We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not as bad as the reviews”
Review of West Cape Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Cape Motel
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed the end of August 2011 as a last minute getaway. The location is not in close proximity to the beach (at least a 10 minute walk) and you will certainly need a car to travel into the main town area (5 minute drive). But, it was quiet, the room was clean and big (and a renovated bathroom) and the pool area was nice. My only issue was the awkward parking lot and the cable on the television had poor reception. We couldn't watch TV.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Thank you for your review.

Please know we are terribly sorry about your TV troubles. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. We appreciate your feedback and will use it to improve upon the property in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 52 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2011

We got this room because it was the cheapest hotel in the area without heading up to Cape May Courthouse. My expectations were more or less calibrated correctly (it beat sleeping in a car). My only disappointment is that there was no free WiFi (I've stayed at similarly priced hotels that include this). It also took a while for the heater to heat up the room (we came in late October).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

beach not in walking distance
beds and furniture well seasoned
no WiFi

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank n_und_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Thank you for your review.
Please note that the West Cape Motel is a low cost leader, and we do not profess to be more than that. We provide guests with a budget friendly, clean and comfortable setting that is located on the way to famed Sunset Beach and close to the rest of Cape May's attractions. We are proud to note that we have been providing families with a low cost way to enjoy all that Cape May has to offer for over 20 years and will continue doing so into the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Made reservations ahead requesting a room we can cook in. Arrived in our room to find the place had no microwave, no pots and pans, only a small fridge, a poor working two burner electric stove. This was not the remodeled place as stated (seems some places think a fast coat of cheap paint is remodeling). AC works poorly, we went to CVS for a fan so we had one for moving the damp musty air around. Pool was decent but very warm. Hair dryer was broke and no iron.

Room Tip: Pray, because unless you can see through your computer, forget it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hereitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

We are sorry you were unsatisfied with your stay at the WCM.

Please note that you reserved an efficiency which does not include a full kitchen. This is explained on both our website and whenever guests call. Cooking can only be done on the stovetop. Our suites come equipped with a full kitchen.

Our irons are available upon request, and had you mentioned your hair dryer trouble we most certainly would have provided you with another.

As far as the pool is concerned, please note that the sun in August will warm up most bodies of water.

We respectfully disagree with your choice of caption for review, but will endeavor to use your feedback to improve upon the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

If you want to commit Suicide this is the place for you.
Very Dirty
Smelled disgusting
Mold everywhere
bugs - See welts in photos on my girlfriends back in photos
staff was unfriendly and down right bizarre - very similar to the Bates Motel in Alfred Hitchcock's film Psych
Stay away - we left and got another hotel
We didn't take our socks because we were afraid to touch the carpet with our bare feet.
We did not keep our suit case open because we were afraid roaches would get in our suit case
We would have left immediately if it wasn't so late at night when we checked in
Bathroom stunk like urine
AC was jammed between bed and wall - completely useless
don't be fooled by their web site - the pool is in the middle of the parking lot and the nice deck they show is off limits to all guests

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SurfCityDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2012

We are sorry you were displeased with your stay. We are always working to improve upon our facilities, and we work hard to ensure guests have a pleasant stay with us.

Please note that we strongly disagree with a few items in your review. Our staff works tirelessly to ensure that the rooms are spotless. While they may not appeal to you aesthetically, please note they are most certainly not dirty. We ask all guests to alert us immediately if they ever encounter such a room. Unfortunately, we cannot do much for guests if we are not advised of issues as they occur.

The bugs you reference are mosquitos and in July they are very prevalent in Cape May. We are a motel so when guests leave their doors open mosquitoes do in fact get in the rooms. We apologize that this effected your stay. We wish there was something more we could have done to prevent your mosquito bites. Mosquito control is a trial faced by many businesses in the summer. We do take issue, however, with the insinuation that other bugs were present in your room. However, as you were undoubtedly upset when you wrote that, we can understand your frustration.

Ultimately when a guest leaves unhappy it makes us unhappy. We wish you well in your travels and will utilize your feedback to help us improve upon the property in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My wife and I decided to visit Cape May, and after trying to find available rooms, we found one here. I was hesitant at the beginning but going into the room calmed me down. Very clean overall room and bathroom. Some bugs, but it's expected. The motel looks very good and the price is amazing.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixellolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I decided to stay at the West Cape Motel for Memorial Day weekend because it was in a great location and was one of the least expensive places to stay during the Holiday weekend. Also because their website says that all the rooms have been redone this year. But trust me, I would not stay there again nor would recommend it to anyone I know.

Our room had a horrible moldy stench in it, which would not go away no matter how much Lysol we sprayed. Part of the ceiling looked old and modly. I had to kill a few ants crawling aorund. Our AC was completely blocked by the other bed and did not work the first night we were there. The second day we told the cleaning lady about it and she sent someone to fix it while we were gone. The cleaning lady looked like a regular person on the street. She was wearing jeans and a t-shirt, knocking on our door. I didn't even know she was housekeeping. When we got back to our room our AC was fixed but the nightstand was obviously moved in order to get behind to fix it as well as the chairs, and they were left as is in the middle of the room. They were not even put back into place.

But the VERY WORST thing about this motel was coming back at night and finding our door COVERED WITH BUGS. No exaggeration. It was something I have never seen before. I contemplated sleeping in my car. My boyfriend had to take off his shoe and start killing them before we opened the door so that they would not go inside. Some still got in as we ran inside. So I had to stand on the bed and kill all the bugs on the ceiling with a shoe because I refused to go to sleep with bugs everywhere. We also killed a spider right by our headboard/pillow. The second night we got to our room the door was COVERED IN BUGS AGAIN!!! I was so grossed out that we went inside and packed our stuff and left. I didn't even stay to check out the next morning. It was unbearable.

The only decent thing about this place was the pool, and thats about it. Please do not stay here. Save yourself the trouble. Spend a little more money and stay somewhere else. You'll be happy you did.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sicilianstarlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCM_Management_Team, WCM Management at West Cape Motel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay.
Please be advised that we unfortunately cannot control the bugs that come into a room when a guest leaves a door or window open. We are located directly across from the Bird Sanctuary and nature will intrude if guests leave these items open.

There is most certainly no mold in the room. The damp smell you reference may have been due to our proximity to the beach and wetlands. We are located in a beach town.

Please note that we work to ensure that our rooms remain immaculately clean. We are a low cost leader and do not profess to be more than that. We provide guests with a budget friendly, clean and comfortable setting that is located on the way to famed Sunset Beach and close to the rest of Cape May's attractions.

We are sorry if you felt we failed in providing the experience outlined above. We will use your feedback to try and improve upon the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#10 of 37 in Cape May
553 reviews
1.5 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea Crest Inn
Sea Crest Inn
#9 of 37 in Cape May
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
739 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,210 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Cape Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Cape Motel

Address: 307 Sunset Blvd, Cape May, NJ 08204-4139
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The West Cape Motel is located in the picturesque Victorian Cape May resort area. This budget friendly gem is the closest lodging to the acclaimed bird sanctuary so bring along your binoculars to catch a glimpse of some of the rare species that pass through Cape May each year. Or if you prefer fins to feathers, the West Cape Motel is just minutes from the sparkling waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Splash in the surf or just soak up the sunshine on the sandy, tranquil beaches of the Jersey Shore. After an exciting and eventful day, you'll welcome the charming and comfortable country accommodations at the West Cape Motel. Choose from attractive rooms with twin double beds, efficiencies with fully equipped kitchenettes, and spacious one-bedroom suites. Our tastefully furnished accommodations feature refrigerators, air conditioning, and color cable TV. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Cape Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing