We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Anniversary”
Review of Capri Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capri Motor Lodge
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“First Anniversary”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I selected this location in Cape May specifically because it wasnt one of the larger beach front hotels in Cape May and we did not want to do a bed and breakfast. While we have spent considerable amounts of time in Wildwood and Ocean City we had never stayed in Cape May. We were pleasantly surprised.

Having stayed in a variety of independently operated Jersey shore motels, this one was by far the nicest. The staff was amazingly friendly, and the popcorn machine in the lobby was a nice touch. We asked for third floor ocean view and stayed in the room next to the terrace which considering this is the off season was a lovely place to sit outside drink wine and watch the ocean.

The room itself was quite large considering its a motel. Lets face it they are a bit old, the bathroom looks like it belongs in a house but there is a sink and a mini stove and fridge which isnt always a staple in Jersey. The bed however is what stood out. I've never stayed in a motel with a mattress pad on the bed, it was a lovely surprise.The grounds were maintained and while it was too cold for the pool it was well kept and clean.

The location was a bit of a walk from the main restaurant and bar areas so given the temperature it would have been nicer to stay close to that area but given how busy it is its also a plus not to be so close.

All in all we had a lovely time in Cape May and would definitely stay here again for an inexpensive beach front view.

Room Tip: We liked our room, adjacent to the terrace on the third floor, however, when the hotel is full this...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sjlita4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    103
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
166
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just spent Mother's Day Weekend at the Capri Motor Lodge in beautiful Cape May, NJ. We have stayed at the Capri many many times over the past 15 years. We always get a deluxe suite. The deluxe suites are on the second and third floors only. They are on the side of the hotel, but you still have a very nice ocean view from a private balcony. They offer a full kitchen, table that seats 6 and a living room area with a sofabed and loveseat and a flatscreen TV. There is a seperate bedroom with two beds, another small TV, vanity with sink and large mirror and a bathroom with another sink and large mirror. the extra vanity and mirror area does come in handy. It has cabinets and drawers. they provide a hair dryer and an iron and small ironing board. The kitchen is stocked with dishes, pots, toaster, coffee maker and all utensils.

The room is clean and well maintained. We have only ever stayed in this type of room, so I can't comment on the other room types. The beds are very comfortable. This is a very nice family run motel. It's an older hotel, but well maintained. I would highly recommend it. It's not that far of a walk to the center of town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berri1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I wanted to relax after our sons wedding in Philly (we are from Mass) and decided we dvisit the Jersey Shore. We were looking for quiet but nice. This was in September 2012. We first stopped by the Congress but their computer was down and we had to come back. Well we are glad that happened. We ended up at the Capri ( the local chamber of office suggested it) we looked at a room since I had seen a bad review and was surprised it was perfect. We weren't t looking for fancy. We wanted to be able to sit on the beach (across the street) and sit back with toes in the sand and read a book. My husband swam each day. Yes, the water was warmer than our summer water up north. Anyways the room was what you expect from a summer type rental. By the way it had a kit hen although we didn t use it other than for making coffee. It would be perfect for a small family. Do not expect high end anything, remember you Re at the beach and it s geared for that. Think sandy feet coming in the room etc.
The room was very clean and the front desk woman very nice showing us what ever room we wanted to see. She also was nice to allow us to 'play it by ear' on if we would stay 1 or 3 days.
It was easy to walk to restaurants o eat.
It was obvious that they care about the cleanliness of the motel inside and out.
I would recommend this motel.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the ocean. Look at what is behind the rooms because it is set up where room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madelinerins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We visited the Capri with a family group. In the past, we had stayed at a hotel up the street but wanted to be closer to town. The first thing you notice about the Capri is how neat and clean everything is. The staff is constantly working to keep the property nice for their guests and it shows. Service was very attentive at the front desk when we were booking the rooms and while we visited the hotel. The rooms are a bit dated, but very clean. We also noticed it was quiet in the rooms at night, which made for a good night's sleep. The view is spectacular, there are great restaurants near by and shopping is a short walking distance. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience and we would definitely return to the Capri.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in October. Yhe only thing I can say is that the bed sheets were very clean. Room was musty smelling, mold in the bathroom and not very nice at all. The old saying is so true, you get what you pay for and I fully agree. We paid $95.00 dollars a night and I think that was toomuch for what we got. Front desk was not very nice when we checked in. I would say pay a few extra dollars and stay someplace better. Would never never stay here again!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Pay afew extra dollars for something else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corvette399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband, mother in law and I just stayed at the Capri for the long weekend. It was our first time there, having previously stayed at the Grand, and Stockton Inn. (Both of which we liked except the hard beds at the Stockton!) The Capri was very clean and had everything we needed for a short stay. The beds (full, not queen - but two of them) were comfortable and the linens were spotless. The front desk was accommodating when we called and said we would be arriving late due to traffic. We really didn't have any other interactions with them during our stay besides check in and check out and they were very pleasant. We knew that the office was closed after ten, so when the people above us came back at 1:30 and continued to party loudly we were't sure what our course of action was, so we just turned on the AC in an attempt to drown them out. Next time I would ask for the third floor. The only other minor annoyance was the light shining from the neighboring hotel into the kitchen window which was frosted but had no shade or blinds. We covered it with a towel ourselves instead of asking at the front desk. I have no reason to believe that they wouldn't have helped, but we figured it was easy enough to deal with. My mother in law's room faced the ocean and she didn't have that problem.
We don't have any small children, but I did notice the kids there enjoying the shuffleboard and ping pong.
Even with no vacancy, there were plenty of parking spots.
Overall, it was a good experience and we will likely return next year to stay.

Room Tip: I'd pick the rooms facing Beach Drive to avoid the Ocean Beach Club's spotlights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_and_Jerry_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trappe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our trip was at the end of September, last days of summer and first day of Autumn. We had a wonderful time. The Capri was perfect. Clean room, very nice pool, and as a bonus, cold beer right across the street. Everything was within walking distance, parked the car in private lot and just left it there. The hotel was so accomidating! Offered us towels to use poolside shower after checkout. That extended our stay! We went to the beach after check-out, enjoyed the sun. Then went back and showered and left for home. They were wonderful. We will definately stay there again. Only issue we had was no counter space in bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motor Lodge

Property: Capri Motor Lodge
Address: 1033 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape May
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capri Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are seaside accommodations located directly across the street from Cape Mays beautiful beaches. We offer a family friendly environment for the whole family to enjoy while vacationing. Enjoy the pool, BBQ on the grill, play ping pong and shuffleboard or just take in the wonderful view of the beach. We offer efficiencies, suites and townhouse in the historic town of Cape May, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Capri Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Motor Hotel Cape May
Capri Hotel Cape May
Capri Motel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing