We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”
Review of Columbia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia House
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Very Comfortable, Perfect location, Wonderful hosts. Stayed in the Turret Suite. Great space for two couples. Will be back.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
Thank mugger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 118 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2010

This was our third visit.. We will be back again. We love the location and it is a great house. The WiFi worked well.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritsAbroad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

My husband and I just returned from Cape May, and had the awesome pleasure of staying in the Parlor Suite at Columbia House. The suite was gorgeous with stained glass window toppers in the living/eating area, and the cutest stove in the kitchen I think I've ever seen. Nice flat screen tv in the living area and adorable fireplace. The bedroom was very luxurious with a very comfortable King size bed. You won't want to get out of that bed - very comfy! Great ceiling fan in the bedroom. Shower is a little small for my 6 foot 8 inch husband, but is fine for most folks. This is not a B&B, but we knew that ahead of time, and so enjoyed the privacy. It was perfect for our little romantic get-away. We felt like we had the whole house to ourselves! The free parking will come in very handy because you can walk everywhere from Columbia House. For breakfast walk one block to the ocean, turn right, and walk a block to Bill's Pancake House. Eat pancakes while you look at the ocean! Great food, great service. You cannot leave Cape May without heading to Tisha's for lunch or dinner, in the mall area. We were able to get in without a reservation because of the time of year we went, but I hear it is hard to get in during peak season. You MUST make a reservation and get in there somehow, because it is truly the best food we have EVER eaten. My favorite store was the Whale's Tale in the outdoor mall shopping area. Take a trolly tour (you can catch it a short block and a half away) -- it is worth it to see all the beautiful Vic torian homes. But getting back to Columbia House! I would highly recommend staying there. We will definitely return. Thanks Jim and Lauren for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hawkinsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

My wife and I spent the long Columbus Day weekend and couldn't have been happier with the acommadations. Turns out the best feature to this centrally located B&B may be the on site parking not usually found in similar establishments. Tower suite was lovely and the stair climb was even worth it for us +60 year olds to work off the delicious meals in any one of a number of nearby restaurants.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outerbeach81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I booked this trip for a girls getaway and it was absolutely perfect. Four of us stayed in the Garden Suite and the accomodations were more than we expected. First of all, you park your car in your reserved spot and leave it there for the stay. The home is one block from beach and walking distance to everything. The owners, Jim and Laura actually picked up a bottle of wine and delivered it to us when we checked in, at the request of a friend of ours who could not make the trip. Like I said before, this home is absolutely perfect and I can't wait to book our next get together.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sskk903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Laura and Jim have really set up a dreamy escape. You have your own private space with kitchen, bathroom, living room, bedroom, etc., so you don't have that sort of intruder feel of a bed and breakfast. Location is ideal and the accommodations were perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liebesfuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Stayed for 3 nites at CH in July and was our first trip to Cape May.
We were very impressed with the house, inn keepers, location and cleanliness of this fine home. Home, because you feel at home.

We stayed in the Parlor Suite which met our needs perfectly. Had a hard time getting out of the comfortable King bed each sunny day. The outdoor shower was absolutely spectacular.

One block from beach, two blocks from outdoor shopping plaza, and walking distance to fine dining= no need for driving :-)

We loved sitting on the porch watching the horse drawn carriages.

This place goes on keeper list for places to come back to.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdp3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.7 mi away
Icona Cape May
Icona Cape May
#1 of 37 in Cape May
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carroll Villa Hotel
Carroll Villa Hotel
#5 of 37 in Cape May
1,256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,361 reviews
0.9 mi away
Angel of the Sea
Angel of the Sea
#5 of 40 in Cape May
736 reviews
0.5 mi away
Madison Avenue Beach Club Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia House

Address: 26 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2412
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Cape May
Price Range: $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Columbia House Hotel Cape May
Columbia Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing