We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will never go back!!”
Review of Gecko's

Gecko's
Ranked #28 of 142 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $18
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Serving casual cafe fair with a variety of regional dishes. Enjoy lunch in our cozy dining room or relax outside in our shaded garden. Call us for take out.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Will never go back. Severely over priced, food was just average and ambiance was very poor. A waste of time and money. Expected more considering the previous Tripadvisor approval but ended up being severely disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stacey12181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckos123, Owner at Gecko's, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. It is sad to hear that you had a disappointing dining experience by us at Gecko's. Our servers try to make every guest feel welcome and we are working had to ensure that every dish is well received. Our food is made fresh and prepared using only the healthiest ingredients and techniques. All our dinner entrees come with a small salad made with field greens and dressed with our branded onion dressing, then topped with carrots, cucumbers onions and tomatoes. We also serve homemade corn muffins with a jalapeno jelly to all our dinner guests. Gecko's is a small restaurant with a casual and relaxed atmosphere. It is great to sit outside on our patio or cool of in our air conditioned dining room. But don't forget a bottle of wine or some chilled beer, because we are BYO.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 314 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice variety of southwestern foods. Portions are large. Presentation is nice and of course the taste is terrific. BYOB and they'll open it, ice it and get glasses for you. Outdoor tables for nice weather, indoor ones when it is not.

Thank DandDPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckos123, Owner at Gecko's, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you very much for the nice review. We are always happy to hear from our customers. We hope the weather was nice when you were here and you could enjoy our relaxing outdoor patio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Lunch outside on the deck, great choices and an extremely helpful wait staff made this a terrific experience. Try the Quinoa salad and the smoked chicken soup. Fantastic. Those are just a couple of the creative tasty options. If you like southwestern food, you won't be disappointed. And even if you aren't sure, there are still plenty of choices to satisfy.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RomaReturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckos123, Owner at Gecko's, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your comment. Yes, taking a short break from the beach and relaxing on our outdoor patio is the Cape May lifestyle. The Quinoa salad with grilled shrimp, green olive salsa and toasted sesame seeds is just one of our great lunch items. Another favorite is the Three Sister Quesadilla served with guac. sour cream and salsa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Casual outdoor seating in a southwestern orange, is what grabs your attention as you make your way to the entrance. My husband and I had arrived at around six on a Saturday night and it was early enough to pretty much have our pick of tables. We were greeted promptly by our waitress who took our drink order and site an extensive list of specials. We both ordered one of specials and were told we wouldn't be disappointed and we weren't. We also ordered a basket of chips and salsa. Both were fresh and tasty but wish the salsa had a little more spice to it. You get a couple of bite sized corn muffins and jalopena jelly which were just ok. The salad that came with the was excellent the dressing was perfectly spiced and veggies very fresh. Would love to get the dressing recipe. Our entrees were really good. My husband had the ribs and said they were moist, delicious and had the right amount of smoke. The potatoe salad and saw were also very fresh and good food. The pork tenderloin special was perfectly cooked and seasoned. The staff were all very professional and friendly and worked as a team. The prices were quite reasonable in comparison to other restaurants in the area. They offer the usual suspects for beverages but also offe byob. Did not have room for dessert, perhaps on my next visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geckos123, Owner at Gecko's, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Thank you for your nice comment. As we were reading your flattering review, Heather, our server, remembered when you came in. We are happy to hear that you had a fabulous time at Gecko's. We hope to see you again this season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I gave this review 4 out of 5 only because the seating is kind of tight. Gecko's is on an outdoor deck so they really do the best that they can with limited space. It is thanks to Trip Advisor that we found Gecko's, so I thought it fitting to give a stellar review.It is a BYOB so that was helpful in keeping the bill down. My fiance' and I visit Cape May every summer and were looking for a different dinner spot. How many places have the same old, same old thing in Cape May? Crab cakes, burgers, salads, snore... We went the last week in August and arrived without a reservation. It seems that you can get a nicer table with a reservation in advance. Check, we will do that next time. Our server was very attentive, sweet and down to earth. We loved the complimentary corn muffins with halepeno jelly. Sounded and looked strange, but one bite and you will be hooked. Both my fiance' and I ordered the grilled veggie burrito which was a special that was offerred that week. It was quite honestly, one of the best meals we had ever had in our entire lives and I am a very "picky" foodie:) Thanks for a memorable meal and we wish you continued success. Thanks to your lovely waitstaff as well. They were so nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pippintwosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gecko's also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
West Cape May, Cape May County
 
West Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
West Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Gecko's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing