We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$179
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$139
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Congress Hall(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montreal Beach Resort(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carroll Villa Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avondale by the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mer Beachfront Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel of the Sea(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$269
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveler rating
37
29
15
12
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
29
15
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastgreat locationfront porchbeautiful victoriana great place to staybed was very comfortablepedestrian mallritablockcapeteas
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 102 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I was shocked at some of the negative reviews of this inn. A bed and breakfast is not a hotel. If you want a concierge and such, do not stay at one. Captain Mey's is a wonderful inn. The owner and her children are delightful as is their dog, Sam, who sometimes makes an appearance! Yes, it is an older building but that is its charm. It still has modern conveniences. We had no problem with the wi-fi and we love Keurig coffee. The bagels were fresh from a local bakery and the muffins were delicious and homemade. We enjoyed having a later breakfast; we do not like having to wake early. We liked the convenience of the inn having beach towels and chairs. Our room was the Peter Stuyvesant and it was small but adequate. There are larger rooms to choose which is what we will do next time. We enjoyed the simple pleasure of relaxing on the wrap-around porch in the evening with a glass of wine and reading material. It was perfect on the one rainy night we had. The inn's location is very, very close to the beach and to the Washington Mall. This was so convenient. Captain Mey's also does not have a three-night minimum as some B & Bs do; the owner is very accommodating. We will certainly return to Captain Mey's!

Room Tip: You must walk steps to get upstairs.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judyqPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We don't understand how anyone could find fault with this B&B. This was our first stay.The staff is friendly and informative. The Inn itself is very clean and beautifully decorated. Nice set up for beverages and refreshments throughout the day. We loved the wrap around porch complete with furniture and rocking chairs to relax on. Nice touch with having beach chairs, towels and even books for a day on the beach ( which is only about 2 blocks away). Also, so close to all the shops and restaurants.The bed was comfy....we had a great night's sleep ( with no apparitions. Lol !! ). Captain Mey's Inn exceeded all of our expectations......we will definitely there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoupleFromNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have never been to Cape May until this past week, even though I lived in NJ for about 26 years. Yes, the Captain Mey's B & B is my only B & B experience, but it was awesome. We had a room on the third floor, and the young lady who greeted us upon arrival offered to carry bags for us, yet we declined. This set the tone for the level of service at this B & B. On the second day, wife and I came back from the beach, sunburned and exhausted, well, the AC went out, ugh. We passed out tired on the bed, then got up to get dinner, so we called management and told them, and by the time we came back from dinner, we had a brand new AC in our room. Amazing. Oh, the breakfast spread at 9 am was wonderful, especially the fresh baked muffins. Yes, it is close to the beach (about a 3 block walk) which is convenient. The only, well not bad part, is that the driveway to park your car near the B & B comes up pretty quick, easy to miss, so we wound up going around the block 3 times before we could park close to this B & B. All in all, this place exceeded my expectations, and I would return again. Go here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Every year my husband and I stay at a different B&B in Cape May. Captain Meys was by far the worst. Granted it is a great location its worth having to walk further to stay at a place that is worth the price. First we were greeted by a young man who was lounging on a bed when you first walk in. He took us to the Piet room and opened the door for us and disappeared. It was a hot day out and the heat was unbearable in our room. They had a small old window AC in the room but it was barely enough cut it. We kept the bathroom door shut and it seemed to help. Of course you would take a shower and get out into a room that was 100 degrees. It was awful. Then during our first night the smoke alarm was beeping so the next morning I brought it downstairs so they could put a new battery in because it beeped loudly every 2 minutes. Came back that night and it was back upstairs without the battery changed still beeping . The breakfast was sad tor a B&B. Oh and watch your head the ceilings are slanted in the room and we hit our heads numerous times. What a joy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rooney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very disappointing stay at one of Cape May's well known establishments. Although the dining room is set up for a feast, their continental breakfast consists of store bought bread, bagels, english muffins and condiments in individual wrappers and boxed cerial. For what it is, this breakast can easily be brought out at 6am so guests can get an early start, but breakfast is not put out until 9am. They allow smoking on the porch and every time I sat on the porch I had to smell the cigarette buts in the ashtrays. If they allow smoking on the porch they should make sure the ashtrays are emptied regularly. In the morning the waste containers were still filled with the previous evening's garbage in both the dining room and on the porch. When checking out there is a basket to drop off your room key. The innkeepers don't seem to care to interact with the guests to get feedback on their stay.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews