We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food good - Service not so good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Y.B.

The Y.B.
Ranked #41 of 137 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $19
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on the Beachfront Between Perry and Jackson Street
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food good - Service not so good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We had lunch at YB on Saturday after prime lunch time @ 130 pm. We sat ourselves,waitress was prompt with menus and beverage order. Placed our order......30 minutes later noticed a couple who came in after us got their food...oops..wrong sandwich..customer had salted it..waitress removed it.We realized it was my hubby's sandwich.asked why it was taking soooo long 40 minutes by now...waitress said they had to remake sandwich.but others were served before us that came after us....it was very good. Used the restroom which is through the kitchen prep area...OMG..how they can operate under the conditions we saw is beyond me and the DOH if they were to inspect..will not return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tellnobody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    68
    24
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ventnor, N.J.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food for a little place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Food was fantastic! They have a small kitchen and are able to turnout incredible meals. We were very please with the food and the service. Will go again in the very near future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sympany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

One of the best restaurants in Cape May. The food was outstanding and the service was great. Prices were very reasonable and it's BYOB. Had the pork chops and mahi mahi, both were delicious. Mac and cheese poppers were also a good choice for an appy. Must try the bread pudding for dessert. Thank you for a delicious meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank susieb256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“On the 'try again' list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just so you know....you cannot make reservations until the DAY OF and after 8:00 am AND you cannot leave a voice mail with reservation info (for obvious reasons).

We will go back and try it again as the food was above par, fairly priced and interesting. The flatbread of the day was a definite highlight. I have to say that if you like meaty crabcakes, you might want to skip trying the YB version as it really should be called 'crab balls' with lots of filling and a small amount of crab.

It's a BYOB and reservations are a must. The maitre'de kept the mood light as we waited just outside the door for tables to clear. Good service throughout the meal.

Go try it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ssteach2006YorkPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazlet, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“reservation?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Don't bother with a reservation. It means nothing to these snotty people. I hate a place where they feel they are better than you and your lucky to be eating there. We never got seated.. We showed up and the manager proceeded to cater to people that showed after us. If you like a snobby place, this is for you. Why take reservations if walk ins are the priority?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richvox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Y.B. also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to The Y.B.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing