We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management needs to get a grip”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cape May
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Summer Station Hotel
Ranked #26 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2010

We made a reservation 1 month ago. This morning we found out about a death in our family and were not able to make it to Cape May this weekend. I called the hotel to cancel my reservation and the 80 year old woman behiend the desk was rude and not empathetic at all. She transfered me to the General Manager who was even worse! he refused to refund our money and said to me its not my problem you had a death in your family! I will never stay at this place again they were rude and didnt care about my circumstance.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank chs0022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Summer Station Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 118 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2010

Centrally located on Beach Ave, Summer Station is the perfect place to enjoy a Cape May vacation. Once settled in, after a run to the ACME off Washington Ave. for groceries, there is almost no need to use your car, unless, of course you make the mandatory Lobster House visit for a great meal! The staff is very accomodating, spacious rooms are neat and clean (equipped with washer/dryers!), as is the pool and entire property. The best part of the location is that one can go back and forth from enjoying the beach and ocean to relaxing by the pool (which is on the 2nd floor and set back from the street, unlike other locations along Beach Ave!) in a matter of minutes.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doug010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I must say I was a little dissapointed in our room at Summer Station. The carpets, bedding, and furniture are very worn out and dated. There was a very large stain on the carpet in the hall. For the amount of money we paid for the room, I would have expected more.

Pros:
-terrific location
-next to a good bar/resturant (the Rusty Nail)
-pool
-laundry in the condo
-updated and well-equipped kitchen
-nice balcony with good views

cons:
-stained carpet as mentioned above
-dated and worn furniture
-old bedding (same as the last time I stayed 10 years ago I think)
-old bathroom
-holes in walls

All in all, we enjoyed our stay in Cape May, but probably wouldn't stay at Summer Station again unless they remodeled.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Harry_matty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2010

Summer Station is the tops! Everything you could possibly need is right there att your fingertips and the location is perfect. Staff was very friendly and pool was nice and warm too. We had a great experience. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0veCapeMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

We have all the amenities of home, kitchen, washer/dryer, separate bedrooms, close to beach and town. Rooms were clean, but rooms and beds were small, and decor outdated. Only one parking space per unit, but the night manager was very helpful. We would go back again if were are in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babybonkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

My family and I have stayed here for many years in the past and stopped coming because it seemed the management did not want to update the rooms. After 3 years away we decided to try it again as they had a management change. The pluses: it is a short walk to the pedestrian mall; the rooms we have always stayed in are right across from the beach and the balconies have the best view of the ocean and beach; the kitchen has been updated since we last stayed there to have granite counters, new cabinets and new appliances; the carpet seemed to be newer. The minuses: we were told at booking that both bedrooms had doors - the 2nd bedroom did not and this was very disappointing as there were 2 couples staying for the weekend; the rooms are very dark and need either brighter light bulbs and/or more lights; the bedrooms or at least the 'master' bedroom should have a tv (most people want 2 tv's in hotel suites); the dryer vent was not hooked up to exhaust to the outside; the master tub had some sort of liner caulked on top of the existing tub bottom but the caulk was chipping away and I could only imagine that mold was underneath - disgusting - needless to say I used the other bathroom; the chairs in the living room appeared to be recovered but were uncomfortable and the sofa could use updating as the cushions were shot; our first night there as we were getting ready to go to bed we noticed the pillows were about 1 inch thin and called the front desk to request a couple more pillows, the clerk advised us that he was 'counting money' and then hung up on us - first off that's just rude and second every hotel I've stayed in here in the US and abroad has always left extra pillows and blankets in the rooms. I think Summer Station needs to follow suit - blankets and pillows are not that expensive especially when you are buying in bulk. Needless to say this last time was truly the last time we will be staying at Summer Station.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holidaytrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We had a girls' weekend away and chose the Summer Station based on other reviews and the reasonable rates. We found it to be a great hotel. It was right across the street from the beach and only a few blocks from great shopping and restaurants. We had one issue with hair on the sheets, but we called the front desk and they brought clean sheets immediately. The staff was extremely friendly. We would absolutely stay here again.

If you're looking for a great place to eat dinner, try Vincenzo's...it's a little bit of a drive, but plug it into your GPS and go. It's completely worth the trip!!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkballoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Beach Resort
Sandpiper Beach Resort
#13 of 37 in Cape May
230 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Stockton Inns
The Stockton Inns
#3 of 37 in Cape May
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Crest Motor Inn
Sea Crest Motor Inn
#10 of 37 in Cape May
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
Marquis De Lafayette Hotel
#29 of 37 in Cape May
398 reviews
0.5 mi away
Avondale by the Sea
Avondale by the Sea
#18 of 37 in Cape May
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#9 of 37 in Cape May
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Station Hotel

Address: 217 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-5383
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Cape May
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Cape May
Price Range: $150 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A tradition of luxury and elegance has been found in Cape May since before the turn of the century, and now Summer Station is part of that tradition. With an imposing facade that blends with the stately Victorian homes, and accommodations that offer a gracious vacation lifestyle. The inviting sandy beach is just steps from your door; or you may prefer the sparkling water of our pool with surrounding sundeck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summer Station Condotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing