We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of The Eldredge House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Eldredge House
Ranked #30 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
New York, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was our first visit to Cape May and we absolutely loved it! We picked the Eldredge House primarily for two reasons 1) affordability and 2) personal taste - we're not fans of the Victorian chintzy and flowery look in B&B's - we find it creepy to be honest - and in Cape May in particular, this look seems to be the running theme in most B&B's...So for us, the Eldredge House was an easy pick on that aspect alone. In addition, it is centrally located and the rooms are clean and nicely appointed. We also really liked the fact that there were breakfast vouchers in lieu of the typical B&B breakfast, which is often shared at a communal table (where the food can sometimes be sub par or the friendly banter forced and awkward). The vouchers are a brilliant idea! They give you the option to choose among 5-6 local restaurants in the area - which you could visit and try at your leisure. Again, an extra bonus! No forced breakfasts between 7-10am or missed breakfasts for those of us who like to sleep in every now and then! We tried just about every single restaurant on the list and they were all great - generous portions and excellent brunch selections...Higher Grounds was our stand out favorite. However, it is the innkeeper/owner Todd who impressed us the most. He consistently went above and beyond to make our stay a wonderful & memorable experience. Not only is he a wealth of information in terms of local activities, beaches, restaurants, etc., but he is exceptionally warm, gracious and so incredibly nice! From the moment he greeted us and helped carry our bags to our room, he immediately made us feel welcome and at ease. He took care of our every single request - and made sure we always felt taken cared of. We've traveled every where and have stayed at just about every type of hotel out there - but it is always the service that stands out - you can have the most beautiful room in the most gorgeous hotel in an amazing city - but if the service is abominable - it just ruins any vacation, period. Todd is a rare gem. How I wish every hotel or B&B had someone like Todd at the helm.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MzNYker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
49
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We enjoyed our four day visit to Cape May and were lucky to have this quiet, quaint, clean, comfortable home to relax and rest in. Todd is an informative guide to anything of interest and will recommend good restaurants and activities in the area. West Cape May has some interesting shops and eateries right nearby Eldredge House. I especially liked Back Street Cafe for dinner, that Todd recommended. West End Garage is an artist and business cooperative store that had lots of interesting shopping. Todd does not serve breakfasts but offers breakfast vouchers for use at several restaurants. We enjoyed using these vouchers and could eat at the time of the morning we chose, with foods we selected at the time. We enjoyed Bella Vida, just across the street and George's Place on Beach Ave, a longer walk or short drive. Relaxing and friendly!

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dmcmx51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Eldredge House is a fabulous home to stay at while in Cape May. The accomodations are excellent and the owner Todd is very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. We have stayed here twice and we will definitely be back. It has become our home away from home while we are in town. The Inn is very clean and is located a close distance to the beaches and shops. Todd is very accomodating in that he allowed us to check in early and to stay past our checkout time as his next guests were not arriving until later. You will not find a better place to stay or a more generous host than Todd. We HIGHLY recommend the Eldredge House!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsta777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2011

Todd the inn keeper was wonderful in giving tips about the Cape May area and travel to and from.
The Eldredge House was a nice and clean historic home which was very comfortable to stay in and close enough to the downtown and the beach to walk.
My husband and I would definitely go back for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCFTRP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2011

After seeing the great weather forecast for Memorial Day weekend my husband and I decided that we wanted to go to Cape May on the spur of the moment. Unfortunately we would only be able to go away for one night of the long weekend. I know from experience that this is virtually impossible on a holiday weekend due to most places have 2 - 3 night minimums.

Being unfamiliar with Cape May, I immediately went to Trip Adviser to look for recommendations. I discovered the Eldredge House and learned that if they had rooms available they would did not have a minimum stay requirement. I immediately called and the owner Todd is extremely accommodating and very knowledgeable of the area.

We were told that since our room was vacant the night before we could have an early check in. I said that we would be there by 9 AM. We were running late and did not arrive until 10 AM. When we arrived there was no one there but the door was open and there was a note for us to call Todd. He walked me through everything and was extremely pleasant to deal with. I was very impressed with the cleanliness and the how good it smelled!

Rather than providing breakfast at a set time, they give you breakfast vouchers. There is a choice of about 4 restaurants (one being across the street) and you can go at whatever time you like! We chose George's and it was great! I highly recommend the banana nutella waffles.

If you are looking for a quiet, immaculately clean and a wonderful host with a lot of knowledge, this is a great pick!

Cape May tip - bring lots of quarters for the parking meters!

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank passion4travelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, Delaware
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2011

The B&B was wonderful. The rooms were very inviting. The owner was also very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davistal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2011

Loved the Eldredge House. Very clean and quaint. Todd was an exceptional host who made us feel very welcome and almost as if we were staying with an old friend. As a B & B first-timer, preferred the breakfast voucher and ended up having two great meals at George's Place. Also, being able to book for one night was ideal for us. We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank break90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.7 mi away
Henry Sawyer Inn
Henry Sawyer Inn
#24 of 39 in Cape May
54 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beauclaire's Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
The Queen Victoria
The Queen Victoria
#4 of 39 in Cape May
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mooring B&B
Mooring B&B
#19 of 39 in Cape May
129 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gingerbread House
Gingerbread House
#8 of 39 in Cape May
527 reviews
1.4 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 39 in Cape May
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eldredge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eldredge House

Property: The Eldredge House
Address: 417 Broadway, Cape May, NJ 08204-1207
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing