We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!”
Review of Buckingham Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buckingham Motel
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
A TripAdvisor Member
“Loved It!”
Reviewed June 3, 2006

This Memorial Day weekend was our first vacation on the New Jersey shore. We were looking for affordable prices, and found Buckingham Motel in Cape May. It is different and just what we were looking for to get away from the city. All other five- or three-store motels and hotels looked too crowded. Buckingham Motel had the lawn around where we could lie down on lounge chairs, or have barbecue on the picnic tables. We were very pleased with our efficiency suit. Living room, dining area, kitchen, and bathroom were very clean. Full kitchen with microwave, fridge, stove, toaster, and coffee maker help us with the morning routine. As first timers we found the information (a book and flyers) about Cape May left in the room for us extremely helpful. We loved the fact that we didn’t have to rush to get ready to go to the beach, because it was right across the street.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    40
    18
    12
    2
See reviews for
29
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 31, 2006

If you're looking for very reasonably priced accommodations RIGHT ACROSS from a quiet area of beach in Cape May, NJ, you've found it! The efficiency unit that we rented for Memorial Day weekend at the Buckingham Motel was spotlessly clean, very well equipped, and entirely comfortable. The efficiency was furnished with two double beds dressed in attractive linens with plenty of extra pillows; a futon couch, coffee table, end table, and chest that doubled as a T.V. stand; a dining table with 4 chairs; a cute mini-kitchen with 4-burner stove/oven/broiler, full refrigerator, microwave, and plenty of cabinet space with very adequate cookware and tableware. The bathroom had a full tub and a wonderful shower-head (the owner told me it was a water-saver) that ranked among the best I've encountered while traveling. This motel is not fancy, but it is very well maintained and exceptionally clean. It provides off-street parking, bike rentals at the rear, barbeque grills, picnic tables, lounge chairs, and a small sun deck. I would go back in a heart-beat.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 28, 2006

I cannot say enough for this hotel.I was part of the furniture their for a number of years.I spent a number of winters their.The rooms were spacious,immaculate,and the staff were out of this world.I couldn't say enough for this hotel.I will be returning this Summer and I hope to spend a number of nights at the Buckingham hotel

  • Stayed February 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Grande, NJ
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2006

My wife and I simply love this clean, quiet slice of Jersey Shore heaven!! While it's no frills, no swimming pool, no ice, it more than makes up for it in the cleanest rooms, and accomodating staff!!

The staff couldn't have been friendlier with restuarant reviews, any questions we had..it really seemed like we were more than dollar signs there!! We will be back!! Again, and again, and again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Jerry93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2005

My wife and I stayed at this small motel which is a little less expensive than others in town and in a quieter location. However, this was a bonus for us and with a great balcony sea view the sunrise was fantastic. Add the dolphins swimming offshore and beautiful sandy beach this is great place to unwind and relax. We found the room very clean and the beds comfortable. Our only disappointment - no coffee / milk provided and no hairdyer in the room. Would certainly go back again.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank PVH51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 1, 2005

The Buckingham is an older, homey property with a lot of charm. The efficiencies have a great kitchen but a smaller bathroom, a table with 4 chairs a sofa and TV and two beds. Our room had been remodeled to some extent within recent history. The price was great at $85 when neighboring hotel rooms were $169.

The people at the hotel could not be nicer or more helpful. The rooms are clean, but here is the one reason for my low rating. All rooms are smoking, and our room was both smoky and had the feeling of mildew/mold that comes with smoked up mattresses, curtains, etc. They do have an ionizer and were very nice about it. We bought a fan for the window and made it through one night, then left the next evening to avoid a second night in the room.

If you have any asthma problems or such issues, this is probably not at all the place to stay. With the outdoors immediately accessible from the room, there is no reason for the hotel management to allow smoking in the rooms. If they were to correct this, I would return to the hotel. For me, this was a huge problem, turning what would have been a 4 or 5 star rating into a low 2 star rating.

However, if you are a budget traveler and/or do not mind these issues, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, GM at Buckingham Motel, responded to this review, May 16, 2006
We now have 6 non- smoking rooms! We also utilize a NEW indusrty ozone generator which cleans the air odors caused by smoke, cooking etc. It is also used in healthcare facilities. Basically it cleans the air!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2004

Can't beat the price or location of this one. Rooms all have kitchens, which was a huge bonus for us since we brought our small children. Motel is right across from the beach and a short walk into town. We'll be back for sure!

Helpful?
17 Thank whitman88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape May hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Macomber
Hotel Macomber
#28 of 37 in Cape May
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#14 of 37 in Cape May
1,312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heritage Inn
Heritage Inn
#11 of 37 in Cape May
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Cape Harbor Motor Inn
Cape Harbor Motor Inn
#26 of 37 in Cape May
80 reviews
1.3 mi away
The South Winds
The South Winds
#18 of 37 in Cape May
36 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Cape Winds
The Cape Winds
#37 of 37 in Cape May
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckingham Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckingham Motel

Property: Buckingham Motel
Address: 1111 Beach Ave, Cape May, NJ 08204-2628
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Cape May
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 37 Hotels in Cape May
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Buckingham Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buckingham Motel is an oceanfront getaway location that provides affordable rooms with a full range of amenities. Our location allows you to take advantage of Cape May's sparkling white sand beaches, entertaining local seashore activities, quaint historic surroundings, and gourmet eateries. Our commitment to you, our valued customer, and Cape May shines through in all of our services, including our meticulous attention to details and all of our amenities. It is always our top priority to provide you with hospitable service in order to make your stay in beautiful Cape May as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. At The Buckingham Motel, we are here to cater to your every need and look to be a vacation destination for you and your family for years to come! If you, your family and friends are looking for motels in NJ or beach motels with breathtaking views at affordable rates, please get in touch with our friendly staff at The Buckingham Motel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Expedia so you can book your Buckingham Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Motel Cape May
Buckingham Hotel Cape May

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing