We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice accomodations,close to the ocean,close to attractions”
Review of Capri Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capri Motor Lodge
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2010

We booked a suite. This,overall,was a very nice place to stay. the kitchen was well equiped, and the rooms were spacious. The housekeeping staff were excellent.. It was located very close to the ocean, and along the "main drag". The price was reasonable. It was a very enjoyable stay.
.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liveforthebeach10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
There are newer reviews for Capri Motor Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 302 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2010

My family had a great stay at the Montreal and wanted to add another day to our trip. The Montreal was full for Sunday, so I checked prices online. I went out to look at the other motels and my first stop was the Capri.

The lady behind the desk stated the price and I was surprised that it was comparable to the Montreal. I wish I would have asked her name, because she was extremely pleasant.

Additionally, we were offered the use of the pool and changing area for the hours before check in and after check out the following day. Our checkout day ended up being our best weather of the vacation and we had a great time hanging out by the pool.

The Capri is an older motel, with older decor. I've been coming to Cape May since the late 70s, so I enjoy the older look.

If I were to recommend one improvement... I would say to add an air purifier, being so close to the ocean the room had a slight moist smell. The Montreal uses a small purifier in each room and I think that would make a difference.

Thank you, we had a great time!! Capri is on my short list of great places to stay in Cape May.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pennsylvanian4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2010

The location was perfect, the amenities were all there in the room and on the property they even had two grills for cooking, as well as shuffle boards to use. Greeting was pleasant and clear about all the surroundings and whenever we would see the mgrers, they always were pleasant. Will return within the season as well as bringing others/
Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delsage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My family (15 adults, 3 teenagers and 11 kids) stayed here. Great location, family oriented, pool, shuffle board, ping pong. All the rooms were fine - some better than others...the small efficiencies were just that - outdated but fine....the suites and larger condo type rooms were really nice and seemed much brighter, more up to date, nicer kitchens. The main reason for the family choosing this place -- they have gas grills for guests use. The only place we could find on the beach that had grills. So it is extremly family oriented....also made fresh movie style popcorn every day for the kids. Thank you to everyone there who made it so much fun for all of us.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank where2nextlump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2009

We had an efficiency room w/ side ocean view. It was super clean, but very outdated with old bathroom and cupboards. No amenities except coffee pot/coffee in room and HBO. Something in the room gave my companion and I major allergy attacks--probably mold/mildew because the room was so clean so it wasn't dust.

But outside the room was a great view of the ocean, a lovely pool with section of 1 ft. deep water for little ones, shuffleboard, pingpong, gas grills for use, free popcorn in the lobby, and just steps from the beach. The grounds were immaculate, the staff friendly, and the neighborhood/guests quiet.

Don't let the reservation and payment methods scare you away. This is perfect for a family without allergies. If they ever remodel inside, I will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachLvrInPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2009

As the other negative reviews claim, the place is very old fashioned, small, sparse amenities and extremely worn. The radiators are rusty; old ill fitting doors on cabinets; no micorwave, a rusted, beat up dirty toaster and no microwave. The bathroom has hot pink and turquoise tile, the sink drain didn't work and water drained very slowly out of sink.
We were packing groceries away and I realized that the few ants I had killed earlier in the day had relatives. Several were crawling around the sink and stovetop; that did it, we packed up, threw out the groceries and came home in the middle of the night. Not a good first stay in Cape May. We'll continue to go back to Wildwood Crest.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jant56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I was looking for a good place to stay in Cape May on very short notice after a bad experience with another hotel. The Chamber of Commerce mentioned several hotels in the area, one of them being the Capri Motor Lodge. I spoke with them and settled on a room w/an ocean view. This motel was one of the best on Beach Ave. It's family friendly, very clean and kept in wonderful condition. I would recommend it highly to anyone looking for a place to stay in Cape May. If I have an opportunity to go there again, I would not hesitate to choose the Capri.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OHOmega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
410 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Sea Crest Motor Inn
#8 of 37 in Cape May
592 reviews
0.7 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motor Lodge

Address: 1033 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape May
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $146 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capri Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are seaside accommodations located directly across the street from Cape Mays beautiful beaches. We offer a family friendly environment for the whole family to enjoy while vacationing. Enjoy the pool, BBQ on the grill, play ping pong and shuffleboard or just take in the wonderful view of the beach. We offer efficiencies, suites and townhouse in the historic town of Cape May, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Capri Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Motor Hotel Cape May
Capri Hotel Cape May
Capri Motel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing