We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit and Loved it Even More Than the First!”
Review of Angel of the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Angel of the Sea
Ranked #5 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“2nd Visit and Loved it Even More Than the First!”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

It is very difficult to believe that Angel of the Sea is rated so low on this site. I usually use trip advisor as my vacation "bible" and must say that some of the reviews appear to be from reviewers not familiar with a Bed and Breakfast experience. I too used to compare the experience to a resort or hotel experience. The experiences are polar opposite and should be considered as such. As always the innkeepers were warm and inviting. They were helpful in every way!
My husband and I spent our honeymoon there 9 and 1/2 years ago during a weekend in January. This was our first stay during the high summer season. We were not disappointed. First of all, for a romantic atmosphere, Angel of the Sea has it all. It is away from the hustle and bustle of the main town, BUT close enough to walk to it or take a 4 minute drive to the square and restaurants.
We loved that the beach was within the block and there were amazing ocean views from the porches and from our room...Room 12. The beach in front of the building is not crowded and this is a surprise this time of year.
They provided brand new comfortable beach chairs and beach towels and we were on the beautiful beach within a couple of minutes.
Other amenities include fresh coffee beginning at 7:00 AM...a full breakfast beginning at 8:00AM.....fresh baked brownies, cookies etc along with tea and coffee around 4:00 and wine and cheese from 5:30 to 7:00. I do not know of any other B&B's that provide all of these special treats. One recommendation would be to upgrade the cheese selection slightly. I appreciated the effort but I believe that a slight upgrade and a warm dip would really put the experience in a different category.
The rooms are obviously Victorian and have a very romantic and cozy feel. Do not expect modern amenities such as a large shower or modern sink. A fresh flower would add to the experience rather than an artificial one in fake water. The feel of the rooms truly bring you to another place and time. We are a couple who normally choose a hotel or resort, and reserve a Bed and Breakfast for a special quick romantic getaway.
Angel of the Sea has it all! We hope to return again for our anniversary in January! I do feel that they should provide something special for repeat guests...a small discount or chocolate and champagne on arrival.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seashellbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    100
    42
    23
    10
See reviews for
75
464
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canton, MI
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This past weekend we spent the 2 nights at the Angel of the Sea. I cannot say enough wonderful things about this B & B. This was our 2nd visit in which we stayed in the same room...room 9 and it was just as perfect as the first time. The staff is wonderful, the accomodations are great, clean and just gorgeous and the food and snacks are wonderful. I would highly recommend this place to anyone lookin for a quient relaxing getaway. They provide beach towls, chairs and umbrellas and the gorgeous beach is just stps away. Along with bikes that you can take all around town. They are so helpful with restaurant recommendations and reservations. If you have the opportunity you must visit the Angel of the Sea.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlm0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

The welcome and overall service were excellent and the setting, whilst not waterfront, was quiet and relaxing. The food was also very good and the only negative was the maitre D, who is surely of German decendance - with possible links to the Third Reich.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldwidetraveller20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawissa, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Our stay at the Inn was everything we desired. The breakfast was second to none. The afternoon tea and delicacies were sumptuous. The hospitality was one courtesy after another. Angel of the Sea gave us all we desired to share with our mother on her 80th birthday. The victorian charm of the rooms, the manicured beauty of the flower beds, and the night lighting of the inn gave us a memory to last a lifetime. We observed people drive up, stop, and take photos of the inn and then drive off. A 1/2 block walk to the beach couldn't have been more convenient. I read other reviews before we went... a couple with some negativity. They were misleading. Our visit was positive, restful, satisfying and memorable. Thank you, Lorie and all the staff.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have a view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Angel of the Sea is a beautiful Victorian B&B with a perfect location on the beach and a lovely staff. Quiet, relaxing, and delightful stay. I will definitely be back to Angel by the Sea.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank realtimewithme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Rm 7 on the 2nd floor was very tiny but it had a cozy feel to it. The semi-private balcony was wonderful with a great view of the ocean! My husband and I sat out there with our coffee just enjoying the ocean breezes. The roller-type AC was sort of funny as it connected to the door so you needed to step over it and then onto the balcony. It really was no big deal.
Breakfast was substantial and very good, with a nce fruit and cake buffet prior to ordering your choice of 2 breakfasts which were served at the table. The 4:30 tea/coffee an pastries was great, although we weren' t there at 5:30 for the wine and cheese.
The staff was very friendly and even offered to make inner reservations for us.
One of the best things about his B&B is the fact that it is just far enough from the center of town to make it a very peaceful stay. You couldn't get any closer to the beach without actually walking out and onto the sand.
We found no negatives here and would absolutely return. Thanks for a wonderful 25th anniversary getaway!

Room Tip: If you don't mind a tiny room (#7), it's perfect for a couple for 2 reasons: balcony with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spartanwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

When we arrived we we had a friendly greeting. We were offered to have our bags carried up to the second floor for us but we opted to carry them ourselves. The decor was very Victorian and the porch outside was lovely. We chose a small room in order to have an ocean view with a terrace. I will tell you that room 7 is SMALL..but the ocean view and the breeze is priceless; besides you don't spend much time in your room with the terrace outside and the wonderful porch downstairs and the bountiful breakfast, lovely tea/coffee time and wine and cheese time. They surely do keep you occupied and your appetite stomach happy. The bikes are there for you to use for free and also they provide beach towels for each room. It was the relaxing, wonderful time that we needed. Thank you Angel staff for being so accommodating and friendly. We can't wait to return in September!

Room Tip: I would definitely suggest the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorelei425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
681 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,300 reviews
1.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,185 reviews
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#7 of 37 in Cape May
694 reviews
0.3 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angel of the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angel of the Sea

Property: Angel of the Sea
Address: 5 Trenton Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2735
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Angel of the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award-winning Victorian Bed & Breakfast Inn located opposite the ocean. Your stay includes full breakfast service, afternoon tea service and evening wine and cheese service. We also offer free use of bicycles, beach towels, beach chairs and beach umbrellas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Angel of the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Angel Of The Sea Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing