We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of The Chalfonte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chalfonte
Ranked #25 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at the Chalfonte in July for 2 days and loved it. The staff is very friendly and attentive, the rooms are small but clean and the atmosphere within the hotel is great. They have a beautiful wrap-around porch to sit and relax and enjoy the night air and the hotel is just minutes (on foot) to the beach. They provided a great cheese/fruit/crackers buffet on Sunday night (free of charge) that was delicious. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Cape May.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue_Dave2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2011

First off all if you are the type of person that needs to have TV/pool/24 hr room service while on vacation in Cape May this is not the hotel for you. The Chalfonte Hotel does an excellent job of capturing the true historic feel of staying in an old Victorian Hotel in the center of Historic Cape May. Once you arrive at the Chalfonte you can sense the amount of history this old building holds. The new owners have done an absolute wonderful job of keeping the old Victorian charm all of us returning guests love so much while making the modern improvements that the building needed such as the central air, and private baths for guestrooms. I have been coming to the Chalfonte for many years and this past visit was one of my family's best yet. The food was delicious, the new cook does a fantastic job with keeping the old menu favorites such as the crab cakes and fried chicken while spicing it up with nightly specials for the other entrees (the grilled shrimp with cheddar bacon grits app was delicious!!). The staff was very friendly and helpful as always. Rachel who works at the front desk is always very cheerful and happy to help with whatever need you may have. My family and I had a wonderful weekend trip to one of our favorite spots in Cape May and can't wait for our annual trip next summer!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloudnine924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Although we've "hung out" and dined at the Chalfonte for many years we had never stayed there, being cautious of her reputation for "Spartan" accommodations. Longing for the simpler Cape May we remembered (and reading they had been recently "updated"), we booked. The hotel does boast some snappy new room decor, perfectly gorgeous bathrooms (many en suite) while not throwing out the baby with the new plumbing. It's still easy to imagine life there in 1876 Cape May, one of its great charms. As remarked elsewhere, the location is an ideal few blocks from the beach and is also in a quieter part of town, away from the crowded mix of B&Bs and restaurants. Because they seem to share this time-traveling privilege, there is a gentle camaraderie among guests. The southern style cooking is not fancy but flavorful. Lemonade and fresh-baked cookies on the porch in the afternoon and a bountiful cheese buffet at cocktail time in the charming bar were bonuses. We very easily felt a part of the rhythm of The Chalfonte and Cape May. It was hard to leave and easy to look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Closets are NOT standard in all rooms and the central air in most may not be strong enough for those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

The title says it all -- my family, with small children, was placed in the room over the bar, which was unbelievably loud. The management was incredibly non-sympathetic, didn't move us to another room, didn't ask the patrons at the bar to try to keep it down - and worst of all, never informed us of this in advance. (We might have gotten ear plugs!)

Manager was rude. Wait staff, everyone else seemed relatively human. Food area seemed nice. But we won't be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigCityTraveller2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I stayed at the Chalfonte Hotel with some friends during the week in June and it was a fantastic experience. It is a very victorian building but still had a fun atmosphere. The restaurant was delicious (the pecan pie is INCREDIBLE), and the King Edward Bar is a very fun place to relax and have a few drinks at with friends. Everything is an affordable price, that was one of the reasons we chose to stay. The staff is great, everyone is friendly and helpful with anything that you may need. Overall great vacation, definitely going back there next year.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachellll4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights in oceanside room with private bath. Temps were in upper 80's/low 90's and AC initially not on. But, not a problem as high ceilings with fans--large windows. We enjoyed listening to the clop-clop of horses hooves as they pulled carriages through the quiet streets. We enjoyed a delicious buffet breakfast. Very friendly, helpful staff. Fantastic shower with 'rainfall' shower head in a very nice, and extremely clean, bathroom. One thing-- would recommend replacing the old sink which had separate hot/cold spigots that you could barely fit fingers under, let alone your hand. Beds nice and comfy. Very close to beach, shops--great location. Highly recommend--would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: ask for oceanside for the cooler breezes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jle831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Beautiful old hotel. Some rooms have to share a hall bath, which was not for us.
Staff, especially Rachael, were wonderful. The Bar is great- and nice to sit on the grand front porch in the sunset with a cocktail! Nice comp snacks, too! I would return for a future stay!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NinerKW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#30 of 37 in Cape May
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#8 of 37 in Cape May
553 reviews
0.5 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#14 of 37 in Cape May
275 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#23 of 37 in Cape May
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalfonte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalfonte

Address: 301 Howard St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2430
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $90 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Chalfonte 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1876, The Historic Chalfonte Hotel is recognized as the oldest continuously operating hotel in Cape May, America's Original Seaside Resort. Situated just two blocks from the beach, The Chalfonte offers a unique seashore experience defined by warm, Southern-style hospitality and simplistic traditions. We cater to every budget with spacious suites, guest rooms with premium and European style baths, and traditional rooms with shared baths down the hall. Guest rooms feature crisp linens and cool seaside colors, and are free of televisions, telephones, and clock radios. Our nationally acclaimed Magnolia Room restaurant serves Southern-style fare with lovingly prepared family recipes and our King Edward Bar is famous for its classic cocktails and casual ambiance. Our guests continuously return from around the world to enjoy this very special destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Chalfonte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chalfonte Hotel Cape May
Chalfonte Cape May
Chalfonte Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing