We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive and not crowded for breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's Cove - CLOSED

Captain's Cove
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inexpensive and not crowded for breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This place is great for breakfast. They have the standard options. What's nice is it is near the bridge going into and out of Cape May, and not right in Cape May. This way it's not too crowded. Sometimes you'll see fisherman hanging out which is always fun.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank whatithinknj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    6
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The BEST French Toast in the World!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

If you are looking for a great place for breakfast, check out Captain's Cove in Cape May. It is a little Sea Side restaurant with great atmosphere. I kind of felt like I was in the movie "The Perfect Storm" Fisherman in and out. Anyway, this French Toast was so good I am still dreaming about it. My girlfriend had an omlette and all that comes with it. She absolultely loved it. Oh yeah, they only accept CASH! There is an ATM machine in there in case you get stuck. Other than that - everything is perfect. (It's right across from the Lobster House if you aren't sure where to find it.)

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guinn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Reprieve”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

We live aboard our 24 ft. sailboat. No car. We walked to Lobster House recommended by our marina. Long line. We walked back up to rte. 109. Captain's Cove. We asked to sit outside and they set everything up - one of us smokes and we had our collie with us. Our waitress ,Bonnie, was a delight - catered to us as though we were her only customers (and we weren't). She brought Cali a bowl of water. We had been at out with rough seas for 16 hours the day before. It was good to be pampered. We went back the next morning and we pampered in the same way. Thank you Bonnie for making a difference in our visit to Cape May! I loved the coffee and enjoyed the French Toast!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gypsysjournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crisfield, Maryland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Blueberry Pancakes I've ever had”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2010

This is clearly a local place with a menu you might find lots of places but OH THOSE FRESH PICKED BLUEBERRY PANCAKES! What at treat. Nice folks serving. Nice quiet place. I'd go back in a heartbeat. Nothing fancy but plain good food is the draw.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank drmartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“What a Dump... how can you ruin breakfast???”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

Talk about lack of caring, this place doesn't even try! It is obvious they cater to locals and fishermen only. They only accept cash (an ATM is here). The decor is downright depressing! Stuck in the 70's with captain's chairs, oak paneling , dirty glass counter top at the checkout with greasy empty shelves and papers all over it, and a carpet so disgustingly dirty and ripped you wonder what grows in it! The servers looked depressed and tired. The bathrooms are filthy, the china is 1970's and the food is greasy, soooooooo boring and about as good as your college roommate dished up in the dorm. If they do not want to cater to the tourists in a tourist town- ok ! But I sure feel sorry for the locals, and I wonder why lazy, unimaginative people would grind this place into the ground like they have! Time to retire!!!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank whatsitwerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Cove also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing