We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for thirds!”
Review of Columbia House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbia House
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This was our 3rd visit to Cape May and The Columbia House. We find this particular accommodation perfect for our needs. We like being extremely close to the action: the beach, shopping on Washington Mall, & the beautiful streets of Cape May. The Columbia House is smack in the middle of everything. Each time that we've visited this inn, we've stayed in the master bedroom. It's a beautifully decorated room and extremely spacious. Jim & Laura, the owners, make it very easy to come & go without the awkwardness often experienced with overly managed B&B's.

The Columbia House is a Victorian Inn without the breakfast component. To be honest, my wife and I are both pretty careful with our eating so the whole carbohydrate-laden muffin/french toast type breakfasts don't work for us. Again, without the assigned mandatory breakfast hour, we come & go with mealtimes that work for us.

We love the Columbia House...our home away from home.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLAtrumpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 117 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

We rented the master suite for a week. What a wonderful accommodation and location! The house is a proper Victorian less than a block from the beach, and <10 minutes walk from the pedestrian mall in the center of town or pretty much anywhere else. The suite was beautiful and unique, just right for 6 of us (in 3 bedrooms). Given the small living room and limited table space I would not recommend more than 6 even if allowed. The interior decor was lovely, but we also loved the front porch swing, beach chairs, wireless internet, onsite parking, and well-stocked outdoor shower. Would strongly recommend for couples or families visiting Cape May.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank MN_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This is our second vacation in Cape May in under a year (first one was in October, 2010). We chose Columbia House for its prime location, ambiance and their family friendly policy - we have a 5 year old child. We stayed in the Turret suite and loved the quaint Victorian charm. We were able to have breakfast on the deck, although it was still a little chilly that mid April morning. It was a relaxing way to enjoy Spring, in beautiful Cape May.

Room Tip: Free Wifi. Turret suite has a kitchen - very convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtwooNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

Everything is so perfec!! The location , your own parking place, the cleanliness, the decor and the inn keepers. This was our second stay at the Columbia House and we plan on making it an annual event!!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank JoAnn_n_TonyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

My wife and I decided to stay at The Columbia House for our first trip to Cape May, N.J. One of the reason's we did was because it was not an actual Bed & "Breakfast." We liked the idea that it would be a little more private and wouldn't have to be on a schedule in the morning. We were looking for a quiet, relaxing weekend away, with some nice places to eat and some basic things to do during the day. Knowing it was the off-season, we knew it would be quiet and we were fine with that, but there was still plenty available to us. I can't express how happy we are that we chose Cape May and The Columbia House.

Before our trip I sent an e-mail inquiring about some recommendations for dinner, as some places were closed for the off-season. I got a quick, friendly, informative e-mail from Laura offering a few options, based on our tastes. She was spot on with her choices!

Upon our arrival, we were greated at the curb by Jim and Laura (the owners), who helped us carry in our bags. Very nice first impression! They gave us the rundown as far as getting in and out, working the gas fireplace in the living room, any other ammenities, the immediate neighborhood, and the off street parking spot behind the house.

The house is in a perfect location, a couple blocks from Beach Ave (the beach) in one direction, a couple of blocks from the Washington Street Walking Mall and Acme Supermarket in another direction. And it is right where a lot of good attractions are on Beach Ave. Some restaurants are in walking distance, others are a 5 minute drive back towards the bridge to the mainland, but that is the furthest you need to go.

The Columbia House's website was perfect in showing the floor plan of the different suites and showing pictures and listing the ammenities. Definately a helpful piece of information in deciding where to stay.

We stayed in the Parlor Suite, which is on the first floor of the house. You entered into a large bedroom with a huge, extremely comfortable king bed, and plentyful storage for clothes and things. The bathroom is off the bedroom, and the sink/vanity is outside the bathroom. Then you walk into the kitchen living room area. There is a nice size fridge and a complete cooking area with all essentials provided in the cabinets. Pots, pans, utensils, plates, glasses, coffee maker, etc. There was also an iron and ironing board in the closet. The living room had a decent size flatscreen tv/dvd combo on the wall and a great gas fireplace. There was also a door out onto the front porch, where there was chairs and a hanging swing to relax on. The little seating area in the turret part was perfect to sit and have a little snack, or meal. The entire suite was perfectly appointed with decorations and painting to fit the beautiful Victorian feel. You truely felt like you were in a home, not a hotel room.

By no mean's do I consider myself a food critic, but I think I can identify good food, and I will certainly say that I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of these restaurants, in a shore town, on an off-season weekend.
We dined at Lucky Bone's for dinner one night. What a greast place. Simply a friendly neighboorhood tavern feel, with a impressive menu that wowed us. Everthing we ordered was fantastic. And a nice beer menu too!
George's Place on Beach Ave for breakfast was worth the 15 min wait. Amazing pancakes and omlete's.
For our Valentine's diner we went to the Blue Pig Tavern in Congress Hall. Very friendly staff bought us a round of drinks when our table wasn't ready at out reservation time. Nice touch. The food was amazing, with gourmet presentaion and very attentive service. Definately a great recommendation.

To sum it up, I don't think you could go wrong at the Columbia House, especially for the price when compared to other actual Bed & "Breakfast" places. You get friendly hosts, that leave you be and keep a perfect house, that is in a great location and offers a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2010

My husband and two children and I were thrilled with our stay at the Columbia House. We stayed in the Turret Suite which was absolutely perfect. Cozy, comfortable, and clean. It was my children's first experience in a victorian home and they loved it! Really liked the master bathroom, the wifi, and wished it were warmer to enjoy the deck off of the kitchen. Laura and Jim were both so nice and accomodating. We will definitely return to the Columbia House, no doubt about it!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripadvsrmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

beautiful old victorian house, tastefully updated. Very warm and comfortable rooms, all decorated for the season. beds very comfortable. owners most pleasant and live off-site, but readily available if needed. great location, a block away from the ocean, and in a wonderful neighborhood loaded with gorgeous victorian houses. within an easy walk of very good restaurants, although at this time of year, not all open regular hours. cape may is a beautiful, historic community. a very relaxing stay. even at this time of year there is plenty to see. don't forget to check out the zoo. come earlier in the fall if you are a birder. don't think i'd like to be here in the summer, however. the crowds must be horrific. but do come in the fall and consider staying at columbia house. it is a gem.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pplamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.3 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#4 of 37 in Cape May
430 reviews
0.2 mi away
Congress Hall
Congress Hall
#6 of 37 in Cape May
1,180 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Mer Beachfront  Inn
La Mer Beachfront Inn
#19 of 37 in Cape May
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Montreal Beach Resort
Montreal Beach Resort
#9 of 37 in Cape May
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#10 of 37 in Cape May
550 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Virginia Hotel
The Virginia Hotel
#11 of 37 in Cape May
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbia House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbia House

Address: 26 Ocean St, Cape May, NJ 08204-2412
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Cape May
Price Range: $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Columbia House Hotel Cape May
Columbia Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing