We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Trying Wedding Weekend” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chalfonte

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chalfonte
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Pennsyvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Trying Wedding Weekend”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Upon arrival I had to search for someone who could check me in...there wasn't anyone at the desk. Granted, it may have been their first wedding of the season, but not an excuse. That evening was somewhat chilly, and there is no heat there..OK, but neither were there any blankets on the beds or anywhere in the room! We froze all night, thus getting no sleep! At one point I got up and put on my jacket, but even that wasn't enough to keep me warm. The one TV in the entire hotel didn't work or wasn't yet set up. The meal at the wedding was so-so. My filet was fine, but the crab cake left much to be desired, and they were apparently short on help as no one bothered to open the champagne for a toast until after dinner, and apparently one of the cakes brought by the bride's family wasn't even put on the cake table. All in all, while it was pretty with it's Victorian look, that's not enough to make me even consider returning to this place. Baffles me as to how it got to be a favorite wedding destination, other than its looks for pictures and ambience.The restaurant and bar weren't open yet, so no idea how that is. We wished we had booked a B&B, but thought it would be nice to stay where the wedding would be held.Poor choice...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvs2goPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    49
    24
    23
    26
See reviews for
60
71
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

Great hotel, great location, about 2 or 3 blocks from the beach. Love the family feel when u first enter (kindda like grand mom's house but better). Staff are friendly. Love the food. Please Please try their fish dish!!! So Good!!! Kitchen staff are friendly and bed is sooo confortable. Love it..Love it...and can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

We went to this hotel with our children and grandchildren...because of the "charm" of the place...if you like OLD, this is your place...I had trouble finding charm though! Walls and ceilings that had multiple cracks, Showers with mold, no place to put your soap in the shrunken tub, dresser drawers that wouldn't open, etc. Please save your money and go elsewhere. There are so many other beautiful places to stay in Cape May and this one is NOT worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LongBeachLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Scotia, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We enjoyed the old style charm of a Victorian Hotel with a beautiful wrap-around front porch. While sitting on comfortable rocking chairs you can enjoy the romantic horse drawn carriages stream by all day and night offering curb side history lessons. The soft rumble of wheels and the clip-clop of hooves echo through the night. The rooms we impeccably clean and the housekeeping staff were polite and accommodating. The location was great and is walking distance to the beach.
There were a few displeasures. It was not a quiet place. The floors squeaked and the constant slamming of the veneer doors was bothersome. (They should be removed~!). The “bare bone” room did not offer a clock/ radio or TV, if this is important to you. It was not kid friendly which is typical for a B&B hotel. We had a room with air conditioning. Bring a sock to stuff into the AC ducts because it was cold! The food in the Magnolia room was just okay. The buffet breakfast was better than the dinner. The selection was limited. We had strip steak that was dry and barely edible.
Being the second largest hotel in the area we enjoyed the 19th century ambiance. We both enjoyed the freedom to roam around without feeling like you were in someone’s living space.
Jeanne and Kevin

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA USA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

My Husband and I went away for our anniversary and I booked The Chalfonte thinking it would be quaint and romantic. It was during a heat wave so I made sure we had a room with air (the ground floor doesn't have air). Our room was sparse but the hard wood floors and bed were pretty and our bathroom was new (although the plumbing in the tub/shower didn't work well).
The hotel is definately a throw back in time. The hotel dates back to the 1870's, with not much updated. So if you want to feel 'old' Cape May this is the place. There's no tv, not even in the bar, but the bartender was very personable and there was a terrific spread of cheese and crackers. A local walked through and sold us a pint of blackberries that were delicious and everyone enjoyed. There's a wrap around porch with plenty of chairs to sit on and enjoy the sights and sounds of Cape May. The upside is....we didn't have a tv to fall back on so we walked the streets of Cape May, a great town to take in. The downside is, if it's a modern hotel with all the amenities you want, this is not the place for you.
There's a restaurant on the premises and we did have breakfast. There's a southern vibe to both the hotel and resturant and we enjoyed that but I haven't a clue about how the dinners are.
There really seemed to be no one in charge, the hotel was run by a lot of young people but when I asked for a blow dryer they scoured the place until they found one for me and everyone was very polite.
I noticed alot of families moving into their rooms and I thought that was cool. If you want an old fashoined 'down the shore' feel, meaning drinking cream sodas and playing cards or board games after a day at the beach...then this is the place.
Our room took forever to be cleaned (we were out all morning and afternoon on Saturday and came back to find the room still not clean) so we did it ourselves.
I'm ambivalent about The Chalfonte, it was really interesting but there could be so many ways to improve the stay. It is a place that could be great but is hovering between falling apart or reaching it's distinct potential.
I guess the big question is, would we stay again and I'd have to say 'yes'.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SMP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at the Chalfonte in July for 2 days and loved it. The staff is very friendly and attentive, the rooms are small but clean and the atmosphere within the hotel is great. They have a beautiful wrap-around porch to sit and relax and enjoy the night air and the hotel is just minutes (on foot) to the beach. They provided a great cheese/fruit/crackers buffet on Sunday night (free of charge) that was delicious. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cape May.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_Dave2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

First off all if you are the type of person that needs to have TV/pool/24 hr room service while on vacation in Cape May this is not the hotel for you. The Chalfonte Hotel does an excellent job of capturing the true historic feel of staying in an old Victorian Hotel in the center of Historic Cape May. Once you arrive at the Chalfonte you can sense the amount of history this old building holds. The new owners have done an absolute wonderful job of keeping the old Victorian charm all of us returning guests love so much while making the modern improvements that the building needed such as the central air, and private baths for guestrooms. I have been coming to the Chalfonte for many years and this past visit was one of my family's best yet. The food was delicious, the new cook does a fantastic job with keeping the old menu favorites such as the crab cakes and fried chicken while spicing it up with nightly specials for the other entrees (the grilled shrimp with cheddar bacon grits app was delicious!!). The staff was very friendly and helpful as always. Rachel who works at the front desk is always very cheerful and happy to help with whatever need you may have. My family and I had a wonderful weekend trip to one of our favorite spots in Cape May and can't wait for our annual trip next summer!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cloudnine924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#27 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#26 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalfonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalfonte

Property: The Chalfonte
Address: 301 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2430
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Cape May
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chalfonte 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1876, The Historic Chalfonte Hotel is recognized as the oldest continuously operating hotel in Cape May, America's Original Seaside Resort. Situated just two blocks from the beach, The Chalfonte offers a unique seashore experience defined by warm, Southern-style hospitality and simplistic traditions. We cater to every budget with spacious suites, guest rooms with premium and European style baths, and traditional rooms with shared baths down the hall. Guest rooms feature crisp linens and cool seaside colors, and are free of televisions, telephones, and clock radios. Our nationally acclaimed Magnolia Room restaurant serves Southern-style fare with lovingly prepared family recipes and our King Edward Bar is famous for its classic cocktails and casual ambiance. Our guests continuously return from around the world to enjoy this very special destination. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chalfonte Hotel Cape May
Chalfonte Cape May
Chalfonte Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing