We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Interesting Service.”
Review of Cape Orient Chinese Restaurant - CLOSED

Cape Orient Chinese Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Niskayuna, New York
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Food, Interesting Service.”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

So I'm vegan so I understand that I can be a pain in ordering, add that to a language barrier and sometimes I want to cry. Our waiter wasn't entirely sure if there was egg or milk in a lot of the things. After getting a confirmation from the owner (she was great), I ordered General Tso's Tofu which was delicious (enough for two meals as well). We also ordered vegetable tempura which was incredible, as was the sauce we dipped it in.

The service was quick and friendly, the only problem will be is if you need specific questions answered it may be difficult but if the owner is around she'll be super helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MEelbrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    40
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“This is where you go in Cape May for Chinese.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Spare ribs,pork lo mein,orange flavored beef,Happy Family & Singapore Mei Fun were all on our menu this evening. As usual Cape Orient does not disappoint. We always get take out, the service at the register is efficient & polite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CiaoBella1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepherdstown, WV
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Sushi too!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The ambiance is the same as the chinese place at home but NOT the sushi. The sushi menu is extensive and delicious! We also had a chinese combination seafood dish and to top off the evening----Fried ice cream of course! Absolutely fabulous!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cpgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Went there for a light lunch. Was very good and reasonable! Looked at the dinner menu which was quite extensive and had Chinese, Japanese and Thai food diches avaiable. Atmosphere was very oriental and nice. Great service. Plan on coming back for dinner some night. A couple of blocks from the beach - nice walk after dinner. Free parking in parking lot that charges but be sure to give server your parking stub to get stamped.
My wife and I like to try different eating places in Cape May and this was excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank emtdpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FABULOUS”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The is one place we always go to when in Cape May. The food if fresh and tasty. They have fancy food and regular stuff the kids will eat. Always prompt friendly service.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cape Orient Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing