We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay somewhere else- not worth the $$$”
Review of Beach Shack

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Shack
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I had hoped to be one of the positive reviews- but after staying for five nights, I can't be. My husband, 2 year old, and I stayed in a two room "suite" which really consisted of a queen bedroom in front with a TV, a tiny bathroom, and a back bedroom with a full and a single bed. We paid less than the premium summer rate since we stayed after Labor Day- and it still was way too much for what we got.

First, there is only ONE AC unit for the two rooms- and that is in the back bedroom. Which means the back bedroom is super cold while the front room is hot. For almost $300 a night, they can't throw another AC unit in the front room? The door between the rooms is slatted- which means if you have kids who need super a quiet room, there is no point in even having two rooms because they can hear everything in the front room (though the AC did drown out a lot of noise). What is the point of that aside from getting the air from the AC to the front room? We just ended up leaving the door open between the rooms (my daughter slept fine that way). The rooms are tiny- we put a pack and play for her in the back room and it barely fit between the end of the bed and the front of the room and we couldn't put it between the beds. Not a problem really, but if you have multiple kids in there, it could be. Barely room for our luggage and stuff and absolutely no where to relax. We had nice weather so tried to minimize time in our room- but if you have bad weather or are in the room for multiple naps for kids, its tight.

The rooms are dirty- the carpet was old, brown and stained- definitely not part of the "renovation" which allegedly happened. I don't see anything renovated about that place except maybe the stainless steel sinks. And that would be fine if it were clean- but it wasn't. The walls were scuffed, it was dusty and the bottom of the bathroom door was literally chipped/broken. Also the room did not get cleaned every day, which again, if you are paying $300 a night- you expect from a hotel. We also stayed on the first floor by the Rusty Nail- so you could hear the bands in the front room til they stopped. Luckily they were all good and not super loud- but I get the feeling in the summer they are super loud and the place is crazy til late night- so if you get those rooms in the summer, beware. And there is no view from them.

The pool was fine- except that it was freezing cold, the grout around it was totally broken and coming up (and if you have toddlers who pick things up and put things in their mouths). The one nice thing was the towel service- except off season, there didn't seem to be anyone who changed the towels so you had to go early to make sure you got ones that were clean.

The only nice thing about this place is the beach service- the towels/chairs/umbrellas. That is very convenient. And the staff. Everyone was super nice and friendly- which is something to be said. I don't think that the quality of this place is due to the staff- I think its just because the big group that owns it doesn't care and doesn't put any money in it because the other properties it owns are nicer and probably require more of their overhead. So you basically are paying super high prices that end up going to the other properties and you aren't allowed to use any of their amenities.

Bottom line- stay somewhere else. There are a million other hotels/motels in Cape May and most are probably nicer. Don't get sucked into the "cool" hype- its just a dirty motel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on a higher floor and not by the Rusty Nail
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawa306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 362 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a groupon for one night stay and was surprised how clean the rooms looked. Sheets were immaculate as well as bethrooms. Pool , Rusty nail bar on the premises( not inside), umbrellas and firepit. Relaxed and not loud at all.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iryna120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Nothing could be better than relaxing at the Beach Shack for casual drinks and dinner near the firepit/Rusty Nail after enjoying a day steps away on the beautiful beach. Enjoyed beach lunch service and Rusty Mary's that were superb. Spent five days there in August for the third year in a row and fully enjoyed. Also great high end restaurants nearby like 410 Bank Street and the Washington Inn to enjoy! Cape May is a special place and if you are looking to just kick back and relax with your spouse and kids try the Beach Shack.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms near the Rusty Nail versus near the pool. Better ambience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyMomofThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night and although the sectional sofa and bed were extremely comfortable I felt the bedroom also should have had a TV. The only TV was in the living room. I enjoy watching TV in bed especially on vacation. Otherwise everything else was OK for a stay. Basic motel room but clean and some updating was done. Entertainment outside at the bar on weekends was great. Nice and quiet at the right time for bed. Great ocean views from most rooms. I have stayed at most of this organizations lodging in Cape May but this was not at all as special as the other places. Nice but I think the price should be lowered.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shoreluver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I booked this trip off the internet (Living Social),so I wasn't sure if it was as good as it sounded. Well it was so good We're going next May&/or Sept. after Labor Day!!! Do to the Hurricane We didn't go in the water very far. But the Beach Shack had a very nice pool. Our room(111) was just right for Us. Didn't want to leave. But they were still booked full on Sept.9th, so We left. Will plan on staying longer next Year. Plus the Rusty Nail was right there right outside Our door. This place was Excellent also. Family oriented&The best Shrimp Cocktails&food.We can hardly wait till I get the price list for next Year. Thank You for a much needed get away.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Great location across the street from the beach. Towel and chair service at the beach is a major plus. Parking always seems to be an issue for us at Cape Resorts (Congress Hall, Star Inn and Beach Shack). On busy weekends, there are too many cars without tags that fill up the parking lots and it's difficult to find a parking spot. Beach Shack is not for kids. The Beach Shack's Rusty Nail is more of a bar scene with so-so food than somewhere like Congress Hall which is more family oriented. The rooms require some major upgrades, especially the bathrooms.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Abevilaque1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is in an awesome location and has decent food offerings and of course "the coldest beer in Cape May". I have been going to cape may for over 30 years and have been going to the Nail for a cold one after the beach for 20 years. But ever since the whole Beach Shack change, there are kids everywhere!! It's horrible! The parents don't seem to be watching them and I thought maybe my experience was unique to that day but I went back a few times this summer and every time the outdoor area was run amuck with brats!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank SkooterLibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
1.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,190 reviews
1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
ICONA Cape May
ICONA Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
231 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shack

Address: 205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $118 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Shack 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Shack is a fresh, new, fun alternative for beachfront vacations. You will feel comfortable wearing your flip flops all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Beach Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shack Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing