We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our first stay at a B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Ranked #15 of 40 Cape May B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2010

This was our first trip to a B & B ever. I would hate to stay anywhere else because I would be dissappointed if it couldn't live up to the expectations I now have of a B & B. Patty, the innkeeper, was wonderful. She makes the best chocolate chip cookes that I have ever tasted. Patty sat and talked with us when we first checked in. She made us feel so comfortable in "her home". We stayed in the Warne Suite on the third floor. When we first went to our room I was worried that we would hear everything in the house below us, and that below us would hear us upstairs. Everything was so quite and peaceful. Loved the jacuzzi in the room.Also, the location of The Mason Cottage could not have been better. It's on Columbia at the end of Gurney Street. So when you look out your window, or sit on the front porch you can see and hear the ocean. It's within walking distance to the Washingstreet Mall (which I highly recommend the Carriage ride, it's worth the money), The Merion Inn, and the beach. Patty made some recommendations to us to visit the Seaside Cheese Shop, Cape May Winery and the Merion Inn. Everything was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyStasiak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 206 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2010

My wife won't leave me alone about staying at the Mason Cottage again! We happened on it and it was perfect. Great location to the beach and the staff was very helpfull with recommedations for dinner and nightlife, not to mention the great breakfast.

Can't wait to get back!!

Heidi G.
Cheltenham, PA

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonmoffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

It's not just the beach, the history or the quaint Victorian charm - it's the total immersion into another time, a bygone era. I've been to many B&B's in town and few do it as well as the Mason Cottage. They've nailed it - not just the accomodations, service and food, but that intangible aura of the quintessential Cape May experience. Those childhood memories recaptured. The building is beautiful, Patti's food and attention to detail is top-notch, and the rooms are cozy. Just a terrific weekend and a memorable Cape May stay. Be sure not to miss tea time.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeManiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

This is a fantastically situated B&B in a charming Cape May inn. Beautifully and tastefully decorated throughout, it is clean, elegant, and makes you feel as if you have travelled back in time with its period decorations. Patti the inn-keeper is a charming hostess and cooks amazing breakfasts - we will definitiely be returning soon! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snlaie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed at the Mason Cottage during the worst winter they have probably ever had in Cape May. Even though many of the streets were impassable and it was freezing outside, our stay was delightful. Our suite was surprizingly spacious, cozy, warm, and spotlessly clean. Our bedroom offered a window seat facing directly to the ocean with a wonderful view - something you rarely find on Columbia Avenue. The bathroom contained a jacuzzi - a welcome relief after climbing mountains of snow in the cold and wind. A sitting room with a gas fireplace was a wonderful extra touch. When the outdoors got to be too much, we could enjoy some reading by the fire. Patti was the perfect hostess and her cooking was terrific. The all-chocolate afternoon tea (their February specialty) was heaven for chocoholics like us. We look forward to going back next winter. We might try to get there during the summer as well. And I'm sure the beach would be even more enjoyable without two feet of snowing covering it.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howellbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

This place is a GEM! Very comfortable, relaxing (I slept like a baby!) and friendly - not to mention had a delicious breakfast. I will definitely go back and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoStell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

We stayed at the cottage to celebrate my birthday. I did not know very much about the
B and B's in the Cape but had heard about the Mason Cottage from word of mouth. What a great weekend of pampering. Tea time was my favorite, it took me right back in time. The view from our window was wonderful, the ocean is right there, the location at the head of the street is perfect. The innkeeper was very helpful and directed us to the best restauraunt down the street(I cannot recall the name). We stayed two nights, I could have stayed ten more. It was a very romantic weekend! The shops were so close!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristinebPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.2 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
720 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elaine's Bed & Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 623 Columbia Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2305
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Cape May
Price Range: $121 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mason Cottage is a lovely country Victorian B&B located in the heart of historic Cape May. The inn is just one block from the beach and two blocks from many fine shops and restaurants. Built in 1871, the Mason Cottage is endowed with lofty ceilings, full-length windows and a sweeping veranda, all so characteristic of Victorian homes of the period. There are nine lovely antique appointed rooms/suites to choose from, each with a private bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Mason Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mason Cottage Hotel Cape May
The Mason Cottage Bed And Breakfast Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing