We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never disappointed”
Review of Depot Cafe

Depot Cafe
Ranked #48 of 140 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Description: We provide breakfast, lunch and early dinners. Everything is made on premises and from scratch. Homemade baked goods, roast ham, turkey, beef, Cuban roast pork and chicken. No bottled salad dressings here! Try our Cuban menu which is new for the 2017 featuring authentic recipes from Josie's childhood in Havana. Everything expertly prepared by Chef John Siuta who's previous positions were at Harrahs Casino, ten years at Martini Beach in Cape May, Bistro de Amis, London, Kingston Restaurant India, Restaurant Daniel NYC, Stage House Inn Scotch Plains, TV Food Network, Dean & Deluca NYC. Also take a look at our extensive catering menu featuring many unique foods from around the world with the best prices in Cape May!
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Yes, it could be described as dinky. Definetly a shack. But after several visits, I love this place! It's off the beaten track, which is a good thing in Cape May, and the locals love it because its fresh! And cheap! Try the shrimp salad if you're lucky that day, sit outside, breath the sea air.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catd411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    37
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, TN
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Dinky" (stole this perfectly descriptive word from another review) place with PHENOMENAL food!!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

This little hole-in-the-wall shack that you probably would miss driving past it may just be one of the best restaurants in Cape May. If everyone knew how delicious the food was here, it would rival the Lobster House in customers.
It's basically a little wooden outpost take-out place with a kitchen and four tables, but dear Lord in heaven was their food good! It was worth every penny and our four generous meals didn't cost a whole lot of pennies! We had our meal outside on a beautiful sunny day
My daughter and I split a crab cake and French fries and I can say with complete honesty that I've had a lot of crab cakes in my time and this dinky little eatery may just have the best crab cakes I've ever tasted!
Don't miss Cape May's best guarded secret! Not only is the adorably dinky Depot Market Cafe delectable, but its also a great bargain for your buck!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdippity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenwood, NJ
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Quality, freindliness, customer service - what more could one want.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Admittedly, we are Depot Market Cafe marks ... never had chicken pot pie with such a filoesque dough - and the chicken gorgonzola grinder is as good as ever. This little dinky place puts out great food from people who honestly care about your dining experience with them. They are personable and engaging and they don't slack off. You can see it takes a lot of energy to keep up with orders as we were witness to - and yet quality doesn't suffer. Took us a while to "discover" the place after all of our previous Cape May adventures - but since we did find it a few years ago, we always make room on our schedule for a Depot Market take out night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheAprilFools89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Still wondering why this place is popular for the locals...”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Excited to eat here after seeing it is a popular stop for the locals. He ordered a ham club which tasted fine, with huge portions. And I got the infamous chicken salad that people wrote about. I probably should not have gotten it on multigrain and then toasted, this made the sandwich very dry. The chicken salad itself was a bit dry and hard to chew because of the large chunks. Glad we ordered a small fry because that was a basket full! Our total came to a out $22. Alittle high for sandwiches if you ask me.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hopefulinVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced for great food”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had grilled chicken caesar salad- two times while on my stay. It was great each time!! Also had seafood bisque soup- really good!
Then had breakfast before we left Cape May- the breakfast sandwiches were delicious, hot and freshly made to order. The portions are good size and their food is fresh.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ASil843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Depot Cafe also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
West Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
West Cape May, Cape May County
 
West Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Depot Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing