We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Angel of the Sea
Nearby Hotels
Jetty Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$93
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$141
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Southern Mansion(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$169
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Virginia Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carroll Villa Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Club Hotel(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Congress Hall(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Grand Hotel(Cape May)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Montreal Beach Resort(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Mer Beachfront Inn(Cape May)(Great Value!)
$140
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (755)
Filter reviews
755 results
Traveler rating
568
109
44
24
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
568
109
44
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine and cheeseafternoon teabed and breakfastb bmy husband and inew ownershot entreesfree bicyclescrackersbeach towelsget awayshared balconyother guestschairs and umbrellasbaked goodsacross the streetocean view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
660 - 665 of 755 reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Cape May in September and early October is just a lovely place -- beautiful beaches, great food, and no crowds.

The Angel is located very close to the beach and there are shared balconies that provide ocean views. The rooms are classic, elegant Victorian. The building is classic Victorian "gingerbread." The breakfast offered is certainly filling and the staff are very professional and courteous. Excellent mattress.

The inn offers a high tea; we missed this as it didn't work with our schedule but it is supposed to be very good.

There are things that could be improved and one item about which travelers must be aware.

(1) Use a credit card with trip insurance to book this stay. The hotel is completely rigid on its cancellation policies.
(2) Our room was dusty (of course, that's authentic Victorian, I suppose)
(3) Breakfast includes a fruit and baked items buffet (very good, especially the yogurt) and a choice between two hot main dishes (each day, one was very good and one was a "my lovely wife who is a great cook could do better")
(4) Window air conditioners are old and noisy
(5) Worn linens (we mentioned this to staff on leaving, so hopefully this will be addressed)

We expect to spend other shoulder season weekends in Cape May; we may return to the Angel or explore other options, just not sure.

Room Tip: Rooms are very different and have different prices; need to examine options online
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chessplayer17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We came to Cape May for the first time to celebrate our 9th anniversary. We had done our research online and chose the "Angel". We could not have been more delighted. The Inn, the staff; Chet, Mary, Ann Marie, Katrina and all the others are exceptional. The breakfasts are out of this world. The proximity to the ocean. The use of bicycles, towels, chairs at our disposal. And the porches. What a great spot to enjoy an evening cigar, sitting in a wicker rocker with the roar of the ocean nearby. We were totally relaxed and rejuvenated. We had booked a three night stay and loved the "Angel" so much we stayed a fourth night. We have stayed at many B&Bs in New England and the "Angel" was by far the BEST!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Our 4th visit to the Angel and it happened to be during Hurricane Irene. Had a mandatory evacuation and Angel personnel could not be more helpful. Had a most pleasant tme, as always, with Chet and Katrina being wonderful! Anyone who has not stayed at the Angel, please visit and you will just love it and keep going back year after year. Rooms are clean, (3 of us in a room with a day bed was spacious), amenities are fabulous and the staff is super friendly and family like atmmosphere. We will go back in late November to experience Christmas at Angel of the Sea this year. Do plan a vist and you will be most pleased!

Room Tip: The rooms with daybed are very spacious. We had room 4 and it was large with a great bathroom and shower
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimberlyWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

I feel as if any negative reviews were written by people who are not B&B people to begin with. My daughters and I stayed in #3 and it was clean, a good size for 3 people, and very comfortable. This room is on the 1st level and very quiet. There is a ground level ocean view, but we didn't really spend many daylight hours in the room anyhow. The beach is close and it was nice having umbrellas, towels, and chairs provided. The breakfast was excellent and there was something different each day of the 5 we were there. Afternoon tea is great with freshly made pastries and cookies. Then there is wine and and cheese which we took out on the porch while deciding what to do for dinner. It is a bit far from the town center, but that was an advantage for us. There is a shuttle that stops nearby; we did not use it but it is cheap and I believe the return fare is free if you show a receipt for anything purchased in town. Although the hotel was booked most nights we were there, it never felt crowded in the common areas such as the porch and living and dining rooms. As far as price-it is the shore at high season. Nothing decent is cheap. We have already reserved the room for next summer!

Room Tip: For couples, try to get a room with a balcony and ocean view on a higher floor. For 3 people get room #3.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindamarie07825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We have stayed at the Angel of the Sea a number of times. They think of everything. Eat a delicious breakfast, beach is one block away (chairs and umbrellas included), come back for coffee and cake at 4:00, then wine and cheese at 5:30. Beautiful spreads. Bikes, towels, and even a outdoor shower for the day you leave (hang one more day at the beach). All you need to do is make dinner reservations. Rooms are extremely clean. You don't get that motel feel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgoldst632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews