We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great...the wait was not!”
Review of The Mad Batter

The Mad Batter
Reserve with OpenTable
The Mad Batter is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #11 of 141 Restaurants in Cape May
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lafayette Street
Description: A Cape May tradition for over 30 years! The nationally acclaimed Mad Batter Restaurant is located at the Carroll Villa Hotel in the heart of the historic district. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, desserts and cocktails are served on the European-style front porch, garden terrace, and sky-lit dining room. Breakfast offerings include fresh squeezed juices, homemade fruit breads, and entrees such as crab benedict, oatmeal pancakes, or orange & almond french toast. Lunch entrees include the Maryland crab cake sandwich, fish & chips, and Waldorf chicken, as well as an assortment of salads. Dinner options are always inventive and the seafood is extraordinary. Entrees include award-winning jumbo lump crab cakes, juicy steaks, chicken and fresh fish specials daily. A sumptuous selection of desserts is made daily. The Mad Batter Bar features Happy Hour, 19 beers on tap, a reasonably priced wine list, and a martini list sure to please. Live music and special events are planned throughout the year.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We were a party of just four. When we arrived for lunch, we were told it would be a 30 to 45 minute wait. It was 95 minutes. Many groups of five or six were seated before us as there are only so many four top tables. It was annoying to see others seated before us just because they had 1 more in their party. Once we sat down, we were served promptly and the food was delicious.

Thank Nashna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Nashna,
I am so sorry that you had to wait so long for a table. Unfortunately, the restaurant can get very busy in the summer months. I'm glad that once you were seated you were able to enjoy your lunch! I hope you will join us again soon! Enjoy the rest of your summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,217 - 1,221 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2014

Went this weekend for my second trip to the Mad Batter for breakfast. Was HUGELY disappointed. Ordered an omelet with mushrooms, spinach, tomato. The mushrooms were canned. The spinach was frozen. Cheese wasn't melted. They took all the ingredients and folded them into the middle of the cooked eggs. This was probably the worst omelet I've ever had. $10 for eggs with canned and frozen ingredients?? Went to Tisha's the next day and it was great. Skip the Mad Batter and their mandatory 20 minute wait and head over to Tisha's instead.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wilbr024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear wilbr024,
Thank you for your review! I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your omelet. None of our ingredients are canned or frozen, we prepare everything fresh daily. This includes our sauteed mushrooms and spinach. If we had known you weren't pleased, we would have done our best to make things right for you. I hope you will give us another chance. Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

We always come here when we are are downing Cape May. The breakfast platters are huge and they are always delicious. You can eat out on the front porch or indoors. We love the French toast, you can order it anyway you like.

Thank aswierk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear aswierk,
We are so glad you enjoyed our French toast! It is one of our most popular items. Come see us again soon! Happy Hour is everyday 3-6!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The Mad Batter is without doubt the best restaurant in Cape May! We make it a habit to go there at least one every visit. The crab cakes are the best you can find anywhere. The atmosphere is great, the seating is great for our extended family and they don't mind having children in the party. We have always had great wait-staff. Be back again next year!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear David H,
Thank you for your review! I am so glad to hear that you and your family enjoy visiting us year after year! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Went there after reading about the place on trip advisor, I had the pineapple mimosa, which was delicious. & the famous orange/almond French toast. Which was very good but I have to admit.. Didn't taste anything like orange.. My boyfriend had the eggs Benedict. Which.. He gets at almost every place we go, he wasnt impressed.. The plate was small, said the potatoes weren't good & there was barely any hollidase sauce on it. Also the waitress we had (seated outside which was very pretty) didn't pay is much attention. Would I go back? Maybe not. But nice atmosphere, and the prices weren't THAT bad.

Thank Chrissynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rangers1, Manager at The Mad Batter, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear Chrissynj,
I'm sorry to hear that your experience at the Mad Batter was not quite what you were hoping for overall. I do, however hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mad Batter also viewed

Cape May, Cape May County
Cape May, Cape May County
 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to The Mad Batter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing