We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“...not what I expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #17 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed in room #10, which carries one of the more expensive rates - $185/night. The room description and photo at Elaines web page is very misleading. The room is tiny, maybe 10' X 10' but the space included a closet that extends into the room and too many pieces of furniture but no chairs - sit on the bed. The drawers in the dresser are next to impossible to open. There were no satin sheets as the web page suggests and the room has a musty odor. The bathroom is very small and has a vent fan that does not vent. The staff is friendly enough but the staff did not offer anything voluntarily. The staff will say "good morning" easy enough but that's the end of the morning greeting - no one asked if I would like some coffee, I had to ask if I could get some coffee. Previous stays at a bed and breakfast have been very much like staying with family or friends, things are offered to you but at Elaines that is not policy. The web page says guest will receive a free round at the bar well nothing free was offered when I went to the bar. On a good note the breakfast is very nice and the other guess were very friendly. The location is very close to the mall, resturants and the walk to the beach is pleasant. The porch is nice but the chairs are not very comfortable. I would not give a recommendation to stay at Elaines and most likely will not go back. Next visit to Cape May we will try another B & B.

Room Tip: Don't select room #10!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank lmchmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren E, Public Relations Manager at Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

We are disappointed to hear that you have had a negative experience with us. We aim to please each and every customer. We would love to speak with your further about your stay. If you would please provide contact information, our manager will give you a call.

Sincerely,
Elaine's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 228 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2012

Let me start out by saying the location, though not on the water, is by far the best! Steps from the outdoor mall, shops, and restaurants. So far my wife and I have visted this gem three times. Each time the rooms are fantastic and very well maintained. On our last visit we went in March and were totally overwhelmed with how welcoming and hospitable the staff were. It happened that on our first night we were the only couple there. While driving around sightseeing, we got a call from a strange phone number. It was the owner asking us what we would like for breakfast. Can you get any more personal attention? The food at Elaine's is fantastic. On this trip we also took in the dinner theatre. Top notch! Elaine's is the only place we will stay in Cape May! Thank you to the entire staff for our wonderful trips and many more to come!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed at Elaine's for a 4 day weekend and loved it! Patrick, and the rest of the staff were super helpful and friendly! We are picky eaters, and have difficultly with bed and breakfasts because everything is so fancy, and Patrick had no problem altering our meals to be a little more to what we prefer! All of the staff was eager to help make recommendations about places to visit and eat. Our room was clean and comfortable. People in other reviews complained about not having anywhere to sit, but I think this is typical of most bed and breakfasts and there was a beautiful sunroom on our floor where you could sit if you wanted. It had enough seating for at least 4-6 people. Not to mention the lovely 2nd floor porch full of rocking chairs to sit in. We had a little difficulty regualting the air conditioner, but it wasn't anything major. Elaine's is located within walking distance to just about everything. We parked the car for the entire 4 day weekend. And where were were leaving, Patrick mentioned to us that we could leave our car and belongings at the hotel so we can still enjoy Cape May. Staying here was like staying with long lost relatives! Elaine's was a great experience and we will defintely be back!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in room six . It is located on the side of the building, but right next to the sun room. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Three generations of women spent Mother's Day weekend at Elaine's. All of us enjoyed so many things about Elaine's. Jade was great at making us feel welcome. Kate made sure that we had all of our needs taken care of, and Patrick was fun to talk to (nice to look at too). The room was fabulous. I slept like a baby. I would stay again. The food was great! My Mom had a great time and that was what I was hoping for as a Mother's Day Get-away.

Room Tip: Room 7 was at the end of the hallway. Nice, no traffic..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neblake217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My daughter and granddaughter treated me to a week-end at Elaine's for Mother's Day. Everyone at Elaine's is so friendly and they all make you feel welcome and special. We stayed in Room Seven that has two beautiful big beds, a nice clean bathroom with a tub, and beautiful Victorian decor. This is the third time that I have seen the plays. The actors are really having a great time, and they crack each other up, as well as the audience. The food is excellent. Patrick is a doll; he can cook, paint, sew and entertain you with lots of funny stories! Elaine's is conveniently located and has free parking right behind the B&B. Our stay couldn't have been nicer.

Room Tip: Room Seven has two big beds, so for me, my daughter and granddaughter it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This past weekend, we surprised our Mothers with a memorable trip to Elaine's Victorian Inn.

The fabulous weekend started even before we arrived. Shirley graciously assisted us by offering three comfy rooms with beautiful antique touches, a warm and inviting sunroom, and our own private veranda. Jade's friendly and accommodating demeanor and Anita's effervescent personality made us feel like family. Kris, our multi-talented waiter, served our scrumptious dinners and also provided many laughs as one of the performers of "Some Like a Shot", an entertaining, interactive comedy. We ended our weekend with Patrick sharing his special Bananas Foster French Toast for breakfast. The free, onsite parking and central location made it easily accessible by foot to many area attractions. For a fun, relaxing and memorable weekend any season, check out Elaine's. We can't wait to book our next stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njtiger64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Elaine's was a pleasant experience from booking the room up to our departure. The staff was very warm, kind and inviting. The room itself was enchanting(5 the mermaid room), we didn't want to leave. The food during the theatre was excellent and the complimentary full breakfast was exquisite, couldn't of been more satisfied and will definately be returning for Halloween!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeHazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
718 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Southern Mansion
The Southern Mansion
#16 of 37 in Cape May
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,243 reviews
0.8 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
230 reviews
1 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 513 Lafayette St, Cape May, NJ 08204-1511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $135 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing