We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous excperience in Cape May”
Review of Bedford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bedford Inn
Ranked #12 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Bedford inn on Veteran's Day. Thanks to Archie's hospitality we had a wonderful stay in this gem of a house. The room was comfortable, the breakfast superb and most of all the wealth of information Archie shared on the town, helped us better navigate our first visit to Cape May. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paradisebandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 347 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2011

The Bedford Inn participated in the free night's stay for veteran's this year (2011) and my wife and I were one of the lucky ones to take Archie up on his generosity. From the time we walked through the front door, we were treated like royalty. Archie graciously toured us through the Inn and explained a bit about his family's military background, pulled out maps to show us where we could find dinner, and answered any and all questions we had. The room itself was great and my wife and I both had one of the best nights sleep we've experienced in a long time. The atmosphere was wonderful - warm and welcoming. I would highly recommend the Bedford to anyone considering a stay "down the shore" in Cape May.
Thank you Archie for a wonderful experience!

SMSgt (ret) Rocky and Lisa Moroz

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockyMoroz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed with Archie at the Bedford Inn during the first week of October 2011. We were very pleased with the accomodations (we stayed in Lucinda's Suite), the overall charm of the well-made and well-maintained Victorian structure, and the breakfasts. Should we ever decide to spend time in Cape May again we would most assuredly stay at the Bedford Inn...and we have already recommended it to several friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greybeard2257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We would definitely recommend the Bedford Inn if you are looking for a B&B in Cape May. Archie was a very welcoming host. Gave great suggestions on where to eat and very helpful in offering to make reservations. I would take him up on that, as we found out, empty tables does not mean a place is not booked up till 8:30-9:00 PM. Breakfasts were outstanding. They always had a fruit dish, sweet bread and or some type of muffin or scone. Along with a hot dish, be it French toast casserole, egg casserole, or waffles and some type of meat. You can sit with other guests in the dining room or a table for two on the enclosed porch. Though the dining room was nice to talk with other guests. Coffee, tea and hot chocolate were available all day along with a packaged snack. Late afternoon tea or lemonade always included a homemade cookie, but Saturday was best with wine, cheese, cookies and hot artichoke dip that was amazing. Park your car for the weekend, everything is within walking distance. It's a block from the beach and about a five minute walk to the mall. Sue and Joe Parsippany NJ

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

My girlfriend and I recently stayed at The Bedford Inn, and we couldn't have been happier with our stay. The first thing that we noticed as soon as we walked in was how clean the place smelled. And I don't mean that it smelled like cleaner and disinfectant, I mean it smelled nice and fresh. We stayed in the Lucinda's Suite, on the second floor, and couldn't have been happier. The room and linens were clean, and the bed was very comfortable. We both slept like babies! As for the location of the inn, it couldn't have gotten much better. The inn is located a block from the beach, and there is onsite parking in the driveway. There is also free street parking in front of the inn. The breakfast was good in the morning and you had your choices of where you could eat, whether it be at the formal dining room table, the enclosed sun porch, or the spacious front porch. Or you could just take breakfast back to your room. There is also a fantastic porch, on the second floor of the house, that is perfect for relaxing in a rocking chair and reading or doing a little people watching. All in all, we had a fantastic time at The Bedford Inn. Our innkeeper, Archie, couldn't have been more wonderful, making sure that we had a pleasant stay, and making sure that we had everything that we needed. Thanks Archie, we will definitley be back!!!
--John and Becky

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnCrawford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We were married by the owner Archie Kirk on 8/11/2011. We chose the Wedding Package which included flowers, chocolates in our suite, ceremony, dinner for 2 at the Washington Inn which was spectacular!!! Flower bouquet and boutonniere for my hubby.
Archie did a wonderful job, he is runs a great B & B and made us very welcome.
A wedding to remember!
Dont forget The Washington Inn for dinner and Freda, great chef!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon suite which has a lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank battaj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Cape May has become an anual event for us and of course where you lay your head and eat your meals are to very important aspects of a successful vacation. Cape May is beautiful and staying at The Bedford Inn made it more beautiful. The host Archie is very warm and accomadating. The breakfast is exquisite and the decor takes you back in time. Locationb is 1 block from the beach and pretty much in the center of things. All in walking distance. We highly reccomend this B & B.

Room Tip: See the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisMyrna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
429 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#3 of 40 in Cape May
313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#10 of 40 in Cape May
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bedford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bedford Inn

Address: 805 Stockton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2446
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $192 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bedford Inn is a perfect year-round getaway where you can leave your hectic lifestyle behind. Take a stroll, bicycle ride or go back in time on a horse & carriage ride through the streets of our enchanting Victorian Village by the sea. We are located just a short block to the beach, shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Bedford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bedford Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing