We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better managed properties in Cape May”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Ranked #13 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“One of the better managed properties in Cape May”
Reviewed July 27, 2010

My wife and I have stayed numerous times at this property. It is expensive, but so are many of the other properties. The Sandpiper are actually privately owned Condos, that are managed by the folks from Congress Hall. They were renovated in 2006. Given the choice for example the Sandpiper is far better than say the Beach Shack, which is owned and also managed by Congress Hall.

There are basically one and two bedroom units, of various size and layout. Almost all rooms have views with a balcony, and a kitchen area. Some larger than others. The rooms are immaculate and the bedding is very good. There are flat panel TV's and many also have a small TV in the Bedroom. The cable has a decent number of stations and there is a DVD player.

I have some very minor gripes, but nothing that would keep me from coming back. For example I hate smooth top stoves, but others may like them and they are easy to clean. Besides you will probably eat out at one of the many BYOB's. Also they need to upgrade the bi-fold doors on the closets with better quality stuff, they are a bit low rent. Again minor nits.

As for amenities. There is a shallow pool, fitness room, lounge and game room, sauna, and elevators. Each unit has it's own assigned parking spot. Also you have access to the beach chairs and umbrellas from Congress Hall at no additional charge.

All in all it is a great property with an upscale feel and excellent management.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MuttonHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    71
    15
    6
    5
See reviews for
128
62
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We spent six days/five nights at the Sandpiper in mid-June and were completely thrilled with our stay. The online booking allowed us to see a rate special and adjust our arrival dates to take advantage with a Friday-Wednesday stay (ideal for our schedules). The rooms are very clean and open with great views of the beach. We took the advice of other reviews on here and booked a third floor room. We had no issues with noise either from the hallway or from neighboring rooms. Also, while you hear the A/C kick-on it's not booming. The cathedral ceilings, open floor plan and well stocked kitchen made this a great home base for our beach vacation. We were able to stock up at the local Acme Market (Frank will tell you where to go, he's great!) and were also pleased with how affordable everything in Cape May is from coffee to dinner. The beach service from Congress Hall (included in your room rental) was fantastic. It was brilliant to walk across the street to the beach and have a friendly staff member place beach chairs, umbrella, towels and table wherever you like along the shoreline. Then food/drink service on the beach is very reasonable with sandwiches as low as $5 and it arrives quickly. The gym has all new equipment, including free weights, yoga at Congress Hall is easy to get to, and the ability to walk everywhere is fantastic. The twice daily maid service was very helpful with the sand we tracked in from the beach. We found the front desk helpful and the "long dark hallway" others have mentioned to be no big deal. It's a hallway to the elevator, it's easy and quick to use. Also the in suite washer/dryer made keeping our beach gear clean a snap. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Femfacti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Just got back from Cape May last week. The Sandpiper is a great place to stay. Location was excellent (right across the street from the beach). The condo units were very clean, modern, and comfortable. Loved the beach view. The pool is small and has a limited amount of chairs. However, you can always use the facilities at the beach provided by Congress Hall at ZERO cost. Would definitely go back.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rg2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed in a two-bedroom, two-bath suite with my extended family (which included a teenager and grandmother) and was very pleased with the suite and the location of the Sandpiper Beach. It was close enough to the heart of Cape May and across the street from the beach. The kitchen was well-equipped with pots, pans, utensils and plates, and the bathrooms were well stocked with towels and toiletries. The condo was modern and decorated nicely. There was a private porch or balcony with each unit which was a nice feature. The pool was not large but the water was warm,

Would recommend staying at this condo with an extended family..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethlehem
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2010

Great place to stay, very clean with great views. The staff was was very nice. The rooms were very updated with flat screen tv's and large kitchen. Beds were really comfie. My 2 year old loved running around on the large balcony.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chs0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakewood,ohio
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2010

First time stay at this condo complex. Check-in staff member, who was very friendly, gave wrong directions to condo which caused inconvenience while transporting luggage. ( The condo was located on the top floor and very close to the beach and shopping). This initial misstep left doubt in my mind about how the rest of the stay was going to go. Keep in mind that the elevators are located on the second level so luggage is transported up a ramp or stairs to get to the elevator. The unit was clean and quiet. The maid checked twice daily: Once to do general housekeeping duties and later in the day to gather towels that were used at the beach or pool. On the minus side, the bed was not comfortable- could feel the springs through the mattress- the mattress squeaked whenever one sat on it and the head board was loose. To compensate for this I placed a towel between the headboard and wall and the fluffy comforter under the mattress pad. I am a long time traveler and have learned to make quick fixes, then continue with my vacation fun. I paid $299.00 per night -off season rate- for 2 small bedrooms, small living/kitchen area, 2 small decks, so-so ocean view, an adequate sized kitchen, a nice sized one sink bath, 2 televisions, internet, iron/board, hairdryer, plush wash cloths/towels, pools, and one parking space. The kitchen, attached to the living room, had granite ( or marble?) counters, 4 bar stools, stainless appliances and was adequate for cooking (didn't). Another plus was the stacked washer and dryer unit in a closet with the furnace/AC. Since this complex is associated with Congress Hall, beach/lounge chairs with towels are set up for you on the beautiful beach. Apparently they offer food and drink services on the beach too, but we didn't use.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 620 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

Personally, I am in love with Congress Hall and usually stay there while in Cape May. Whenever Congress Hall is sold out, I am glad to stay next door at the Sandpiper. The rooms have every modern luxury and are oh so spacious. Kitchens, big bedrooms, nice balconies and really cozy living rooms. If you have a big family and want a beachfront room, this is the place to be. When you are at the Sandpiper, you have access to all of Congress Hall's facilities also, including access to the beach club for chairs, umbrellas and food service while you sun. The Sandpiper is as beachfront as it gets in Cape May and has limited, but charming on site facilities such as boardgames, some books and an old fashioned game room.

Overall, if you don't want to pay the price tag for Congress Hall or you need a larger room, I highly suggest the Sandpiper.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynPringTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#12 of 37 in Cape May
1,314 reviews
1.0 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
192 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Club Hotel
Ocean Club Hotel
#15 of 37 in Cape May
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Beach Resort

Property: Sandpiper Beach Resort
Address: 11 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandpiper Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for unmatched quality, location and outstanding amenities in your vacation rental, the Sandpiper Beach Club, Cape May NJ, is the perfect fit. Offering 51 units on a beachfront block in Cape May, New Jersey, the Sandpiper is available for daily, weekend, or weekly rentals year round. Located in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May, across the street from the area's best beaches, the Sandpiper boasts a walk-to-everything convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sandpiper Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beach Hotel Cape May
Sandpiper Beach Cape May
Sandpiper Cape May Nj
Sandpiper Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing