We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First time visit and won't be the last!”
Review of Capri Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capri Motor Lodge
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First time visit and won't be the last!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Perfect beach getaway with comfy beds and an amazing staff! Free popcorn and apples in lobby. Casual comfort with a perfect location! Across the street from the beach with a restaurant serving food to your beach chair. Walking distance to restaurants and shops.
See you next summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LHMOMLorton_Virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    102
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
166
62
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This is our 2nd year visiting the Capri. Once again we were pleased because we are right on the beach, all the rooms overlook the ocean, family friendly with games, activities, pool and pop corn. Great staff, budget friendly, comfortable rooms cleaned but not modern.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter452013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Best proximity to beach! Clean pool for kids! Near to town with trolley service! Liquor store nearby! Gorgeous grills! Quiet at night! Gracious staff! Comfy beds! Maid staff wonderful! 500 feet to the beach! Amazing free popcorn!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukecarolineava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Late July 2013, we returned to the Capri for a 4th straight year, for a 7 night stay. Once again, there's not much negative to say about the Capri. Location, view, convenience, it's all there. The improvements over the years (especially the new mattresses) help make our stay even better. Staff is friendly, the free popcorn makes kids and adults happy, the free Wifi is appreciated. We'll definitely return next year.

The only negative would be the washrooms. Although I understand that renovating washrooms is a major investment, it'll need to happen eventually. They are outdated, which would be OK if the overall condition was still perfect, but our room's bathtub tiles had several spots of grout missing and this will eventually turn into mold behind the walls. Having bee in other rooms in the previous years, I can confirm tht this applies to other rooms as well.

Room Tip: 2nd and 3rd floors offer a magnificent view of the beach and ocean. Very much worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Filliom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We booked the Capri for a last minute get-away. Stayed for 3 days. Very good location to beach, restaurants, etc. They allowed us to park and use their shower/changing room on checkin and checkout days so that we could enjoy the beach. Very clean and nice amenities to keep kids busy - shuffleboard, ping pong, pool. Benches outside of room and seating in the courtyard to enjoy the nice weather in the evenings. Pool is only open from 10am - 6pm. Wish the pool would stay open later into the evening - 9pm? The kids enjoyed the fresh popped popcorn for an afternoon snack. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This is our second time here in two years. Furnishings are simple ( don't come here expecting the Hyatt or Marriott), the rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, there is on site parking (mostly covered), and the motel is located directly across from the beach. The only real and consistent negative is the musty odor in the rooms. Last year -- we changed rooms twice--the smell was rather strong. That same strong musty odor was present this year as well, but we were able to mostly ignore it ( this was a last minute booking and vacancies elsewhere were hard to find). We think the smell is from the carpets. A combination of moist sea air and the left over smoke residue from people who cook on the stoves in the kitchenettes. Whatever the cause, this same smell can be found in multiple rooms here. It's too bad, because otherwise, this is a very pleasant spot for a family stay. We, kids included, had a nice time overall, but perhaps the motel owners should consider removing the carpets from one room as an experiment, and putting in easy to clean hard tile flooring to see if that makes a difference. This place ( which does appear to be kept very clean) would be ideal if the rooms smelled fresh. Simple cleaning and vacuuming is not enough to solve the problem. Would I come back here again? My wife would not, since she is very sensitive to strong aromas. For myself, I would consider it again if it was a last minute booking and rooms were available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Worldtraveler458x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The Capri Motor Lodge was convenient, clean, and comes highly recommended. It is located directly across the street from the beach. We were also able to walk to restaurants and shops if we did not feel like driving. I was happy to use the carts provided to transport our luggage to our well kept room using the elevator. Our room was an immaculate two-bed efficiency with a refrigerator and a dining area. We could see the crystal clear pool and the Atlantic Ocean from our room or from the park bench outside of our room. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. They kept the grounds and the entire place beautiful. We are looking forward to returning to this gem! Please read the other reviews as I did not want to repeat the other positive comments that were already communicated. Joe Della Ferra Belleville, NJ

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was very close to the stairway. It was convenient for my 92-year-young...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe07109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motor Lodge

Property: Capri Motor Lodge
Address: 1033 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape May
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capri Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are seaside accommodations located directly across the street from Cape Mays beautiful beaches. We offer a family friendly environment for the whole family to enjoy while vacationing. Enjoy the pool, BBQ on the grill, play ping pong and shuffleboard or just take in the wonderful view of the beach. We offer efficiencies, suites and townhouse in the historic town of Cape May, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Capri Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Motor Hotel Cape May
Capri Hotel Cape May
Capri Motel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing