We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous new addition to Cape May restaurant scene!”

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 137 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Franklin St
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Marvelous new addition to Cape May restaurant scene!”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Exceptional meal. The soup, the salad and our main courses were all wonderful.
Be sure to have the lemon ricotta doughnuts for dessert, which are really more like lemon beignets.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Orangeman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    64
    18
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
1 review
“The best on the cape”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed for 2 nites the room was clean and large.the service was amazing. the dinning area was beautifully decorated stained glass windows puts it over the top.the menu was perfect not cluttered with a too much to choose from.it's dinning made easy.the food was impectible and the presentation was excellent.the staff was very helpful and attentive to your needs.I would give them 6 stars.if you haven't tried the Blue Rose you don't know what fine dinning is.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 87monte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional food! A few constructive criticisms ”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Easily one of the best dining experiences we've had in a long time, my girlfriend and I enjoyed a rare evening out at the Blue Rose Inn.

The chef here is inspiring with his well executed food. While I was a little concerned about portion size at first, it seemed a 3-4 course, reasonably priced menu selection was perfect for us. Highlights of our meal included some of the best calamari I have ever eaten, perfectly crisp/tender pork belly and the most incredible focaccia bread I, or my pastry chef counterpart have ever tasted. Cudos.

Along with excellent food came great service and warm hospitality as well. From the friendly hostess to the very welcoming GM, Justin, the entire staff here was very pleasant.

Attentive, energetic and accommodating, our server John was great. We ordered the doughnuts (a must try) to share for dessert and he couldn't resist offering an extra scoop of the coffee/cardamom ice cream because we were sharing.

Although the food and service was wonderful I could offer a few constructive criticisms. We felt the lighting in the main dining area was a little bright. In such a charming setting we expected more intimate lighting.

We also waited a little longer then usually for replenishment of our water and wine. It seemed to be a lack of buss staff maybe but it didn't bother us much as we were enjoying a few thunderstorms that were rolling through town.

Replenishment of flatware and plates was also a slight issue. Service in that respect seemed to be a little confused..dirty silver on table for the whole meal and bread plates cleared before we even had bread. We just expected a bit more out of service for the price and atmosphere.

Our bread, while delicious, came out a little later then usual. It was after the second course! A little strange but well worth the wait.

Over all our experience here was exceptional. We cannot wait to return to the Blue Rose Inn to try the rest of the menu. Highly recommended by 2 local chefs.

Helpful?
1 Thank the_nikolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A sleeper hit in Cape May!!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Please don't pass this place by! The menú is very impressive and delicious. Beautiful dining room, and the service is impeccable!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank idg375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best in Cape May”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We stayed in Cape May for four (4) days over the fourth and this was hands down the best restaurant where we truely dined. The ambiance was great (a beautiful porch) and the service terrific. My wife enjoyed the scallops and risotto and I loved the monk fish wrapped in bacon. The desert was ricotta and lemon doughnuts dipped in cinnamon and sugar. A perfect ending to the meal and our vacation. The owner stopped by and chatted with us and we were surprised that this was a family run operation only in it's second season. The chef and daughter in law were the chef and baker while the daughter and the son in law ran the inn. A hidden treasure in Cape May located on Washington St. You have to make this a must eat here place while on vacation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing