We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, Love Captain Mey's B & B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love, Love Captain Mey's B & B!”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I have never been to Cape May until this past week, even though I lived in NJ for about 26 years. Yes, the Captain Mey's B & B is my only B & B experience, but it was awesome. We had a room on the third floor, and the young lady who greeted us upon arrival offered to carry bags for us, yet we declined. This set the tone for the level of service at this B & B. On the second day, wife and I came back from the beach, sunburned and exhausted, well, the AC went out, ugh. We passed out tired on the bed, then got up to get dinner, so we called management and told them, and by the time we came back from dinner, we had a brand new AC in our room. Amazing. Oh, the breakfast spread at 9 am was wonderful, especially the fresh baked muffins. Yes, it is close to the beach (about a 3 block walk) which is convenient. The only, well not bad part, is that the driveway to park your car near the B & B comes up pretty quick, easy to miss, so we wound up going around the block 3 times before we could park close to this B & B. All in all, this place exceeded my expectations, and I would return again. Go here, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    29
    15
    11
    8
See reviews for
9
66
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Every year my husband and I stay at a different B&B in Cape May. Captain Meys was by far the worst. Granted it is a great location its worth having to walk further to stay at a place that is worth the price. First we were greeted by a young man who was lounging on a bed when you first walk in. He took us to the Piet room and opened the door for us and disappeared. It was a hot day out and the heat was unbearable in our room. They had a small old window AC in the room but it was barely enough cut it. We kept the bathroom door shut and it seemed to help. Of course you would take a shower and get out into a room that was 100 degrees. It was awful. Then during our first night the smoke alarm was beeping so the next morning I brought it downstairs so they could put a new battery in because it beeped loudly every 2 minutes. Came back that night and it was back upstairs without the battery changed still beeping . The breakfast was sad tor a B&B. Oh and watch your head the ceilings are slanted in the room and we hit our heads numerous times. What a joy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rooney5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Westfield, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very disappointing stay at one of Cape May's well known establishments. Although the dining room is set up for a feast, their continental breakfast consists of store bought bread, bagels, english muffins and condiments in individual wrappers and boxed cerial. For what it is, this breakast can easily be brought out at 6am so guests can get an early start, but breakfast is not put out until 9am. They allow smoking on the porch and every time I sat on the porch I had to smell the cigarette buts in the ashtrays. If they allow smoking on the porch they should make sure the ashtrays are emptied regularly. In the morning the waste containers were still filled with the previous evening's garbage in both the dining room and on the porch. When checking out there is a basket to drop off your room key. The innkeepers don't seem to care to interact with the guests to get feedback on their stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keyport, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 3 night stay @ this inn. The location to either the beach or the shopping area was perfect. We loved the huge wrap around porch and despite the heat, enjoyed ocean breezes everyday. We were greeted promptly by Katie who explained everything. Our room, like the entire house, was immaculate and A/C'd. I appreciated the continental breakfast being served @ 9A rather than some places that start very early & end early. It makes it very convenient when you'd like to sleep in on vacation. If there was one minor detail I could add it would be to offer a sampling of yogurts. The buffet consisted of fruit, cereal, muffins, and breads. I would have liked to have some type of protein offered in lieu of eggs, meat, etc. Otherwise, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and hope to return.

Room Tip: We had the Captain Theuns room and it was perfectly sized with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJSeastar55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellows Falls, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here twice and we will absolutely be back again! It's just two blocks from the beach and they have beach towels, chairs, and various other beach supplies available for guests to borrow for free. The rooms are beautiful and we sat out on the porch at night with tea and card games. Also very convenient to the main road through town with the shops and restaurants.

We stayed two nights most recently and got to spend three days on the beach. There's a full shower with outdoor access, so you can check out in the morning, spend the day on the beach, and still take a shower to clean off before heading home.

The innkeeper and her children are very friendly and happy to assist with anything we needed. We will definitely be back again next summer!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LaurenFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We loved our one-night stay at Captain Mey's in August 2011. We stayed here the day after our wedding, and we just loved how accommodating they were for that time of year. I called probably 20+ B&B's to see if they would do a one-night stay on a Saturday night, but because it was high season, none were accommodating except this one (the owner even negotiated the price over the phone). Book early if you want to stay during high season.

When we arrived, the owner was very talkative and gave us good advice about where to go and eat. They have free beach towels and chairs that you can take to the beach, which is under a 10 minute leisure walk.

The B&B itself is VERY charming inside, with antiques and old portraits all over the walls. There is even an interesting parakeet in the lobby to greet you when you come in! Parking is included.

We stayed in the Queen Beatrix room. There was a private bath, but it was not connected directly to the room (it was just a five step walk outside the room and into the hallway). It wasn't a big deal for us, but if this is a priority for you, be aware of this.

The breakfast included was very nice. Everything was fresh. They offered tea and coffee all day long, though they do not have the usual "afternoon snacks and tea" that many of the other B&B's offered. You can sit outside on the wrap-around porch and enjoy people watching on the street and just relax in the wicker chairs. Just beautiful!

We loved our stay here, and we would certainly be back again. A great location...close to the beach, yet also close to the main shopping street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shiva1291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We stayed one Sunday night at this B&B over Columbus day weekend. We found the owner Rita to be friendly and easy going. The price couldn't have been better and the room was spotless clean and beautifully decorated in the victorian style
The room was of average size with a queen bed however, I thought the mattress was way to firm and stiff, hurt our backs.
We loved sitting on the porch and taking in all the history of Victorian Cape May, the horse and buggies go by often.
It is in walking distance to the beach and to the Washington Mall area, you really do not have to drive anywhere if you don't want to. There was a small parking lot right on the premises to leave your car.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovethebeach93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#28 of 37 in Cape May
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,202 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Leith Hall Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Luther Ogden Inn
The Luther Ogden Inn
#29 of 39 in Cape May
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast
Address: 202 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2322
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Captain Mey's Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing