We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach front property in heart of Cape May” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandpiper Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sandpiper Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandpiper Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beach front property in heart of Cape May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

A wonderful vacation destination perfectly located near beach, restaurants, and shopping. Have beach towel, chair, and umbrella service with "room service' for food/beverages. Also have cabanas for daily rental. On site pool also.Units are private condos rented out. Our unit was on street which is a bit noisy, but view is perfect. Also manage Congress Hall next door and have daily breakfast credit there. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Corner units are roomy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    55
    12
    6
    4
See reviews for
105
48
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pompton Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is the second time we've stayed at Sandpiper and it hasn't disappointed. Great location. Just across from the beach and 5 minute walk to shops/restaurants. Clean rooms and great staff. I used the gym and enjoyed the pool! We bring food and cook breakfast and lunches when we can. Convenient to have laundry in the room and service on the beach (chairs, towels and umbrella). We're going to keep coming back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed at the Sandpiper June 2013 for 4 nights in a 1 bedroom suite (family of 4). 2 kids slept on the pull out couch. Plusses: very clean rooms, large 1 bedroom suite, full kitchen, Aveda products in bathroom, modern, comfortable beds, balcony with rocking chairs, washer and dryer in unit, parking, flat screen TV, full use of Congress Hall Pool and their amenities. Minuses: bathroom counter is small (but you can keep stuff in the kitchen), Housekeeping had language barrier (forgot to clean in afternoon one day), Carpets in elevator can use updating, front desk can stay open later, update the game room and maybe add activities. If you want a condo to stay as a family with full use of Congress Hall, this is your place.

Room Tip: This is a condo with pretty much HK and a front desk that closes at 10pm. You get all the amenities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEM2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed here after reading the good reviews on Trip Advisor. Ignore the bad reviews, they aren't true! We are **VERY picky** about where we'll stay and the Sandpiper did not disappoint! The resort is extremely clean. The rooms are more like modern apartment rather than hotel rooms. If you hate the feel/look of those "typical" hotel rooms, you'll love these rooms! The bed and bedding are VERY comfortable! The kitchens have everything you'll need and there's even a washer and dryer (that's unheard of!)! Yes, the bathroom counter space is small, but the big beautiful kitchen is worth the trade-off. Other reviews mentioned the noise of the air conditioner disturbing them, but it's an air conditioner! What do you expect? At the Sandpiper, you don't even need to pack towels!!! They have them waiting for you at the pool AND at the beach!

Michael P. at the Front Desk was just great! He was friendly and made sure we were happy with our room. (We didn't really like the location of the room we were assigned, so he made arrangements for housekeeping to move our luggage while we hit the beach! THAT is great customer service! Thanks, Michael P.!) If you want to be pampered a little, rent a cabana on the beach. It's fabulous --- towels, drinks, food. What a treat! For breakfast, lunch, or dinner, be sure to visit the Blue Pig. It's worth every penny!

The rates are not inexpensive, but you get WHAT YOU PAY FOR! We especially liked that we could use the pool after checking-out. There's even a beautiful "bathroom" near the pool for changing and showering. We had a great stay and we'll definitely be back! See you in August, Michael!

Room Tip: Third floor views are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We love staying at the cape and especially the sandpiper!!!! we have stayed two years in a row and are already planning to come back in the fall. Its a great vaca for our family.
Rooms are clean and beautiful and the staff is nothing short of fantastic!

Room Tip: we have two children and love the 2 bedroom and 1 bath works out sooooo well and of course splurge f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rebs b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, MD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

During May 17-19, 2013, my husband and I stayed for the first time at The Sandpiper Beach Resort in Cape May, New Jersey. Unless some changes are made, it is uncertain as to whether will return to this hotel in the future. We are no strangers to Historic Cape May having spent many long weekends and holidays in this Victorian town over the past two decades.

We decided it was time to find a new hotel, so after reviewing Trip Advisor’s top 20 Cape May hotels, we decided on The Sandpiper Beach Resort. In hindsight, I should have given more credence to some of the negative Trip Advisor reviews about Sandpiper. They were spot-on. Due to the disconnect between management and guests, it appears that little if anything has been done to address the concerns expressed by Trip Advisor reviewers regarding their stay at The Sandpiper Beach Resort.

One glaring issue is that Sandpiper management does not respond to Trip Advisor reviews. Hotel General Managers and Public Relations Managers as a general rule provide responses to most all Trip Advisor reviews good or bad. As you can see by Trip Advisor reviews of The Sandpiper Beach Resort not once has a management representative provided a reply. One has to wonder if management even reads Sandpiper reviews? If that were the case, many of the issues raised by guests via Trip Advisor would have been corrected or explained. Noteworthy is that when I checked out of Sandpiper, the Front Desk Clerk didn’t even bother to ask if we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. It wasn’t that he was busy, as at that time I was the only guest at the Front Desk.

Considering this was our first stay at Sandpiper, you would think the management and staff would strive to make the guest’s stay as enjoyable as possible. Not the case at Sandpiper. Instead, we were assigned a hotel room directly across from the elevator. What’s worse is that the bedroom is right across from the elevator. When you step off the elevator you walk a couple feet to the front door of our hotel room. When you step inside the front door, you’re in the bedroom. So instead of sleep, we laid awake listening to guests at all hours coming and going on the elevator.

Since the bedroom window also overlooks the elevator, this just enhanced the noise. To make matters worse, guests would engage in loud conversations while waiting for the elevator and when they got off the elevator. It was quite a social staging area. You could also hear the clanging of Bell carts, the elevator door opening and closing, along with people dragging their carry-on’s and banging luggage along the walls. When guests were done with their Bell carts, they would drag and park them right outside our bedroom window. This is not an overstatement.

Since I was unfamiliar with Sandpiper, I did not know the layout of the rooms. It didn’t occur to me that we would be placed in a room directly across from an elevator. When I checked out of the hotel, I mentioned about being placed directly across from the elevator to the man at the Front Desk. I told him about the disturbance of our sleep due to the noise. He gave me this guilty look and said nothing except mumbling something about noting in our profile that we want a room away from the elevator.

Earlier in this review I mentioned that Sandpiper management does not respond to Trip Advisor reviews. Case in point. Following are some problems we encountered during our first stay at this hotel. Many of these issues were raised in numerous Trip Advisor reviews about The Sandpiper Beach Resort:

Complaints:
--No window curtains or window treatment in living room and bedroom (only venation blinds).
--Bright lights from hallway shining into bedroom window illuminating the entire room. Sunlight also illuminates bedroom when trying to sleep).
--Bathroom door won’t stay open (keeps hitting you in the back when standing at sink combing hair, brushing teeth or shaving). Management should install a magnet on the wall that will attached to the metal door knob.
--Note: Only one mirror in entire hotel room which is in the bathroom.
--Lack of dresser drawers in bedroom (only one small dresser with three medium-size drawers and two smaller size).
--Two cheap night stands in bedroom with no drawers.
--Very small bedroom in which the bed takes up most of the space.
--No fitted/contour sheet (only flat sheets which come out from under the mattress when getting into bed).
--Lack of counter space in bathroom. Only sink ledge and top of toilet tank for placing toiletries. (Management should install a shelf on bathroom wall for placement of toiletries, tooth brushes, toothpaste, shavers, shaving cream, combs, hair brushes) etc.
--Small living room (furniture takes up most of the space).
--Only two bar stools for eating at kitchen counter (no dining area).
--The hotel grounds are infested with Sand Fleas (annoying flea like parasites that can bite painfully and deeply).
--Numerous Martin bird houses erected around the hotel guest parking lot. (Martins eat flying insects such as Mosquitoes).
--Bird droppings (poop) encrusted the hotel parking lot and all vehicles were covered in unhealthy bird poop.
--Stairwell areas and drains full of leaves and debris resulting in nesting/breeding grounds for insects such as mosquitoes.
--Outdoor pool is unheated
--Small makeshift kiddie pool built inside the outdoor pool. The kiddie pool and swimming pool share the same water.
--No outdoor Jacuzzi/hot tub.
--No indoor pool/Jacuzzi.
--Upon check-in at the hotel, you have to sign a form in two different places and initial five or six times. It’s like the hotel owns you in perpetuity throughout the universe (legal terminology).
--The Sandpiper Beach Resort is expensive. Our total bill for 2 nights (ocean view one-bedroom King suite), two adults was $612.00. The Front Desk Clerk said something about charging a $125.00 refundable fee.

Some of the mechanical problems we encountered during our stay were as follows: (Communicated to Front Desk Clerk upon check-out)

Problems:
--Shower faucet handle ready to fall off.
--Living room window would not stay open (slams shut).
--Inoperable remote control for DVD player (we tried new batteries).
--Bathroom door wouldn’t stay open (closes shut).

Compliments:
--Clean rooms (good housekeeping).
--Twice daily housekeeping.
--Hotel newly renovated.
--Good location (near Washington Street Mall).
--Nice view of ocean.
--Private balcony (two rocking chairs, one small table).
--New living room furniture (sofa bed, chair, coffee table, two end tables).
--Two flat screen TV’s (living room/bedroom).
--Hardwood floors (living room/hallway).
--Marble countertops (kitchen/bathroom).
--Large living room windows.
--Modernized kitchen with waterfall kitchen faucet.
--Ample kitchenware, utensils and appliances.

Overall, the Sandpiper is modern, clean and newly renovated. The rooms are small and you have to walk around the furniture to get from place to place. The hotel room would be more cozy with some throw rugs on the bare floors. Also, some decorative items placed around the rooms and some pictures on the wall would be a nice touch. You be the judge.

Room Tip: Away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EarthyBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karmac12
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My husband and I really liked this hotel. Our condo was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The bed was especially comfortable and room service was top-notch and friendly. There was a safe available for our newlywed items, so we felt at peace the whole time. The only improvement that perhaps is needed is that the bathrooms could use some upgrading. (It is also small, but there's no fixing that.) Overall, I will most definitely be returning to the sandpiper! Great hotel!!! Not to mention, walking distance from just about everything!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karmac12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.3 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#10 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#2 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
0.8 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#6 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#4 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 1,021 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Beach Resort

Property: Sandpiper Beach Resort
Address: 11 Beach Avenue, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for unmatched quality, location and outstanding amenities in your vacation rental, the Sandpiper Beach Club, Cape May NJ, is the perfect fit. Offering 51 units on a beachfront block in Cape May, New Jersey, the Sandpiper is available for daily, weekend, or weekly rentals year round. Located in the heart of the famed historic district of Cape May, across the street from the area's best beaches, the Sandpiper boasts a walk-to-everything convenient. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sandpiper Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Beach Hotel Cape May
Sandpiper Beach Cape May
Sandpiper Cape May Nj
Sandpiper Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing