We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Truly the best of the best"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bedford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bedford Inn
Ranked #12 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, New Jersey
2 reviews
“"Truly the best of the best"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

What a wonderful experience at the the Bedford Inn! Authentic Victorian decor, warm and friendly, exquisite breakfasts, I can't say enough about this B&B! Archie is a most pleasant host always willing to share his knowledge and recommendations of the area. We stayed in "Lucinda" and enjoyed the rooms amenities, especially the cozy fireplace in the sitting area. We thoroughly loved our 2 night stay during the Christmas season with the beautiful holiday decorations! We can't wait to come back and enjoy this "gem" in warmer weather. Fantastic find! You won't be disappointed if you choose to stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njcma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    39
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
250
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Bedford Inn. The decor is authentic without the overdone fussiness found at many B&Bs. Archie is a caring host who knows the difference between attentiveness and hovering. The Inn offered many thoughtful amenities-- coffee and tea available around the clock, a refrigerator to chill our wine and store our doggy bags, stemware and an opener available, an ice machine for our water bottles, a bike rack and an outdoor shower. Archie is a wonderful cook; the breakfasts were some of the best we've enjoyed at B&Bs. The inn's location was perfect, close to everything without being in the middle of it. We stayed in one of the front rooms on the second floor (Ellie's). We were able to hear the ocean at night and the clip clopping of the carriage horses. We enjoyed the breeze on the upstairs porch and the wicker glider downstairs. I can't think of a thing I would change. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed another wonderful stay at the Bedford Inn. We highly recommend it for a relaxing stay in beautiful Cape May. We can't say enough positive things about the Inn and staff. This is truly a gem and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele-BillG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I truly enjoyed our second visit to the Bedford Inn. The rooms, numerous and on the small side, were beautifully decorated and set up maintaining the ambiance of a beautiful and historic Victorian home. The Inn is located a short walk to the center of the village, and just one block from the beach. The breakfast is truly generous, different each of our three days and delicious. We highly recommend this B&B and shall certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruceliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lovely atmosphere, beautiful house, wonderful breakfast, peaceful, an accommodating Innkeeper and staff and all this plus one block from the beach! Thank you so much to Archie and staff for how accommodating and comfortable our stay was at the Bedford Inn! The Bedford will always be our choice for future stays in Cape May.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This review is a tad late, but better late than never. This was our second stay at the Bedford Inn, and once again, everything was wonderful! The Inn is always clean and inviting, the rooms are comfy, the food is perfect, parking is never a problem, and the service can't be beat. Archie and his staff really take care of you when you stay at the Bedford, and make you feel at home. He even gave us an engagement gift, after I proposed to my girlfriend (now wife) on the beach. We love the Bedford Inn and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Cape May. We can't wait to go back! See you soon, Archie!
--John and Becky Crawford

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

Large, immaculate, and beautifully appointed rooms. Lovely breakfasts, coffee and tea available around the clock. A first- and second-floor porch for enjoying the Cape May sights and breezes. All of these characteristics of the Bedford Inn would be enough to recommend it, but then there are the little things that Archie (owner) does that make this a destination we will be sure to visit again. From bringing our luggage up to the third floor, to making reservations for us at local restaurants, to providing beach towels as well as beach chairs, to stocking the outdoor shower with soap and shampoo – Archie’s attention to detail and to his guests’ needs is truly outstanding. There is nothing else I can add to all of the reasons other guests have listed for staying at the Bedford Inn. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetravelersthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Star
The Star
#19 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Inn

Property: Bedford Inn
Address: 805 Stockton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2446
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Inn is a perfect year-round getaway where you can leave your hectic lifestyle behind. Take a stroll, bicycle ride or go back in time on a horse & carriage ride through the streets of our enchanting Victorian Village by the sea. We are located just a short block to the beach, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Bedford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing