We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Needed Break...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #13 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Needed Break...”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

What a wonderful bed and breakfast in beautiful Cape May, NJ. Close to the beach. Wonderful, wonderful staff. Delicious food. Nicely appointed Victorian style room. Great bar. Shows if you wish entertainment. Evening music. As an author and psychologist, I just needed a break and Elaine's Bed & Breakfast was the perfect get-a-way. By the way, excellent value as well. I have stayed at a number of other very nice B & B's in Cape May, and this was just as bit as good.

RJW

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    41
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
41
115
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The service at Elaine's strikes the perfect balance between attentiveness and privacy. Whenever we needed something or merely had a question, the staff was prompt and helpful. They really know what they're doing here. Everything runs as smooth as silk. We especially liked how they provide beach towels and chairs for the guests.

The house has 10 rooms, and many little nooks and dining areas. The outdoor porch upstairs was the perfect place to wind down with a drink and a book after a day at the beach. The first floor porch is adjacent to the full bar and inside dining area. The house is deceptively big, and from what we could see, both the bar and the restaurant are popular with the locals. Breakfast outside on the porch was very good. In the evenings they have music outside in the spacious courtyard. There was just enough action to be lively and inviting, but it never felt crowded or raucous.

The location is excellent. Right in the center of everything. Two blocks from the bus depot, the excellent liquor store Collier's, and a bicycle rental shop. Near all of the restaurants and shopping. About five blocks walk to the beach. Lafayette Street is somewhat busy with vehicular traffic, but it was quiet at night.

The room was perfect. Extremely comfortable bed, beautiful decor and bathroom. A mini fridge would have been nice, but it might take away from the antique look of the room. They do provide an ice bucket upon request.

We did not eat in the restaurant, although we did enjoy the included breakfast every day.

We've stayed in our share of B&Bs in various resort towns, and Elaine's is first rate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgiuffre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandon, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Elaine's. Excellent location and definitely very comfortable and extremely clean room. Loved the decor & the bedding. Patrick was so accomodating.and his bananas foster french toast was delicious! All the breakfasts were great, Loved it and will stay again when in Cape May!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigantine, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, the staff made us feel like family. The "mermaid room" was impressive in how cozy and comfortable it was in comparison to its size. A must stay if you are in the area and a must frequent place in Cape May!

Room Tip: There is no bad room in this old victorian!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mortonc08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Staying there we felt as if we were staying with family or friends for a few days. There was a feeling of warmth and hospitality from everyone there. We stayed in room "Three" then in room "Eight" and they were both gorgeous and so Victorian! The breakfast were delicious and the view while you ate,so relaxing. We are going again second week of August and it'll be the highpoint of our summer.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berlucille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Overall the rooms were nice and staff friendly, our only complaint was breakfast service. Our second day it took over and hour to get our breakfast and then my husbands was wrong, but we didn't want to spend our whole day at breakfast. Staff could use a little better training. Bar staff was nice. When we come back to Cape May we may stay again

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m_schmidt42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Elaine’s Bed and Breakfast Inn. The staff was friendly, the play was excellent, the breakfasts were good, and the location is convenient. We plan on a return visit.
Joyce and Ross Stathem,

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#17 of 37 in Cape May
678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#4 of 37 in Cape May
1,153 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,184 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
349 reviews
1.0 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 513 Lafayette St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing