We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, large portions”
Review of Gecko's

Gecko's
Ranked #47 of 137 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Serving casual cafe fair with a variety of regional dishes. Enjoy lunch in our cozy dining room or relax outside in our shaded garden. Call us for take out.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food, large portions”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went to Gecko's for a family meal. Everyone loved the food but the kids found the portions a little too much.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank darthmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckos123, Owner at Gecko's, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank your for commenting on your recent visit to Gecko's. I guess, better too large portions then to small. I don't think anyone ever went home hungry after eating at Gecko's. All our dinner entrees come with a dinner salad dressed in our branded onion dressing, and we serve homemade cornbread muffins with a jalapeno jelly for the table. If it's too much, you can always take it home for a delicious lunch the next day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    92
    31
    13
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Every meal should taste as good as this!”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place rocked...such amazing variety of dishes! It is a BYOB. Stop at Collier's Liquor store and pick up your drink of choice before sliding into your reserved seat. We stuffed ourselves with all their specials and still wanted to pack more in. Great service, atmosphere and much fun! I would eat every meal here if I could. Really, really enjoyed it. Any menu item will bring you happiness. Well done Gecko's! We will return again soon!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelPhanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckos123, Owner at Gecko's, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us at Gecko's and for the amazing praise. We are looking forward to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Always a good choice”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My family will always visit Gecko's when we are in Cape May. It is good food at a good price. The mussel appetizer is great. My soup of the day is always good. We love the house salad with the light and sweet vinaigrette. The ribs are very good. I have not had the Pueblo Rabbit but it is a family favorite. I love the baked poblano peppers stuffed with turkey and cheese when they have it. The pork tenderloin with blueberry sauce and sweet potatoes is wonderful. Save room for dessert, if not get it to go. Always a solid choice in Cape May.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SassyMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckos123, Owner at Gecko's, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for your many visits to Gecko's. It is great to see, that you tried and enjoyed various favorite dishes. On your next visit to Gecko's, you should give the rabbit a try. It is great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
1 review
“We have eaten at several places in Cape May..this was by far the best of the rest!”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My bride and I are definitely foodies..and Gecko's was a find. Great prices for exceptional food. The 1st night we had the mussells (appetizer for many folks..had to be 30 on the plate). Next was the chorizo shrimp quessadilla which was very fresh and the crab and cheese enchelada..unreal. Then we were so impressed the 2nd night we checked out 4 places and decided to go back! We got as an app the mussells again (most places down in cape might give you 10) so Good! Next we got the ancho chile rubbed angus sirloin with the cranbury glaze on it. I am a steak guy..I knew this was something to get. It was phenomenal. My Bride got chille relanos with shrimp also very good. Heather was a great server able to recommend various things very well versed with menu. Great family run operation..the owner actually cooks!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckos123, Owner at Gecko's, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for coming to Gecko's two nights in a row. We all love the PEI mussels, prepared with tomatoes, onions, garlic capers and green olives. Chile rubbed sirloin is topped with a chilled ancho-cherry sauce and the crab and cream cheese enchiladas are topped with a green chile-tomatillo sauce. Both a favorite among our staff and many guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, good atmosphere mostly good service”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I ate here on July 11, 2013 with my family, which included a 2-month-old baby. It's nice that there's outdoor seating for kids who are fussy so it doesn't interrupt the dinner of others. Salads were tangy and very good. Entrees were excellent all around. They included the salmon, pork tenderloin, rabbit, chicken, and all agreed that they were flavorful and tasty. Location is right in the heart of town, which is good. Did not give it five stars because they charge for chips and salsa, which is the first time I have ever seen a Mexican (or southwestern) restaurant do that, which I find pretty ridiculous. On top of that, they were "out" of guacamole, except for in the entrees. How that that happen in a Mexican restaurant? The waiter was friendly and helpful, although delivered our check REALLY slowly and late, which is not what you want with a fussy baby on board. Overall, would return and was a great meal. Parking is very hard to get close by, so come early enough for that.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prepdrum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckos123, Owner at Gecko's, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for dining by us at Gecko's. We are always happy to accommodate families with young children. Our Salmon is topped with a tropical fruit salsa, the pork tenderloin is served over whipped sweet potatoes and topped with a Main blueberry sauce, and the Pueblo rabbit is served over yucca cakes and served with a tangy sauce tightened with sunflower seeds. All dinner entrees come with a dinner salad (dressed with our branded onion dressing and garnished with roasted corn, carrots, onions tomatoes and cucumbers) as well with homemade cornbread muffins and a jalapeno jelly. Everything is made fresh daily including the guacamole. Since it happens sometimes that only unripe avocados are available, which prevents us from making enough guacamole for the day. Our menu prices are reasonable, .but we charge $5.00 for chips and our housemade salsa .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko's also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Gecko's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing