We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and great visit”
Review of Capri Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Capri Motor Lodge
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great location and great visit”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We visited the Capri with a family group. In the past, we had stayed at a hotel up the street but wanted to be closer to town. The first thing you notice about the Capri is how neat and clean everything is. The staff is constantly working to keep the property nice for their guests and it shows. Service was very attentive at the front desk when we were booking the rooms and while we visited the hotel. The rooms are a bit dated, but very clean. We also noticed it was quiet in the rooms at night, which made for a good night's sleep. The view is spectacular, there are great restaurants near by and shopping is a short walking distance. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience and we would definitely return to the Capri.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    103
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
166
63
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in October. Yhe only thing I can say is that the bed sheets were very clean. Room was musty smelling, mold in the bathroom and not very nice at all. The old saying is so true, you get what you pay for and I fully agree. We paid $95.00 dollars a night and I think that was toomuch for what we got. Front desk was not very nice when we checked in. I would say pay a few extra dollars and stay someplace better. Would never never stay here again!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Pay afew extra dollars for something else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corvette399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My husband, mother in law and I just stayed at the Capri for the long weekend. It was our first time there, having previously stayed at the Grand, and Stockton Inn. (Both of which we liked except the hard beds at the Stockton!) The Capri was very clean and had everything we needed for a short stay. The beds (full, not queen - but two of them) were comfortable and the linens were spotless. The front desk was accommodating when we called and said we would be arriving late due to traffic. We really didn't have any other interactions with them during our stay besides check in and check out and they were very pleasant. We knew that the office was closed after ten, so when the people above us came back at 1:30 and continued to party loudly we were't sure what our course of action was, so we just turned on the AC in an attempt to drown them out. Next time I would ask for the third floor. The only other minor annoyance was the light shining from the neighboring hotel into the kitchen window which was frosted but had no shade or blinds. We covered it with a towel ourselves instead of asking at the front desk. I have no reason to believe that they wouldn't have helped, but we figured it was easy enough to deal with. My mother in law's room faced the ocean and she didn't have that problem.
We don't have any small children, but I did notice the kids there enjoying the shuffleboard and ping pong.
Even with no vacancy, there were plenty of parking spots.
Overall, it was a good experience and we will likely return next year to stay.

Room Tip: I'd pick the rooms facing Beach Drive to avoid the Ocean Beach Club's spotlights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue_and_Jerry_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trappe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our trip was at the end of September, last days of summer and first day of Autumn. We had a wonderful time. The Capri was perfect. Clean room, very nice pool, and as a bonus, cold beer right across the street. Everything was within walking distance, parked the car in private lot and just left it there. The hotel was so accomidating! Offered us towels to use poolside shower after checkout. That extended our stay! We went to the beach after check-out, enjoyed the sun. Then went back and showered and left for home. They were wonderful. We will definately stay there again. Only issue we had was no counter space in bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have been staying at the Capri for years when we participate in the Annual September Beach Front Run. We chose it initially for the location and price but we return annually because of the great service and continued improvements in the property.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe suite for 3 nights. Other reviewers were right about the cleanliness of this lodge. Very clean and neat (always is important). The location was good too. Just a little trek across the street to the beach. Washington Mall could be walked to but since we have young children we drove over. Onsite parking was convenient and also appreciated. We are a family of four and the suite had more than ample space for us. Also had a large private balcony outside. So nice to have a kitchen so we could save a few dollars by eating in sometimes. I agree with some other reviewers that the lodge could use a little updating. This is a minor flaw if you can even call it a flaw. This motel is clean, comfy and well cared for. What more do you need after a day of fun at the shore?

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahsMommy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We sprung for an ocean view room, and loved waking up to see the Atlantic in its many moods. The efficiency kitchen is a great feature, and meant we could enjoy some meals out but not have to have all of them.

Room Tip: Third floor ocean view is really worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madeline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,280 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motor Lodge

Property: Capri Motor Lodge
Address: 1033 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape May
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capri Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are seaside accommodations located directly across the street from Cape Mays beautiful beaches. We offer a family friendly environment for the whole family to enjoy while vacationing. Enjoy the pool, BBQ on the grill, play ping pong and shuffleboard or just take in the wonderful view of the beach. We offer efficiencies, suites and townhouse in the historic town of Cape May, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Capri Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Motor Hotel Cape May
Capri Hotel Cape May
Capri Motel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing