We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colton Court Motor Inn
Ranked #36 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed February 11, 2014

My wife & I have stayed here quite offten while working on our boat. You can`t find a nicer place in Cape May
The host, Edie is a very pleasant woman, Very helpfull with all your needs. The rooms a clean & comfortable. Last time I was there they are renovating the rooms a few at a time, the beds are new and pleasant to sleep on
When you go tell Edie SANTA CLAUSE sent ya.

Room Tip: Suites are large and comfy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank captart69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 173 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2014

On a spur of the moment to trip to Cape May, NJ in January, my husband and I found ourselves wanting to spend the night. As we stopped into various hotels along the beach we either found no vacancies or $170 ++ a night basic rooms. We continued down Beach Ave, and came across the colton Court Motor Inn. We were welcomed by a lovely woman who let us know our beach front room would only be $49 for the night. The room was very basic, but clean and quiet, and had a microwave and refrigerator. The room was perfect, and it gave us some extra money to go have a nice dinner!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mb1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed there this week for Three nights. First, I was charged a higher rate then what i was quoted when i made my reservation back in Sept. Our room was clean but deadbolt lock on door was broken, towel rack in bathroom was broken and several bureau drawers would not open. I kept my clothes in the suitcase. It was nice and quiet there and great ocean view. People were nice !

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCINBRAVES10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

After reading all the reviews I was VERY weary about staying at this hotel/motel. I just hitting up Cape May for the night so figured I would deal with it.

When I called they told me that there was a 2 night minimal like most hotels ( starting to see that trend now) but on there website I was allowed to book one night and got my confirmation.

The hotel is located in a perfect location. Right on Beach Ave across the beach, the hotel/motel had plenty of parking and it was well taken care of on the outside. The pool area was clean, nice size pool and plenty chairs ( its off season :)

Booking was very precis that it only started at 2pm, but at 1:37 the young lady at the office came and found me at teh pool and gave me my key. I did find it odd that there we no bathrooms in the courtyard, but there really wasn't a lobby just a small office.

My room was a large size- two beds ( hard but its a motel) a new tv, fridge and microwave. The rooms are VERY outdated but for 100 on the beach I really wouldn't complain. The only issue was my room had a smell- like wet/old smell. Wasn't sure what it was but like I said I stayed a night.

I would stay there again for a night or two again!

Room Tip: I stayed in the 'breezeway" on the first floor, all the difference was two room away froma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pastytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel last year and it was what we expected for the price. Clean but a bit outdated. But an excellent location and could not beat the price. Unfortunately, this year they are a refusing to honor a one night reservation even though their booking system accepted it and they have removed all references to a 2 night minimum from their website. Had this problem with another Cape May hotel that accepted a 2 night stay and then tried to force us to book 3 nights. Seems like a scam in the area. Got a nasty email that I would have to book Friday night too or couldn't come. Must be from the crazy owner referenced in other posts.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We've been going to the Colton for a few years now. It is a great location, beachfront, and the best view in all of New Jersey, the cove. Edie, and her staff are always accommodating and very pleasant. The owners have been doing a great job renovating the hotel, and swimming pool. We love it there, feel very much at home, and it's a great place to relax, sit on the beach, and watch the dolphins. You can park your car and walk everywhere.

Sue and Chas

Room Tip: If you're looking for a reasonable place to stay, in an excellent location, then this is the pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Musty, old bedspreads, no attention to detail and the prices are sky high. When I made the reservation they said there would be absolutely no refunds and now I know why...if we could have we would have moved to another place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodlovercocolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.3 mi away
Cape Harbor Motor Inn
Cape Harbor Motor Inn
#23 of 37 in Cape May
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#9 of 37 in Cape May
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Sea Crest Motor Inn
#8 of 37 in Cape May
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#18 of 37 in Cape May
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jetty Motel
Jetty Motel
#31 of 37 in Cape May
158 reviews
0.7 mi away
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colton Court Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colton Court Motor Inn

Address: 105 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1303
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range: $54 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Colton Court Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colton Court Motor Hotel Cape May
Colton Court Hotel
Colton Court Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing