We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Getaway Place With A Perfect Innkeeper” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #16 of 39 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Perfect Getaway Place With A Perfect Innkeeper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2011

My partner and I went to Cape May for a couple of days to get away from regular routine and responsibilities. Knowing that it was off season, we were expecting it to be low key and quiet. After much research, we selected The Mason Cottage (based on many factors, but especially good reviews from Trip Advisor).

Patti, the innkeeper, is wonderful. Our suite was ready and because it was quiet at the inn, she had our afternoon tea waiting for us in the room.

Piping hot water, great tea selections, and this being chocolate decadence season at the inn...some wonderful chocolate dipped desserts were waiting for us. Delicious.

We had very special breakfasts, made by special guest chef, Kim. Puff pancakes with berries one day and carmelized onion and jack cheese strata the next. We enjoyed playing with the Wii entertainment system in one of the common rooms and....what can I say, we just had a great time. (The jacuzzi in our suite was super relaxing.)

We plan to return and found off season to be a perfect time to really see Cape May.

Thank, Patti!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanCohen55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    23
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
160
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

A highly relaxing weekend stay at the Mason Cottage! We stayed at the Grand Mason Suite, which has a separate living room and a spa room! From the decadent breakfasts to the quality of our suite to the history of the inn, everything was above par. The location was great as well as it is just a block away from the beach and is a mere 3 minute walk. Recommended for anyone wishing to get away from the madness of New York city!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Upala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2011

We stayed at the Mason Cottage During the off season in February. The room was beautiful and comfortable. Patti did an excellent job of making us feel right at home. She made the most delicious breakfast. I always looked forward to her afternoon teas as well. She is very skilled in the art of pastry making. I definitely recommend the Mason Cottage to anyone planning to spend time in Cape May.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cpdoubleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

My wife and I stayed at The Mason Cottage during the first weekend of December. It was our first visit to Cape May and after our experience, certainly not our last! This beautiful Victorian B&B was all decked out for the holidays and while there were other homes decorated on Columbia Avenue - none matched The Mason Cottage's elegant and beautiful decoration both outside and in.

We were greeted upon our arrival by Patti - our hostess for the weekend. She's friendly as can be. Sweet, accommodating, and just a pleasure to talk with. She's also one heck of a chef - but more on that later!

Our suite - the Warne Suite - featured a lovely sitting room with fireplace, a private bathroom with jacuzzi, and a comfortable Queen sized bed. You can see the ocean from the bedroom, which was awfully nice to wake up to. The room was clean and comfortable and the addition of a guest book in the room was a neat addition. I enjoyed reading what other guests had to say about their stay at The Mason - and also to get some restaurant tips!

Breakfast on both mornings was sensational. We had a cheese and onion quiche and while I am not fond of onions (and had I told Patti this, she would've made my quiche without), I ate every bite as it was just delicious. Our meal on Sunday was even better - featuring the absolute best French Toast I've ever had. Patti called it a French Toast Streudel; but, French Toast Heaven might have been a better name for it. I was excited to learn that Patti is coming out with a cookbook that will include the French Toast recipe! Also great to learn is that returning guests receive $10 off per night for their room rate. What a thoughtful way to thank guests for coming back again and again!

Every aspect of our stay at The Mason Cottage was lovely. I can see how parking might be a worry during peak season, but for off season, parking was no problem and even with the cold, we found walking to restaurants and shopping areas quite easy.

We would like to highly recommend The Mason Cottage and our hostess Patti. What a lovely, memorable experience!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mvshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2010

Have never stayed in a Bed and Breakfast before. Went for our 12th wedding anniversary. Stayed in the Grand Mason Spa Suite which as quite cozy! Food was delicious. Location was perfect. Close to great restaurants and shopping. Beach was about 1 1/2 blocks away. Patti was very down to earth, easy to talk to.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3grecoangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Orange, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

The Mason Cottage was great. It had a cozy feel and the inn keeper Patty was very helpful and sweet. The breakfasts were delicious (and even healthy). Great location right by the beach and everything is pretty much in walking distance.

We stayed in the Grand Mason Suite and the room was incredible. It was like a mini apartment. Had a great night's sleep in the bed and loved the historic old fashioned feel of the room. Did not mind spending a lot of time in the room at all.

Best part of the B&B being so close to the beach was the short walk to the beach where we got engaged during our stay:) The Mason Cottage was so romantic and cozy it made for a great way to celebrate our engagement.

We are already planning to go back in April for our anniversary!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephrq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2010

My sister and I stayed at the Mason Cottage over Columbus Day weekend. Our beautiful room overlooked the street and at night we fell asleep to the "clop clop" of the horse drawn carriages passing by. It was delightful. The breakfasts were delicious and our hostess, Kim, went out of her way to make our stay special. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sparky086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#3 of 37 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wilbraham Mansion
Wilbraham Mansion
#9 of 39 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Harrison
The Harrison
#2 of 39 in Cape May
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

Property: The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Address: 623 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2305
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mason Cottage is a lovely country Victorian B&B located in the heart of historic Cape May. The inn is just one block from the beach and two blocks from many fine shops and restaurants. Built in 1871, the Mason Cottage is endowed with lofty ceilings, full-length windows and a sweeping veranda, all so characteristic of Victorian homes of the period. There are nine lovely antique appointed rooms/suites to choose from, each with a private bath. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mason Cottage Bed And Breakfast Inn
The Mason Cottage Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing