We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a special trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 410 Bank Street

410 Bank Street
Ranked #23 of 136 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Lafayette
Description: A winding slate path through overhanging vines and tropical foliage leads to the historic 1840 Carriage house. Slowly spinning ceiling fans stir the aromas of French-New Orleans accented cooking and fresh seafood and steaks grilling over mesquite. Envision yourself in New Orleans or Key West. Dining in the canopied garden, or on the candlelit veranda, the dream continues with the exotic cuisine of internationally acclaimed Chef Henry Sing Cheng, whose original creations include local-caught tuna, swordfish and mahi-mahi in fabulous sauces, elaborate entrees of local shellfish & lobster, and the justly famous smoked, grilled and blackened steaks and prime rib. Beyond the menu, a dozen or more seafood specials are offered nightly. The helpful staff, coolly attired in 410's signature tropical batik, makes you feel like you are dining on a private yacht. One of ZAGAT™s "AMERICA'S TOP RESTAURANTS 2012." Please call restaurant directly for parties larger than 6. (609) 884-2127
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth a special trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2014

The restaurant is consistently excellent. The chef cooks with full, rich flavors and the Cajun items are not to be missed. There is an oyster stew, a gumbo and a voodoo shrimp that can compete with any top establishment in New Orleans. The service is also very professional and on point. This place is without question one of the top restaurants not only in Cape May but in NJ.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joe v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    112
    72
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

The flavors here were incredible. I had the coconut crusted catfish in a lime/jalapeño sauce with bananas and tomatoes. It was sweet and savory and worth it! A must if you visit Cape May.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kelly s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"New 410 Bank Street"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

For those that don't know Chef Sing retired last year. Our first meal this year with new Chef was OK. Second time back they seemed to have gotten things back to normal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“410 bank street”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

What a disappointment! My husband and I are every-weekend shore goers and decided to go to Cape May Stage for a show on saturday evening. we did not have reservations and walked into 410 Bank around 5 pm. they were available so we sat down. My husband can't stop talking about what a waste of money this place was. the appetizers, which were around $15, were mediocre at best. I had the mushroom one which came with a stale piece of puff pastry and less than average tasting mushrooms. then my $40 strip steak came swimming in a pool of steak sauce. I had 1/2 and wasted the rest. My husband was also disappointed in his filet mignon - average and also about $ 40. I mentioned to the waitress that I wish she would have mentioned that the sauce came on the steak and I would have requested it on the side and she said some people ask for more sauce. Maybe I'm turning into a food snob but this place was not worth the money.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lois0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Settle in for a fantastic meal with Cajun flavor. The seafood gumbo is absolutely wonderful. The resturaunt serves locally made wine or you can bring your own bottle! The wait staff is very friendly and inviting. Perfect evening.

Helpful?
Thank Keri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 410 Bank Street also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to 410 Bank Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing