We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs work.”

The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 136 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Home Style
Cross street: Franklin St
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Needs work.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

I don't understand the other reviews. I find it very suspicious that all of sudden this restaurant went to #1 in cape may after being open for only a few months.

We had brunch here. The food wasn't that great. The decor seems to be halfway thought through. Some of it old and dated (e.g. the fox hunt prints from the 80s), and some of it new and contemporary. The owner wasn't there, but the son-in-law was. Very unprofessional in both appearance and conversation. He was dressed with a ragged tee shirt and shorts, and was bashing Congress Hall to another table.

There are far too many other great places to go in Cape May, I wouldn't waste your time here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank Aspotigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    62
    18
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall on Hudson, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great quality and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Nice atmosphere and good quality food. We had the hangar steak and shrimp pasta dish that was great. Homemade butter with bread on the table. Bring a bottle of wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Probably our best meal in Cape May in 5 years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate here Wednesday evening and were very impressed! We were a few minutes late for our 7:30 reservation but were quickly and pleasantly greeted by the owner. We were offered an outside table and quickly greeted by our server. The pace of the service was very good - neither rushed nor slow. The food was excellent. I highly recommend the corn and crab soup. The calamari was also praised by my brother in-law. Two of us had the crab cakes and I had the filet mignon - these were excellent. My sister in-law had the shrimp which she thought were very good but slightly over cooked. Save room for the deserts! Overall an excellent experience. We will return soon!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“innovative and delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have had the opportunity to eat at Blue rose twice. Sunday August 12 with another couple and August 15th for my 50th birthday celebration with my family. Both times the service was perfect and the food truly delicious. Every entree is clearly thought out and prepared with a new innovative flair. Truly unique but not fussy. Wonderful atmosphere as well and bringing your own wine another plus. It's great that the menu isn't overloaded everything they do is done to perfection. The scallops outstanding as well as the pork ragut over papperadelle but honestly everything is delish. We will continue to go again and again !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank befit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Place to Eat in Cape May!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

The food and service are outstanding. There were four of us for dinner and all of our meals were excellent, very gourmet. The menu had something special for everyone. Even oysters on the half shell were better than anywhere else we tried and we had eaten at many different places. The owner and his staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We ordered the cheesecake for dessert and it consisted of three different cheesecakes and all three were excellent. The atmosphere is wonderful because you can actually have wonderful dinner conversation, many of the other restaurants were way to noisy. We had a great table on the Victorian porch overlooking the street, and it was very peaceful and relaxing.You will want to eat here more than once!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank happytrailsi95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to The Blue Rose Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing