We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Damp and smelly room, otherwise fine”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Capri Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Capri Motor Lodge
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Damp and smelly room, otherwise fine”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed one night recently at the Capri Motor Lodge. There was plenty to recommend this place (location, clean etc) BUT our room was very DAMP and SMELLED quite badly. The carpet was damp under foot, so much that we kept our shoes on at all times. We asked at the office about the smell and they recommended we leave the air conditioner on. They also mentioned that they sometimes use an ionizer for an hour or so but that you can't be in the room while it is on. We were in a ground floor room. We asked guests on either side of us and they both also had damp rooms.

I'm surprised that when the rest of the place seems to be clean and well run that they don't do something about their carpets. The smell was STRONG and very unpleasant. We did leave the airconditioner on all night, but it made no difference. Even the bedding felt damp. There was also a toothpaste lid stuck down their bathroom sink covered in what looked like black mold. I would NOT recommend this place. The cost was $215 for the night and we arrived late unfortunately. Their pool wasn't open till 10.30am, but they allowed us to use the facilities after check out time at 11am, though we were told we would have to move our car by 12nn. I can understand that they would have that policy but their car park was pretty much empty, so it seemed a bit strict and it meant we basically had to go at that point. Otherwise we could see how much effort the staff put into maintenance, just a shame they don't spend a little money and fix their carpets. Do not stay in a downstairs room. TERRIBLE.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    101
    21
    8
    5
See reviews for
166
61
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We had a great time at the Capri Motor Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! The hotel's staff is friendly, the rooms are very clean and the bathrooms were recently renovated. We loved being so close to the beach and the fresh popcorn was the icing on the cake! My only recommendation is that the small shower that guests have access to on the same day before or after checking in or out be updated and a mirror added. Otherwise, wonderful choice for a family!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

This is a very clean and well run property. Seems to attract a nice group of visitors.

Seems like a vert family friendly place.

Pool a little on the small side and only 4 feet deep.

Excellent location.

Room Tip: Would opt for second or third floor for an ocean view. But there is a small sundeck as well for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobk1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiells, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Three friends and I (all in our mid 20s) stayed here for 3 nights. We were happy with the excellent location across from the beach, and we walked (or took the trolley) to lots of food and activity options nearby. The Capri Motor Lodge is obviously very well-maintained and cared for by its owners and staff. We noticed that they do a very thorough job cleaning the rooms and the grounds, right down to the window sills and pool steps. Even the landscaping and planter boxes on the railings (which make the place look very homey and much more upscale than the reasonable prices would suggest) were meticulously groomed. Very friendly staff too, and the little extras like games to play and popcorn in the office were much appreciated. We had a great time in an efficiency room with 4 adults, and it seemed like the families staying here were all taking full advantage of the facilities too. If we go back to Cape May, we'll stay here again!

Room Tip: Probably worth the slightly higher price for the 2nd or 3rd floor ocean view so noise from the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicipags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were very pleased with our stay at the Capri Motor Lodge. The Hotel was very clean and well kept just like home. We had a nice room with a little kitchen area that was perfect for us. The staff was so very nice & helpful from the get go they make you feel like a welcomed family member & they even called us to let us know our room was ready & they helped us with any questions we had. We usually are at the other end of town but this was a very nice change. We were able to do all of the things we usally do when we visit we bike riding, shopping and visiting the vineyards for wine tasting relaxing. The pool was always clean & they had ping pong, shuffleboard, a couple of other games & fresh popcorn for anyone who wanted it. We only stayed a couple of nights but it was wonderful. This is indeed a family type hotel and there were mostly families with children and the kids all were having fun & very respectful for the others guests. You were able to sit at a table and enjoy yourself. Some familes BBQ'd it was very nice. We walked across the street and ate at Henry's which is part of the Montreal and the food was very good. A trolly service is provided to take you to the Mall & other stops which is also a nice idea. Really can't say enough good things about this hotel. We will definitely like to go back another time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Decksnoozer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had the kitchenette on the ground floor. Room was small but fit our needs. We spent most of our time walking, biking and swimming. At first I thought I would be disappointed without an ocean view. It turned out great! No shlepping our beach gear up and down. Beach entrance was right across the street so we used our room bathroom when swimming. Coffee on the beach every morning. Staff were very pleasant and friendly. We arrived late, at 11:00pm, a one second call and we were in! Room was always cleaned on our schedule. (We slept in late.) The BBQ grill was an added bonus. The trolley stops right in front for easy transportation to downtown. We did not have any children with us so the abundance of little ones around was a little much. The good thing was, there were a lot of activities for them to do. I will be bringing my grandchildren here. Pool was a little crowded. Otherwise a wonderful experience. I would recommend this to my friends. Left very relaxed! I couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lori539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our family makes a trip to Cape May every summer and due to a problem at the hotel where we usually stay we found ourselves looking for a last minute reservation. The Capri was able to accommodate us and we were happy with our experience there Although it was nothing truly spectacular we don't do much but sleep at our hotel when we're in Cape May so it met our needs perfectly. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff friendly and accommodating and the location was perfect, all around it was a good value for us.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Checchifamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.0 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#18 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capri Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Motor Lodge

Property: Capri Motor Lodge
Address: 1033 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-1613
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Cape May
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Capri Motor Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are seaside accommodations located directly across the street from Cape Mays beautiful beaches. We offer a family friendly environment for the whole family to enjoy while vacationing. Enjoy the pool, BBQ on the grill, play ping pong and shuffleboard or just take in the wonderful view of the beach. We offer efficiencies, suites and townhouse in the historic town of Cape May, NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Capri Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Motor Hotel Cape May
Capri Hotel Cape May
Capri Motel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing