room and a bathhouse out back if you like outdoor showers. If you need an iron/board, they have that at the desk. There is a secret garden, library, board game/tv room, etc for all to use. I wish we had more time to explore! Don't expect fancy Congress Hall like accommodations... But if you enjoy a truly unique hotel and feeling like you stepped back in time, try the Chalfonte!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allieJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night (a Friday) as they were one of the few places in Cape May that allowed a single night stay in high season. We arrived in a monsoon so were thrilled with the 15-min parking right outside the door. We stayed in room 46, second floor, which faced a side road and had a 'premium' bathroom. The décor was fresh and tasteful, no fussy window treatments or chintzy touches. The bed was comfortable and came with crisp sheets and a cozy cotton blanket. Our a/c was quite cold so we slept with the blanket on! We expected a certain amount of noise (road and passage) as it is a very old building, but were pleasantly surprised to find we slept with no interruptions. Breakfast was served with a smile; definitely try the granola & Charlfont yoghurt - superb. The coffee was hot, fresh & plentiful. The front-desk staff were professional and friendly. if you want a cookie-cutter, chain-hotel experience, this is not it. If you want tranquil, reading-a-book-on-the-porch charm, this is for you. NOTE: our dinner at the "Sea Salt" restaurant was one of the best we have had in years; food & service were outstanding.

Room Tip: If you don't want to share a bathroom, be sure to request this when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here recently for a night with my husband and one year old daughter. We were able to check in early at 1pm. The room was perfect- very nicely decorated, a/c was comfortable, bed was comfortable, and flat screen tv was an unexpected surprise.

We enjoyed our night stay as we just came over on the ferry from DE but were vacationing in OC, MD. It was a perfect little getaway.

There is a room off of the lobby with board games and a TV, which was nice while we were waiting for the breakfast to be available.

We also enjoyed dinner and the buffet breakfast at The Magnolia Room. The only negative for us was that breakfast was not set up until 8:30am, which is late if you are an early riser. It was worth the wait though- great breakfast... loved the waffle station, delicious catfish, and the granola w/ yogurt was excellent!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaisyMD77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#30 of 37 in Cape May
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#9 of 37 in Cape May
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#15 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#20 of 37 in Cape May
720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#23 of 37 in Cape May
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalfonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalfonte

Address: 301 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2430
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $90 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chalfonte 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1876, The Historic Chalfonte Hotel is recognized as the oldest continuously operating hotel in Cape May, America's Original Seaside Resort. Situated just two blocks from the beach, The Chalfonte offers a unique seashore experience defined by warm, Southern-style hospitality and simplistic traditions. We cater to every budget with spacious suites, guest rooms with premium and European style baths, and traditional rooms with shared baths down the hall. Guest rooms feature crisp linens and cool seaside colors, and are free of televisions, telephones, and clock radios. Our nationally acclaimed Magnolia Room restaurant serves Southern-style fare with lovingly prepared family recipes and our King Edward Bar is famous for its classic cocktails and casual ambiance. Our guests continuously return from around the world to enjoy this very special destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Chalfonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chalfonte Hotel Cape May
Chalfonte Cape May
Chalfonte Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing