We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent Bed & Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #14 of 45 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suffern, New York
1 review
“Excellent Bed & Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was one of the nicest B&B I have stayed at...they were so nice and gracious and the free breakfast that's included with your stay was absolutely scrumptuous. I had the fluffy pancakes the first morning and the second morning I had the Banana forsters French toast. The room was we stayed in was decorated so nicely and the beds were so comfortable...I could have stayed there forever. We stayed here in October so they had all their halloween decor done through out the house. I definitley would recommend this place to anyone that wants to stay at a wonderful B&B.

Julie

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren E, Public Relations Manager at Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Julie,
We really appreciate that you took the time to share about your experience at Elaine's. We are glad that we were able to accommodate your needs and we hope that you will come again soon!
Sincerely,
Elaine's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    34
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
37
94
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
133 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Elaine's is a little more than a typical B & B, given that you could order your included breakfast from a menu, with a pretty wide selection, not to mention quite scrumptious! We stayed in Room 2, the smallest one, because we wanted the first floor. It certainly was reasonably priced and very close to all the restaurants, shops, beach and antique stores. The bathroom is very small & houses the tiny closet, tub, shower, etc. The room is beautifully furnished, well decorated and clean! The clerk brought me a foot stool when I said I thought the bed may be a little too high for me. Breakfast service, check in and all clerks were quite accommodating. Small as the room was, it was fine for our one night stay.

Room Tip: Look on their website for the prices and descriptions to suit your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saba888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren E, Public Relations Manager at Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are so glad to hear of your great stay at Elaine's. We take great pride in our made-to-order, full menu, complimentary breakfast that we offer to our guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed it! Please come again soon!
Sincerely,
Elaine's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The rooms are styled well with attention to detail, great antique furnishings. At the core of the house is the haunted restaurant, it has a definite flourish toward the tourist with the haunted house themes (ghosts, skeletons, etc). Each room has an included and reserved parking spot, which is great for a beach town. The food is great, breakfast was served on the wrap around porch. It has a small staff allowing for personalized service (ie, they learned your names). Convenient to tourist area down town, the beach and great restaurants. They lend bench chairs to guests.

Room Tip: Some of these rooms are reported to be haunted, we stayed in room 6, but didn't get to experienc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren E, Public Relations Manager at Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dan and Jill,
Elaine's is thankful for your input. We are glad that you appreciated our attention to detail. We take pride in getting to know our customers...and for good reason...we meet so many amazing guests! Our annual Halloween Party is coming up October 27th and we have some fun Weekend Packages coming up. Hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Elaine's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Not having been there before, and with so many B&B's to choose from (Cape May has to be the B&B capital of the US with 50+), we picked a real winner. Located in the center of town, it's an easy walk to shops, restaurants, attractions and the beach. The Inn has 10 guest rooms, a small dinner theater, ghost walks (this historic town has a history of paranormal/ghostly activity) and off-street parking for guests (a big plus in Cape May). We stayed in Room 4 which is on the second floor in the front of the inn. It was large, well appointed and it had a private glassed in sitting porch PLUS a large open air porch. The breakfast was to die for (and the ghosts agree). Don't miss the Eggs benedict (plain or with lump crab ) or the shrimp & lobster frittata. Amanda and Jake at the dest were wonderful and Josh, who served us breakfast each day was great. Our room was clean and the animals on the bed, made from towels, made you feel like you were on a cruise ship...nice touch! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Room #4 is awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWallWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren E, Public Relations Manager at Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are very glad to hear about your great stay at Elaine's! It is guests like you that make Elaine's such a spectacular place! We hope to see you again soon! We have our Halloween Bash coming up on the 27th and other fun weekend packages in November. Thank you!
Sincerely,
Elaine's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Elaines was perfect from check in to check out. The staff is friendly and informative, we felt like we were with good friends. Also if your travelling with children they are welcome (if well behaved) unlike many B & B in the area. Our room was comfortable and clean, but Emily the resident ghost did not have a sleep over with us in room 8! My son and Husband did hear her laugh very loudly in the hallway late one night, and we found out other renters did as well. The staff loves to share their stories of Emily and her cat with you if your interested. Breakfast everyday was Fabulous! lots to choice from and all delicious. The Inn is withing walking distance to all stores and eateries and dont miss their Ghost Tour of the town. All in all it was fun and relaxing and my ten year old enjoyed it as well.

Room Tip: If you want a chance of experiencing Emily her room as a child was 4 room and her playroom was room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank babypeterblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren E, Public Relations Manager at Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We love that you had such a wonderful stay at Elaine's. It is always interesting to hear about guests' experiences with little Emily! Thank you for sharing and we hope to see you again soon! Our Halloween Vampire Bash is October 27.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Elaines many times. There isn't anything about it that we don't like. The staff is wonderful, they always cater to out every need, the food is delicious and Anita makes the best drinks! We've seen at least 3 of the dinner shows and have never been disappointed. We feel so much at home there that it is the only place we want to stay at when we are in Cape May. The owners and staff make us feel like family and being there is like being at home.

We recommend Elaines to anyone looking for a place to go to again and again

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lildebbie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren E, Public Relations Manager at Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
You are part of the Elaine's family! We love having you and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Elaine's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McAdoo, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We rented two rooms for three nights. Both were exceptionally clean, daily service was great, they placed animals made out of towels on the beds after making them. All of the staff was very informative and personable. We received a round of drinks at the bar for both rooms and 2 dinner theater tickets. The dinner theater and food was great. Breakfast was awesome, best coffee I ever had AND best waiter I ever had..JOSH! Location was perfect, walk to everything. The one night we sat on the 2nd floor balcony, ordered pizza, sipped wine and listened to an orchestra that was performing in the park across the street. Very relaxing atmosphere! This was our first time at a B&B, Elaine's made it a wonderful experience, would certainly go back here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren E, Public Relations Manager at Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Pat,
We are so happy to hear of your wonderful stay. Please come back again soon! Our Annual Halloween Bash is coming up, October 27th. We hope to see you there!

Thank you,
Elaine's
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#11 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 598 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#16 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#11 of 45 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 513 Lafayette St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing