We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great meal”
Review of Freda's Cafe

Freda's Cafe
Ranked #23 of 138 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Always a great meal”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Been to Freda's for lunch and dinner several times and I highly recommend it. The menus are extensive with numerous specials and the food is consistently good. The setting is lovely and decor is very nice. The staff could not be nicer and attentive. Desserts are outstanding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macco_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    107
    41
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than Expected!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I had been here many years ago for lunch and remember it being very good, but when we went for dinner last year (March 2013), it was awesome. The food was right up our alley. Everything about the way the food was cooked, the flavors, the seasonings, the veggies.....just awesome. The service was phenomenal. The place was PACKED and it was the off-season. Should tell you something. We got there very late and the staff didn't think they could squeeze us in, especially so late, but they really worked to accommodate us. They didn't have to go to those lengths, but they did. The place went from packed to completely empty by the time we were done, but at no time did we feel pressured.

I suppose getting in here in the summer is a bit brutal. I would definitely go here again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAK0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dinner!”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Had a super delicious dinner. Freda's is a very quaint dining room with seating for about 40. The service was impeccable. I had the tuna. It was done perfectly and my husband had the lamb chops and they were also wonderful. Freda's is a BYOB which we love. Freda's is a must when looking for fine dining in Cape May. Remember to make reservation!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteO1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food great service”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This building was the Cape May post office, great food but very limited seating. I am quite sure that in season this place fills up every night. I went on a Friday night in December and we had the place generally to our selves. Crab Cakes were great.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank golfnut51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food but time to dust...”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We've been to Freda's several times and food is great....you will be satisfied. The place is due for a good top to bottom cleaning and some sprucing up is due. Dust on light fixtures above is a turn off but try to overlook that while enjoying the food. I'll keep coming back but rated a very good just because decor is a bit sad and dust overhead...

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freda's Cafe also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Freda's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing