We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”

Godmother's Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 138 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Harrisburg, PA
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed July 26, 2014

On a recent vacation to Cape May, we decided to try Godmother's. The hostess was extremely friendly and service was quite quick. My lasagna was amazing, though my son's soup du jour was not very good. My little boy ordered spaghetti and meatballs off the kids' menu and he really enjoyed it. We did feel that the food was overpriced especially since a salad did not come with the meal, but the food was good.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel38_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    48
    30
    11
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Have crossed this place off!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have always made Godmother's our Sunday dinner spot when we vacation in Cape May in spite of the negative reviews. However, this last visit was the last. We felt we were being rushed through our dinner, we had to keep reminding the wait staff to bring us bread, glasses, water, etc. The food was horrible and very tasteless. It looked like the chef just threw whatever was around on my crab cakes. The prices were also much higher than we remember. We will not go back. Interestingly enough, in speaking with other vacationers during our Cape May stay, they, too had similar experiences.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndac1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food and service at reasonable prices.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner here. The ambience was quite nice and our waitress was very accomodating and attentive. I really enjoyed my pasta in a red pepper sauce and the ultimate garlic bread was absolutely delicious. We were a little disappointed in the fresh Mozz apetizer. Also, there is a huge liquor store right across the street!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
webster, United States
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Very kind and helpful staff. Did early bird we were not rushed but the food was not creative or special in any way.”
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Staff on their game. Helpful kind interactive. White tablecloths and napkins
But food was not creative or interesting in any way. Seemed pricy for what we got.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great service and good food”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were at Godmothers this past Friday night and really enjoyed the meal. When you're down in a shore resort like Cape May it's a little hard to talk yourself out of seafood and into Italian, but since we had seafood the other two nights it was a welcome change.

We were seated at two tables in the inner part of the restaurant which was a little disappointing given the weather outside but definitely nothing to complain about. It's how the restaurant is set up and the only place they could really seat a party of our size (10). The atmosphere is very nice though a bit antiseptic.

Of course some of the dishes were still seafood-based and were very good. I got a ravioli special which was unique and delicious. My wife got the shrimp scampi which was also excellent, which I can attest to because she had more than she could eat. The rest of the group was also very satisfied.

Godmothers is a little outside of the heavily trafficked part of Cape May which is actually a good thing. The places we ate in the Washington mall were average with the exception of Tisha's, and it seems the better food is not in the center of town generally. Even so we had no problem walking back to the Queen Victoria from the restaurant which made for a very pleasant night overall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arthur T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Godmother's Restaurant also viewed

West Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
West Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Godmother's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing