We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beachfront and comfortable”
Review of Beach Shack

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beach Shack
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This hotel is blessed with a beach facing location; be prepared, it is essentially a motel like hotel with rooms opening into a coriidor/balcony.
Pros: Beachfront'; good sized rooms; very comfortable beds and bedding; friendly staff; nice casual laidback restaurant (rusty nail).
Cons: Expensive for what it is; tiny bathrooms.

Room Tip: ask for beach facing near the pool if you want a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WearyTraveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 369 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2012

I hesitated from giving this property an Excellent rating due to the fact that a couple improvements could really help them. We found the showers to be a bit out of date and had two options: ice cold or burning hot, and there weren't any phones in the rooms to contact the front desk. Other than that we really enjoyed the shack and it's a great property with a convenient location!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

This was our second year at the Beach Shack in Cape May and although we had a nice time, it seems that management is not keeping up with renovations at the hotel.

Our check-in was quick and the lady at reception was friendly and offered us some good ideas for spending our time in Cape May and told us about some special events happening that day.

Our room was still in good condition, but the screen was out of our window, the furniture is worn in the rooms and the railings leading to the rooms were shaky.

Even though we were there pre-season, management needs to ensure that all is in great condition as there is more competition in Cape May each year.

The Rusty Nail was a lot of fun and never disappoints! The food is consistantly good and the service is friendly and efficient.

We love the beach service-a great addition to the Cape May scene.

We will probably go back to Cape May next year, but I think I would like to to try another property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor for nice views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dfc9258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

When booking online for the jersey shore you don't always get what you think you're getting. The Beach Shack exceeded our expectations!!!! From the check in to check out we were treated with friendliness and courtesy. The best surprise were the pool chairs covered each mornong with towels to lay on and one rolled for use. Even better were the complimentary chairs,umbrellas, and towels on the beach directly accross the street....just show the attendant your room key. Had restaurant service to your chair to boot. We will definitely stay there again. Walking distance to everything. Loved it. Loved it. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chach777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

When I made the reservations for our family vacation, I made them for 5 adults and 1 child, when we got there, we had 1 queen size bed, 1 full size bed and a single. Not enough beds and only had one chair to sit in. The kitchenette was only a frig and a small coffee maker and a serving of 4 small plates, cups and utensils. The photos shown are not what we seen in our room for sure.
I will not stay at this hotel again when we stay at cape may.

Room Tip: My advice is to find another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My first stay at Cape May, I recommend this one, close to beach, staff is nice and food was reasonably priced with great music. Leave your car and walk and run and play. Very convenient and safe. Everyone was friendly . I likey!!!! Thank You Jesus.XOXOXOXXOXO. Ill be back.<3

Room Tip: Great for those travelers with teenagers, the rooms were accommodating to the adult kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We have been coming here for 2 years now. Love the location and staff but the rooms leave something to be desired. The rooms are clean and some have great ocean views from 2nd & 3rd floors, but they are basically motel rooms from the 1960's that some one renovated with a quick trip to Ikea! However we keep coming back because its just a chilled out place. The Rusty Nail has great food and service at a reasonable price. The rooms should have a phone since the front desk closed at around midnight and cell phone receptions is very poor in Cape May, What happens if you have an emergency? Spend a few bucks on bathroom upgrades and better furniture and the place is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank joseph b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,209 reviews
1.2 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
276 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#13 of 37 in Cape May
1,361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#12 of 37 in Cape May
240 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
721 reviews
1 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#8 of 37 in Cape May
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Shack

Address: 205 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $141 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Shack 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Shack is a fresh, new, fun alternative for beachfront vacations. You will feel comfortable wearing your flip flops all day long. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Beach Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Shack Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing