We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice enough but there are better options” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Shack

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beach Shack
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Cape May
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice enough but there are better options”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

The place is very convenient to the beach and the hotel has free beach chairs and umbrellas and serving on the beach etc. But the thing with the rooms is that the door is at the front of the room on a common walkway balcony facing the beach. Basically whoever designed the building should have put all that at the back.

The place is best suited to younger people who don't mind loud music most of the afternoon/evening on weekends. It was reggae night and I actually don't mind reggae but after something like 6 hours of it I was pretty ready to scream.

The restaurant is fair enough but don't get excited - best for lunch or eating in your swimwear. Other restaurants in Cape May are better quality and more interesting menu etc

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Railay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    127
    60
    34
    19
See reviews for
161
82
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This place was weeks from being torn down and replaced with a super fancy time share resort, before the economy tanked in 2008/9. I think the group who owns it is just waiting for real estate to stabilize a little more before the Beach Shack is gone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnDelaware
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cape May hotels

Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

This place is the old coachmans motor inn that is now under new management. The rooms have been updated a little & the old dark rusty skupper bar & restaurant turned into a "hip" new outdoor/indoor bar.

Was expecting a little more change because the price is now doubled from what is was before. The rooms have been painted, new bedding & coffee stations, new bathroom sinks & curtains but same furniture & pint size bathrooms. Rooms cannot accommodate more than 2 people comfortably.

Liked the new fire pit & beach service. Can't beat the location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twocapemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful overnight anniversary in Cape May
We were very happy with the Beach Shack-very clean-nice view of the ocean, the fire pit was nice at night. My husband had flowers delivered to me and they were waiting in the room. We would stay here again. The bed and pillows were super comfy

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We purchased a special offer online, so our room was discounted, and at that was not worth the price. The staff was indifferent and the room definitely needed freshening up. It looked as it all that had been done was to apply a new coat of paint and throw in some stainless steel sinks. Otherwise it reminded me of just a low rate roadside motel. There was no clock, no blow dryer, and the TV and the fan in the bathroom didn't work. I can't imagine paying their full rate for a room and/or staying there for any length of time for a vacation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faplor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwestern New Jrsey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

This is an excellent option for a less than 2 or 3 night stay. Unlike most of the places at Cape May, they don't have the annoying multi night policies that you find elsewhere (at least not in October). Part of the group that owns Congress Hall, they have the same fabulous mushy comforters and starkly white, clean bedding that is so wonderful at Congress Hall. Great location, clean and comfortable with really nice staff.

Room Tip: Ask for beach facing away from the stairwells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edwid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is across the street from the beach in Cape May with a very nice restaurant attached. Our bungalow with three bedrooms was spacious enough, but there were several holes in the walls, tiles missing in the bathroom floor, a cracked drawer facing in the bathroom and the A/C was connected to the office system next door and could not be controlled within the room.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rjf9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#5 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#16 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#30 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#13 of 38 in Cape May
4.0 of 5 stars 617 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#17 of 38 in Cape May
3.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cape May
4.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shack

Property: Beach Shack
Address: 205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Shack 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Shack is a fresh, new, fun alternative for beachfront vacations. You will feel comfortable wearing your flip flops all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shack Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing