We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food in historic setting”

Cold Spring Grange Restaurant
Ranked #75 of 138 Restaurants in Cape May
Price range: $8 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We embrace the “farm to table” concept. ​Our ingredients will reflect the season’s bounty. LUNCH is served Tuesday-Sunday DINNER is served Thursday- Sunday
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food in historic setting”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Grange is in the original early 20th century grange, complete with lovely woodwork and high ceilings, lace curtains and artifacts from when the rail road used to serve Cape May. The 4 course prix fixe dinner for $30 was a good value. The ingredients were fresh. The scallops with mango coulis were delicious. The desserts were fabulous. The servers were young and enthusiastic. I would especially recommend this to anyone looking for a change from the usual seashore theme. The wooded setting next to Cold spring village makes you feel like you are in a different place entirely. Remember that it is BYOB, so grab some nice wine and go.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Washington_DCMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    18
    6
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My husband and I had our anniversary dinner there second year in a row. Just as wonderful the first time. We looking forward to going back again!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“OK, but wouldn't recommend”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We dined here with friends on a recent Saturday night. There is a $30 prix fix menu, with adequate choices. The food was well prepared. Good choices: scallops, shrimp, beef. My objection was the service, or lack thereof. Our waitress was eager enough, but her manager thwarted her at every opportunity. For example, there was a choice of two different salad dressings. My dining partner wanted one on his salad, but asked for a small taste of the other. The manager said, "no." We asked our waitress when she returned to the table to see how we were enjoying our dinner so far. She initially said that she would bring us a taste of the other dressing, but then returned to say her manager wouldn't let her (!) How much could a teaspoon of dressing cost, for heavens sake! Then, the manager kept trying to get us to order the "special." Well, turns out, there is a $10 up charge for the "special." No wonder. And a second cup of coffee? Of course not! Why would you expect that!? Did I mention that the busboy started whisking away plates while some of us were still eating? With good service, I would have enjoyed the meal, but instead, left feeling irritated.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank travelPAUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Try the fixed-price early bird for $22”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We dragged ourselves from the beach to get here for the $22 fixed-price, five course dinner, which is served from 4.30 to 5.45 pm. And it was worth it. Dinner started with soup (clam chowder or escarole soup) with salad (lettuce wedge or tomato slices with provolone). For the main course, I had 3 giant scallops and my husband had shrimp fra diablo over pasta with a butter/ cheese sauce. The main course was accompanied by 3 sides. Dessert was awesome - bread pudding drizzled with a caramel sauce,
Only issue-had to wait for white wine to chill. We were told someone accidentally unplugged the wine refrigerator.
Another plus-the wait staff was pleasant and attentive.
The overall experience was a treat especially from the maddening beach crowds found in Cape May's center.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MilfordCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Food was very nice, I had the Caesar's Salad with Shrimp and the hubby had a blacked fish sandwich. He loved it I can definitely recommend. This place is a little off the beaten path over at the Cold Springs Living Museum (separate review). This is how we found out where it was. Try it out. The service was spot on. Thank you!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Roswatki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cold Spring Grange Restaurant also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Cold Spring Grange Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing