We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful vist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stockton Inns

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stockton Inns
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Port Chester, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful vist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights August 16 thru the 19th. Picked it out from reviews from trip advisor and because they had one room left one week prior to travel. The room was a deluxe efficiency, very clean enough room for two adults and six year old. Great location walk across the street to beach, sun deck was great. Pool was clean and big wish it stayed open longer would have been nice if we good take a swim after dinner. Staff was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    80
    15
    11
    10
See reviews for
105
133
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philly Suburbs
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I've lost count of the number of times I've stayed at the Stockton. A bunch of my extended family travels to Cape May each summer and although I always try for the Stockton the others usually stay at different places. This year the whole family stayed here and it was great! Nothing fancy but all that we need: Perfect location, nice clean rooms, great pool, terrific deck to hang out and watch the beach and boardwalk...I will be back, Lord willing..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisymarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

The only reason to stay in the motel is for the location, which is terrific--just across from the beach and within easy walking distance of the downtown restaurants and shops. We had a two queen "efficiency" room on the 2nd floor of the motel, and while it was large and clean, for the price, it was very disappointing. The room was outdated (think 1960s or 70s), the air conditioner was not very effective, the bathroom was small, the beds were stiff and the linens old-fashioned (cheap polyster bedspread and "blanket"), and the room smelled musty. The only noticeable update was the large flat-screen TV which was nice. I get the fact that we were paying for location, but when you pay approx. $250/night, you should be able to expect a place that has put some money back into the rooms to update them and make them comfortable by today's standards. I'd steer clear of the motel in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian G, Manager at The Stockton Inns, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I am sorry you were not completely satisfied during your stay. I can not ignore your statement to stay clear of our property. Our goal is to maintain a clean, friendly and safe environment for all of our guests. We are constantly updating, and remodeling our facilities. Since you made your 1 night reservation only 5 days in advance, it is unfortunate that you were not able to reserve one of the recently remodeled rooms. Most rooms are sold out a year in advance. All rooms, including the room you stayed in, had new bathroom vanities, new toiltets, new flat-screen TV, new DVD player, new clock-radio-MP3, new bedding, and new carpet. I am glad you noticed the flat screen TV. Just this past winter/spring 2012, the swimming pool was remodeled and a 2-story Ipe-wood deck and custom railing was replaced on The Stockton Manor House. These are just a few of the things that have been updated this 2012. Plans are already in the making to remodel another floor of rooms in the Motel for 2013. I can assure you that re-investment in our property is of very high priority. Please think of us for your next vacation and I'm sure you will not be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, West Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This was our second visit to the Stockton Inns. On a previous trip, we stayed in the Victorian Manor for one night, and we had a great experience. This time, we stayed in the Motor Inn for several nights, and once again, we had a great time. There were actually several of us renting rooms side by side, a family get together. I had recommended this property based on our previous experience with the Manor. I was hoping that the rooms in the Motor Inn would be equally satisfying, even though they would not be in a Victorian house. I was NOT disappointed (and in some ways I actually liked the Motor Inn better). Everyone loved the location and the amenities offered by the Motor Inn. Our rooms were large, clean, and well appointed. They appeared to be recently renovated, everything looked new. We had great views of the ocean from the deck outside our rooms. The location was ideal, with easy access to the beach.The pool, though unheated, was refreshing after spending several hours on the beach. We also enjoyed walking to the local restaurants and shops, no need to drive. It was the perfect place for us, and we are definitely looking forward to a return trip!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank WVtravelbug2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

All kidding aside, don't miss an opportunity to stay here. Looking at photos of the manor, you may be turned off by it's proximity the the Inn. Don't let that influence your decision. One you are in the manor, you will feel as though you are in your own beach front home. Entry in and out of the manor, feels as private as entering your own home. The room was very clean and very well attended while we were there. A small refrigerator in the room is perfect for your drinks and food. Parking is off street, and restricted to guests in the manor.
Location? Perfect. Right across the street from the beach and walking distance to stores and restaurants. A small miniature golf course, right next to the manor, may make you cringe thinking about the potential noise. Worry not. The course was quiet.
We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RogueChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We had a two night stay at the Stockton Manor and it was way to short. The room was lovely. We had a view of the ocean and it was very clean. The shower was very small, but I requested a step in shower because my husband recently had back surgery. My favorite part was sitting on the front porch on a rocker watching the ocean and the people go by. The location was perfect, directly across from the beach and near shops, restaurants and all activities. They have an outdoor pool, but we spent our time at the ocean. Everyone was very friendly and we can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRATTLEBORO
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I have been coming to Cape May since 1986, and started staying here about ten years ago. Our daughter is now married and has three of her own children and every year we get three rooms for a week for the seven of us. The rooms are great, very clean and nicely furnished. The location can't be beat; we just walk across the street to the beach each morning. Almost everything is in walking distance so we almost never use the car once we get here. On top of all of that, we are ALWAYS made to feel welcome and that we are somehow special. Why go anywhere else? We certainly won't!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.8 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#12 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
0.5 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#10 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#4 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#16 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,142 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#7 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stockton Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stockton Inns

Property: The Stockton Inns
Address: 809 Beach Ave, Beach Ave & Howard St., Cape May, NJ 08204-2417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
#16 Romantic Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Stockton Inns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stockton Inns Hotel Cape May
Stockton Hotel Cape May
The Stockton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing