We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great go to when you want a fresh lunch”
Review of Depot Cafe

Depot Cafe
Ranked #47 of 138 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Takeout
Description: We provide breakfast, lunch and early dinners. Everything is made on premises and from scratch. Homemade baked goods, roast ham, turkey, beef, Cuban roast pork and chicken. No bottled salad dressings here! Try our Cuban menu which is new for the 2017 featuring authentic recipes from Josie's childhood in Havana. Everything expertly prepared by Chef John Siuta who's previous positions were at Harrahs Casino, ten years at Martini Beach in Cape May, Bistro de Amis, London, Kingston Restaurant India, Restaurant Daniel NYC, Stage House Inn Scotch Plains, TV Food Network, Dean & Deluca NYC. Also take a look at our extensive catering menu featuring many unique foods from around the world with the best prices in Cape May!
Cape May, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great go to when you want a fresh lunch”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Chicken Gorgonzola, still on the menu, still the best chicken sandwich on the planet! New ownership- not quite the same as it used to be when it comes to the specials.....but, still pretty awesome. I will always hit this up on a cool fall day for lunch with my wife. Fresh Fresh Fresh Salads and Soups daily. Multi-grain bread for sandwiches, bison burgers, Indonesian chicken salad.... YUM!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank CaptainCuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    37
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for Take Out too”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

When we were overwhelmed with guests over the weekend, we turned to the Depot, and they saved the day with wonderous salads, and mini sandwhiches, and platters galore. Not the most romantic spot for lunch, but maybe the most popular among locals too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JYBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“No Iced Coffee?”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

No iced coffee at a beach resort coffee house? You gotta be kidding? I cannot comment further because I was nonplussed by the absence of iced coffee and wandered off to quench my thirst elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PhillyCityDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unassuming but good”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have walked past several times and finally stopped in for lunch. The hot sandwiches were tasty and fresh, the chicken gorgonzola with roasted peppers was delicious. Will definitely stop in again

Helpful?
1 Thank PeterK425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mts of western NC
Level 6 Contributor
800 reviews
425 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“Not much seating but a delicious lunch”
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Although a bit off the tourist area this cafe turned out to be a decent lunch spot in Cape May. The atmosphere is rather average and the seating area small but the very pleasant service and delicious Portabella sandwich made up for that. Chips and pickles were served with the sandwich. The pricing is fair and we would recommend a visit here for lunch to get quality food.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hooked_on_travel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Depot Cafe also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
West Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
West Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Depot Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing