We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!”

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 140 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Franklin St
Oceanport, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a great night out with friends last month at the Blue Rose. From the moment we were greeted on the porch and promptly seated - we asked to be on the porch - everything was perfect! It is byob, and we were brought a set-up to keep our wine and beer chilled. The crab & corn chowder was excellent, and my husband loved the calamari. I had the scallops, omg - delicious, and my husband had the filet - nice and rare, just like he ordered. We shared 3 deserts - I can't tell you which was best because they were all amazing. There was a sampler of three cheesecakes - each one was excellent. The lemon tart was delicious, as was the apple desert. All in all, we had a perfect night ~ great food, great service, great setting. Will definitely be returning!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    69
    21
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Do not miss this family-owned and run gem!!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Outstanding service, lovely atmosphere. (Try to eat in the indoor, enclosed porch. Smaller dining room area is a bit dreary). Food was outstanding, you must try the crab and corn chowder and hanger steak. BYOB makes this a reasonable, elegant value. Will return 100 percent!!! I wish this new restaurant all the best in a tough business- if anyone has the quality and service to succeed it is the Blue Rose!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maxwellpants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Glen, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice new restaurant in Cape May”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

For our annual September stay in Cape May, we have our regular dining spots. This year, the Blue Rose caught our eye. We went two times for delightful meals. The hangar steak was great, crab cakes wonderful, and carrot agnolotti a nice surprise. Emily was a delightful waitress each time.

We know the first year in business is tough and we wish these folks the best of luck. The Blue Rose has a strong chance to be part of our regular rotation.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steven O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fords, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The place & decor is beautiful! Our server, John, was fantastic; the food was fantastic...everything was wonderful! I would highly recommend this place to anyone living in or visiting the Cape May area!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Creative & Delicious!”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

I dined there on a Sunday evening... It was wonderful. The calamari appetizer was prepared with a salad and calamari that was actually calamari (not a deep fried mystery ring). The roasted pork and home made pasta dish was very different than anything I have had before- and it worked very well. I had the hanger steak- perfectly cooked. The food was spot on. The only suggestion- and it's minor- is the waitstaff. Our waitress mumbled through the menu, wasn't very clear on what she was explaining when asked questions on the menu and auctioned off our food when it arrived. That didn't ruin my night- food, atmosphere and price more than made up for it

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChristinaWuzHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing