We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“price”

Salt Marsh Safari-The Skimmer
Ranked #1 of 27 Tours in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Erie, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“price”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

anyone know the price on this? going in june w 2 kids. we are just trying to price out our trip and plan everything. thank you

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Brandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G P, Owner at Salt Marsh Safari-The Skimmer, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your inquiry. We run different types of trips so it is difficult to post prices. What I would suggest is you pick the type of cruise you are interested in (which you can review on our website) and then contact us via email there. Thanks again, Capt. Ginny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    364
    31
    2
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Day!”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I took a Skimmer cruise in May of 2012. We had an even better time than we had hoped for … the guides were friendly, entertaining and, best of all for us, good birders! It was a beautiful day and they pointed out several new bird species for us. Even if you are not a birder, I would highly recommend a trip … a delightfully relaxing way to spend an afternoon! They are on the top of our list for our next trip to Cape May!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SueScaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I and my sister were looking for something to do when we found the Skimmer. While neither of us are bird watcher's (which is what the Skimmer is primarily geared for) the ride and experience were wonderful. We went on the first morning ride during low tide. We learned all about the bird life (egrets, ospreys, etc.) and the sea life in the marshes. The last trip of the day was a late day tour which happened to be high tide. It was also an invitation to bring along a bottle of wine and have a few drinks while enjoying a late cruise of the marshes. Entertaining, educational and relaxing. Friendly and knowledgable guides. A wonderful way to begin and end a day.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank rockhound64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for those who want to see life on the water on a calm boat!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent a great two hours on the Skimmer last Saturday morning. The air was crisp, the sunshine was beautiful, and we totally enjoyed our tour of the waters. Captains Ed and Jenny are both extremely knowledgeable and constantly keep their eyes trained for birds and other points of interest for us to see. The two hour cruise may be too lengthy for very young children (5 or younger), but older children will enjoy the time Captain Ed spends showing some of the water creatures (starfish, etc.) that he has on the boat, a hands on experience. Binoculars are made available to those who want them. We saw brant, terrapin, many cormorant, herons, egrets, and two bald eagles, along with assorted smaller shorebirds. A terrific experience! Food and drinks are available at the dock, but not on the boat itself. A small bathroom is available on the boat.
P.S. Captain Ed has raised some of the "pier pigeons" since their birth and feeds them regularly. They will fly into your hands if he gives you some food for them. He admits that they are fickle and only loves him for the food ... so sad!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Glad we went”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We had a pleasant morning on the Skimmer in early September. The guides are very informative and we saw lots of birds and turtles.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pinback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salt Marsh Safari-The Skimmer also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Salt Marsh Safari-The Skimmer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing