We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 20, 2007

My wife and I were disappointed with Captain Mey's Inn. In essence there is an absentee innkeeper. The Inn requires supervision. We stayed in the Peter Stuyvesant room which was not very spacious. There was no soap in the shower just the spray bottle on the sink. We requested soap and it took two days for it to arrive. The inn advertises afternoon refreshments but none were available. Amenities are lacking. The breakfasts were ok but nothing to rave about. The person in charge could not provide information for basic directions. On the positive side the location is very good just a short walk to the beach as is the outdoor mall. Cape May is wonderful however, when we return we will seek alternative accomodations. All the reviews posted by others are on target however we did not consult them prior to our booking.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank Pasquale29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 99 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for her birthday on July 6 and 7 2007. Upon arriving we were met by the innkeeper, Rita, who was a very nice and gracious host. She showed us to our room, Willem the Silent Poet, which was clean and well kept. The mattress on the bed was a little lumpy but upon our checking out, Rita advised she was still renovating the inn and the mattresses in all rooms were to be replaced within the next couple of days. The room was much darker than the photo on their website and the bathroom was small but adequate. Breakfasts were very good with juice, coffee, tea, fresh fruits, pancakes and sausage served one day and a scrambled egg dish served the next. Ritas children, a boy and girl in their teens helped with the serving and were very polite. It was very relaxing to just sit on the front porch in the heat of the afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mustang1maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

My fiance and I booked this B&B for my birthday weekend getaway and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Innkeeper, Rita, greeted us and was gracious and very helpful. Our room was room for an 18th century B&B and the bathroom was adequate and full of all the ammenities that we needed including a dispenser in the shower with soap, shampoo and conditioner and a hair dryer in the closet. We found the mattress to be quite comfy with no bumps or humps at all.

There was a small fridge in the hall that was clean and workable although we didn't have a need for it and rita supplied plenty of ice upon our request. Breakfasts were delicious! The first morning we had a fruit cup and a wonderful ham and cheese fritatta and the BEST carrot muffin I've had in a long time. The second morning Rita served a delicious banana nut muffin and very tasty french toast and bacon and a very nice tropical fruit cup. There was plenty of fresh coffee (with HALF AND HALF!!) and tea and juice . It was very nicely presented and served.

If you are looking for a great B&B with nice rooms and great food and one that is centrally located and close to everyhing..I HIGHLY recommend Captain Mey and Rita!!

Stayed: July 2007
Thank partlyraynie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2007

Upon arrival, we rang the bell to the galley, where we were greeted poitely by a woman. She may have been an owner or an innkeeper, but we're not sure, as she didn't introduce herself by name or in any other way.

The Stuyvesant room, where we stayed, is very tight, with just enough room to walk along either side of the bed. I do not recommend it for long stays, but we were only here for two nights, so it was manageable. There is a communal dorm fridge in the hallway.

The bathroom was a bit of an issue. The first thing that I noticed was sand on the floor of the bathroom, so I figure it didn't get a great cleaning between guests. The shower rod/curtin falls down just about every time you touch it. I kept putting it back in place, but to no avail. The shower head will likely be too low for anyone taller than about 5'8". I'm 5-10 and found myself showering with bended knees. They do not provide soap or any haircare items here, so bring your own.

The bed, according to my wife, was "like sleeping on a sidewalk." However, when we were leaving, the woman from check-in said that they're being replaced this week, so that may improve.

Antiquated electrical outlet along the baseboard was loose and it sparked when I plugged the iron in, but there was an extenstion cord attached to a lamp, which worked just fine with the iron.

Breakfast was included in the price, but only o.k. On the morining that we ate there it consisted of a muffin and butter which was very good, some canned mixed fruit topped with cinnamon which was an odd flavor combination to me and some pancakes that were only so-so.

The porch is a very nice place to sit and read or people watch. There are lots of passers by because of the location right near the mall. The location of the inn makes it easy to get to most of the attractions, including the beach, restaurants and shops. Smoking is permitted on the porch, but nowhere else.

The inn has its own parking lot which is a big plus in Cape May. We've stayed at some other spots and circled the block a dozen times before something opened up.

This was our second time staying here and I don't think we'd stay again unless the owners make some improvements. There are too many other places to stay in Cape May for us to return here.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LowriderH-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

Captain Mey's has a lot of Victorian charm and is ideally located just a couple of blocks from the ocean and a short walk to Washington Sq. where there's lots of artsy shops and nice people. But the Innkeepers need to spend some money on maintenance & upgrading. The shower stall had disgusting stains on the floor that we were afraid to step on. The shower faucet control isn't the modern temperature balancing type, which means I got scalded with hot water when someone else uses the sink. The lighting in the bath is poor if you want to shave or look in the mirror. Also, there were lots of stains on the tile floor.
The ice-maker in the hall was disgusting. There was stagnant water below the tray where the ice comes out.
My phone charger literally fell out of the wall socket because it was so loose. The sagging mattress looked & felt like it was from the Victorian era.
On the other hand, the breakfast was nicely presented & tasted good, although we weren’t given any menu choices.
Truthfully, we’re not big fans of B&B’s and although there’s lots of charm, we prefer a modern hotel with lots of comfort & amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rusty610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2007

Captain Meys is a very pretty B&B in Cape May. Great location and decor inside. The breakfast was good and plentiful. We were alittle disappointed though that there were no bikes, no mention of beach tags or chairs and there was no tea time in the afternoon (unless we missed it by some chance but I don't think so). We had no soap in our shower either. Little quirts that could have made our stay even better than it was. This is not to discourage anyone from staying here since the price is right and the place is pretty and the location is excellent. We still had another great time in Cape May as usual.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DreaminCapeMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Lancaster, PA
12
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We were greeted and tended to by two teen-aged boys. During our short stay we never saw or talked to anyone that resembled an innkeeper. Very odd experience. Rooms were clean and orderly but the whole house smelled of moth crystals. Otherwise, very convenient location and pleasant wrap around porch with comfortable seating.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alcott
Hotel Alcott
#22 of 37 in Cape May
223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#30 of 37 in Cape May
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
0.1 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
306 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 40 in Cape May
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 202 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2322
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $208 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing